We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Yum Taste”
Review of Taco Del Gnar

Taco Del Gnar
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Ridgway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A taco shop, borrowing from the tradition of street cart vendors. The menu contains an array of uniquely executed tacos . Breakfast is served all day, they also carry a selection of local micro brews, domestic beer and fresh squeezed margaritas. Taco Del Gnar is a Gnarly place to come grub, drink and chill. Open Tuesday to Saturday 9am to close.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Crazy Yum Taste”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was passing through and my wife and I stopped there and we were blown away by how gourmet and delicious the food tasted. The homemade salsa was killer. My wife had the black bean tortilla soup and I had 2 of the vegetarian tempe taco. If you looking for Chipote style mexican they you better keep going, but if you want a crazy yum taste in your mouth eat here. It's crazy good, and the dudes that own it were super nice and the girl at the counter was cool too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Midnight_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    31
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not your average Taco”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant offers a small variety of very unusual tacos, such as barbecued beef with kimchi. While the all offerings provide unusual and interesting flavors, it isn't really what I think of as a taco. I like to see some more traditional flavors added to the menu. The servings are generous, the service is good, and if the combination meal is selected, the prices are good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildfirewon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An awesome deal for a couples lunch on the dime”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The best bang for your buck, you would order the Char Taco Dinner. It's comes with two tacos and two sides. The home fries are little cubes and you mix them with melted cheese. The beans have a very flavorful kick to them. The tacos are 6" in size and filled to the brim. Split that with your significant other and you have a quick (our order was ready in 5 minutes) lunch for 10 bucks. Can't beat that. Although they are very filling, order one per person just seems too much. And at $3.99 a taco, it gets pricey. In the end though, if you are in Ridgway and want lunch or dinner, you would be mad to not go to Taco del Gnar. Either order the dinner and split it, or go full out and try 4 different taco, GO THERE. You will not be disappointed.they even have a couch to chill on.

Side note,
The hot sauce. It's superb.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bow Chica Wow Wow!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The taco has never been sexier. The beer has never been hipper. This place just feels good when you first walk through the doors. The new summer menu started this week. Try the Avo taco. It was a treat. The Korean Short Rib Taco is still around, it always hits the spot. The staff is fun, the atmosphere is laxed, and the food is great. I have been here many times and the Gnar continues to feed my taco fix. Wave goodbye to Freddie Mercury as you leave, it won't be long before you're seeing him again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeuomorph70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not Your Typical Taco Place”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you haven't been to Taco Del Gnar you're missing out! We had been hearing good things about their Korean rib tacos so we tried them out last week. A "dinner" consists of two tacos, and a side order for $9.99. We ordered a fish taco, a Korean short rib taco, a shrimp taco, a side of home fries and a margarita. The fish taco was moist and tender, tasting fish in every bite. The shrimp was good as well but the Korean rIb taco was our favorite by far! It was tender, flavorful and a different taste experience from your standard taco. While I was expecting "fries" the potatoes were served cubed and topped with cheese, sour cream and seasonings that once again was a totally different taste experience. The margarita is served in a large plastic cup and is quite a generous serving. The margita was a little too much on the tart side for me and had more lemon flavor than lime. Maybe this is because they also serve freshly made lemonade. Taco Del Gnar is just different enough in their menu selection to go out of my way for a lunch or dinner. Our meal of two tacos, two orders of potatoes, one lemonade and one generous margarita was $32. Best of luck to this place located in the beautiful Silver San Juan building at the west end of town!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Del Gnar also viewed

 

Been to Taco Del Gnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing