We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word: Ceviche....as good as it gets”

Land and Ocean Costa Rican Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 26 Restaurants in Ridgway
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Sushi, Latin, Costa Rican, Healthy, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Owners Luis and Michele Bolaños, serve up Latin dishes influenced by Luis’ native land of Costa Rica. Food is always fresh and flavorful. The house specialty is ceviche, a seafood dish popular in the coastal regions of the Americas. We make ours with succulent shrimp and mahi-mahi marinated in lime juice and flavored with onion and other crisp bits of veggies. Other options include fajitas, fish tacos and the Tico heart of palm salad.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One Word: Ceviche....as good as it gets”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

You can't go wrong at Land and Ocean. Simple food, quaint interior, the owner is gracious and his authentic preparation of Costa Rican cuisine is spot on. The Ceviche is the standout: and is to die for. Best we have ever had (including Central America)with a mixture of fresh ocean fish (tilapia, Mahi and shrimp) with just the right amount of cilantro, lime, onion, seasoning and peppers. Fresh veggies in the tacos and fajitas. I tried the potato taco and my husband, the chicken fajitas. Ample portions and the sauce that is served with( they sell by the bottle ) is the absolute greatest! Worth a trip if you are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kdskis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
127 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pura Vida! Yum”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Love the soup and the fish tacos. They have delicious Ceviche too. Everything is fresh and very tasty. While the place is small, the atmosphere is cozy and they use cloth napkins. Don't miss tres leches!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very delicious authentic fare!”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We got here on a cold snowy night 10 minutes before they closed and they were so happy to serve us. The atmosphere is very laid back and you choose your own table. We both ordered the large burrito and it was filled with fresh cooked chicken, black beans, rice and awesome potatoes! The owner is from Costa Rica and has a thick accent and we enjoyed talking to him. He brought us over his Lizano sauce and we smothered our burritos in it. DELICIOUS!!!!!! It was such a nice meal at the end of a lovely day. Stop in, you will love it! I promise :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very fresh and tasty!!!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

The ceviche was the highlight but everything was very very good!!! We loved the gallo pinto, the potatoes, the beef fajitas, and the guacamole. The coffee was also excellent - press pot style

The ingredients were fresh, service was fast and courteous, the owner was friendly and gracious. A very good place to go!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LorenLaughs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious!”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

My bf and I stopped here on our way to the hot springs (coming in from Moab).

The atmosphere and decor were great. It really felt like we were eating on the beach somewhere.

I got the chicken tico taco plate and loved it. The cabbage salad they serve with it is amazing too. I have to admit, the best thing about this place is discovering the Lizano sauce. Best. Sauce. Ever.

I can't wait to come back here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kayakclimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Land and Ocean Costa Rican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Land and Ocean Costa Rican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing