We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the soak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orvis Hot Springs

Orvis Hot Springs
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orvis Hot Springs
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go for the soak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

The natural hot springs pools are wonderful, especially the large one. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and well lit at night, when the big pool is perfect for watching the stars.
The property is on the edge of the town surrounded by a large fence. The room I stayed in was nice, but overpriced for having a bathroom down the hall. The campground was just a parking lot.
I enjoyed the soaking but found Orvis not quite as friendly as other similar hot springs and be prepared for some wacky rules, including a ban on reading books on the grounds if you have a Kindle or other book reader.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

based on recommendations from fellow travelers and viewing the website i had high expectations. they were not only met but exceeded. the Antique room was very comfortable and the grounds and pools lush. the staff was over the top in service. probably the most fascinating thing was being able to stay after checkout until 10p.m. it's like a free day. the staff member i commented to about that said we want you to get your moneys worth for staying with us. wow! this stop was part of a greater road trip. my next one will be as a destination even though i live in SE Arizona!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelhicks44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Dakota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We had a great stay. Really enjoyed the pools and the well manicured garden, especially during the times when they were closed to the general public. We were in the Americana room and found it clean and comfortable, with thick robes, fluffy towels and a great bed that passed the bedbug inspection. The window fan cooled the room adequately and we slept well. The two bathrooms in the hall (with showers) worked for us--never an issue or a wait, and we didn't find any mold. No sink in the Americana, but it did have a fridge and a large water bottle with a dispenser. My wife (the ultimate cat person) was thrilled with the visits from the resident kittens, Wayne and Garth. There is a community kitchen that was well maintained and had some ice available--enough for a drink or two, not to fill a cooler. We made the short drive to town for dinner.

Checkout time is 11:00 AM, but we were allowed to use the pools for the rest of the day, along with the robes and towels. Before leaving we used the shower rooms on the lower level and found them very acceptable. My wife liked the large counter area in the women's shower and the provided hair dryer. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

This review is for the hot springs only, as we didn't stay in the lodging. I have never experienced such a relaxing pool - must be the lithium, completely soaks any aches and pains away and lifts the mood. There are a variety of pools to choose from (indoor, outdoor and two private tubs) and the gardens around the pool are gorgeous to sit around and cool off, with a view of the mountains. The Lobster Pot is the hottest pool and no-one managed to stay in there too long that I could see! We went in May when the weather was still fairly cool, but the springs were perfect temperature and it wasn't crowded at that time.

The staff are friendly and helpful and the day rate was reasonable. We used the massage services as well, which they have in the large tents (yurts) next to the pools. They yurts were cozy and quiet and the quality of the massage was superb.

We stopped here originally by chance as we were in the area and ended up going every day we were there. Very enjoyable, especially after hiking and travel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Orvis Hot Springs is in a beautiful location just at the edge of Ridgway. The largest outdoor soaking area, called “The Pond”, is fantastic and has a private, intimate feel despite its size. The other pools are okay, but not as noteworthy.

However, this review is not for the ponds, but for the lodging. My husband and I stayed in the Iron Room for two nights last year in early September. The best perk for staying at Orvis Hot Springs – either at one of the camp spots or in one of the “B&B style” rooms – is 24 hr access to the hot springs, and I have to say, the 3 am skinny dip on a clear night in “The Pond” was worth the one-time stay. Our experience, though, was soured by the accommodations. The room we stayed in had no air conditioning – only a very noisy floor fan – and was uncomfortably hot. Even with the window and skylight open, the room did not cool down until dawn. (The outside temperature at night was in the low 50s.) The pillows were skimpy and thin. Neither of us slept well. The wood paneling in the two communal bathrooms and indoor soaking tubs was covered in black mold/mildew. After noticing it, neither of us desired to spend much time in those rooms, opting not to shower the second day. By 7 am after our second night, we were ready to leave, enough so that we forewent any morning soaks in the hot springs despite having access to them for the remainder of the day.

Barring a renovation of the bathrooms and the addition of air conditioning in the rooms, our stay at Orvis will likely remain an one-time experience, but honestly I don’t know of too many other places where you can have immediate, near-private overnight access to hot springs. I certainly don’t know of any other hot springs resort (in Colorado) where clothing is optional during the day. So if you are unfazed by mold, can sleep in hot/humid conditions (maybe tent camping is a better option for late spring/summer/early fall?), and are enamored by the idea of watching the stars while you float on your back, naked, in a 4-5 ft deep hot springs pool, then give Orvis Hot Springs’s lodging try. Otherwise, it is worth a day visit.

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank moonjest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We used to go to Orvis quite often when we lived in Western Colorado. We returned in September 2011 and it was just as good as we remembered it. We like it best in the early morning hours before it opens to the public, and in the evenings when the stars are out. During the day when it is crowded, we go up into the mountains. The staff has always been great, and the people we have met (other overnighters like ourselves) are almost always friendly. And the location is spectacular. See you again soon.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms on the south side (away from the pools) because sometimes the smoke from the smoker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randolph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

The lithium springs are so very relaxing. We opted to spend the night so had the big "pond" to ourselves after 10 pm, and before 9 am. What a treat to watch the stars while soaking. The shared bathroom is not a big deal at all. Staff is friendly and gave us a tour upon arrival. Our room was just a little warm, so they may benefit from a ceiling fan.

These are healing waters - have one of the locals tell you the stories of ancient indigenous tribes soaking in the springs located here. I'm so glad the pool were not filled with cookie cutter shapes and sizes. Every "body" has a story! We will definitely return when in the are again.

Room Tip: Call early to get the best selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
1.3 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
7.7 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#12 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
8.6 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
15.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orvis Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orvis Hot Springs

Property: Orvis Hot Springs
Address: 1585 County Road 3, Ridgway, CO 81432-9508
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Orvis Hot Springs Hotel Ridgway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing