We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do this Adventure!”

San Juan Hut Systems
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Ridgway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: San Juan Hut Systems is a series of backcountry huts that lead you through spectacular Southwestern terrain and provides skiers, bikers, snowshoers, hikers, trail runners, boaters, horse packers and hunters with an experience of a lifetime. The Colorado huts allow for lightweight travel while maintaining a self reliant adventure.Our winter ski hut system offers over 60 miles of nordic trails and access to phenomenal remote backcountry turns. You are unlikely to cross another’s tracks. The San Juan Mountains present tremendous snow quality and first descent possibilities.Our two 215 mile mountain bike routes through Colorado and Utah provide a premium minimalist experience for the do it yourself adventurer. Whether you are looking for technical single track or scenic dirt roads we have an option for you. With the only destination hut-to-hut based system in the US, we take the weight out of bike touring by offering fully stocked huts and minimal route finding challenges.Our destination huts are our newest addition and offer adventures for hikers, bikers, trail runners, boaters, horse packers and hunters and can be used in a variety of ways. These can be excellent options for families and those confined to shorter trips.
usa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Do this Adventure!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We did the Durango to Paradox trip in late July. It was a GREAT trip. The SHJS peeps did all in their power to make this an epic trip. The huts were well stocked with food and water, the maps & gps coordinates never got us lost... the views were nothing short of amazing. Ok, so the climbing was a bit rough for us sea-level creatures... but the adventure was worth it. The trip is very affordable. I'm already thinking about doing the Telluride to Moab in the future...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank quan_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    0
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Durango to Moab trip!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Did the 7 day DTM and had a blast! Every hut was well stocked and perfectly located. My wife had plenty of great food choices even though she is gluten-free, vegetarian, and vegan. Weather was not an issue, regardless if it rained or was hot. The riding wasn't difficult, but we certainly got plenty of time in the saddle and also had time to make side trips at each hut. Don't get me wrong - this ride isn't for everyone. You'd better be ready and able to handle whatever might come. The fine folks at SJHS provided .gpx files, detailed maps, and written directions. We preferred to not use a GPS so that we could get the most from this adventure, so I pored over the maps. It turned out that their written directions were so good that we didn't really need the maps. This trip was for our wedding and SJHS was very accommodating. I absolutely plan to do another ride with them!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back country adventure in style”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

If you are used to fending for yourself in the wilds, backpacking or whatever, this system is an awesome way to get a little comfort and support without loading up like a pack mule. My sister and I, both in our 50s and experienced mountain bikers, bike tourers and backpackers, did the Telluride to Moab route in early July 2014.
We had a GPS which made navigation easy, but just the cue sheets and maps would suffice if you are careful and have good intuition! The huts were clean, well stocked, and nicely hidden so no one passing on the dirt road would ever know they are there.
Notes for a happy trip: There is NO ground water available unless listed on the cue sheet, so carry at least 3 liters, more if you sweat a lot. No sag wagon, no guide, no cook, very minimal cell service, only 2 spots the whole time--you are on your own. Don't count on passing motorists to save your bacon in an emergency--you could go several days without seeing another soul even though these are public roads. It is a long walk out if you can't fix your bike or your body, so ride with caution. Afternoon thunderstorms were fierce the first 4 days, starting at exactly 2:15 pm, so set an alarm and get going early. Nothing technical in the riding, but long, steep hills (Jim Brown Canyon goes up to 15% grade--we pushed at about 1 mph on the steepest part). If you are from sea level (we are) absolutely try to get to Telluride a day or so before to acclimate to altitude. We didn't and paid the price climbing to 11.000 feet the first day. We were super comfy with just 2 people in the hut, but I'll bet it gets pretty tight with 8, especially if the weather is too bad to be outside.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Oregonbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Adventure”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Myself & 3 buddies Mtn biked Durango to Paradox mid June and had a blast, The hard climbs payed off with amazing views. The huts are well stocked with food and drink, clean and in great locations.
would recommend to anyone who wants to step outside the comfort zone and have an amazing adventure.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I've done three SJHS rides and had a ball every time. One of the rides was nearly ruined by the weather but saved by Kelly, who came looking for us when she figured we might be in trouble. This group is very mountain experienced and will try hard to make you smile.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Vick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Juan Hut Systems also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Hut Systems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing