We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly, great value, helpful management, and excellent service”
Review of Gateway Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Lodge
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly, great value, helpful management, and excellent service”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

is our first time at winchester motel and we would like to thank the management and the housekeepers for keeping the motel so clean and they have a good continental breakfast a big parking space and friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willlff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    9
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
12
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

thank you for receiving my review this motel is very clean and comfortable and the manager is very nice and good value for the rooms and freakfast was very good and the people behind the desk were extremely pleasant and helful and they have bery good rates vey clean rooms we got a very good price for two QQ for the price of ($65.93/night )and they have new beds i raely recomend this motel to stay thank you winchester motel in rifle co

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank javier057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

i cant believe this place is in business, the bedbugs were horrendous. the front desk personel were worse if thats possible they told us hot water was to be used in the evenings only. when i asked for a clean bedspread they told me once a month they laundered them, oh sick. they said the bugs were only roaches sik!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNBELIEVEABLE AND THE SCUM PEOPLE STAYING THERE WERE OBVIOUSLY Crack freaksFORTUNATELY THEY REFUNDED OUR MONEY AND WE FOUND A CLEAN!!!!!!!!!!! PLACE TO STAY

Room Tip: stay away bedbugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guest33450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Reviews like yours push us even harder to make sure we do our best and improve our motel, we're under new management and want to make sure your stay here is pleasant! We hope you'll give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rifle hotels

Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I had a very pleasant experience staying at the Winchester Motel. The manager was extremely nice and helpful, he even gave me a ride to McDonalds, since I had a big moving truck with a car in-tow, and everything nearby was closed. The room was simple, but very nice and clean, with a comfortable bed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank budgettrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Offenburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Geat!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This was the best Motel on our roundtrip through the Rockys.
We found this Motel in Rifle Douwntown far away from the Highway.
We had an nice and clean room, breakfast, and the best price, only 60 $ with AAA.
...................................................................................................................................................................
We were realy surprised

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysticharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed seven nights due to work. Was given a room with no windows and extremely loud and annoying neighbors above. Dealt with being woken up numerous time in three nights then called management. I was told "they are paying customers, you might mention something to them, they have a kid". One more night went by and still the same thing. Finally given a different room with two days left. Put "do not disturb" on door and housekeeping still knocked and entered room. I worked at night and slept during day. Told management again they said "no, they have to knock". Terrible Management. Made me feel as if I were hispanic I would have been treated better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00MedicineMan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kurczaczeksz, General Manager at Gateway Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
We want to make sure that all of our past and present customers know that we're under new management. We apologize about your bad experience. Noisy neighbors are a nuisance and that matter should have been taken care of properly. We hope you'll give us a chance to make things better and make sure your stay is peaceful and enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milaca, Minnesota, USA
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Thank you for the receiving my review. This hotel was very pleasant and comfortable. The manager was very hospitable and reassuring. We arrived late at night and left early the next morning on a long trip. He gave me a military discount which made it more economical than other motels in the area. I was also pleasantly surprised by a complimentary shaving razor in the bathroom. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikellyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rifle
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Rifle
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Rifle
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 6 in Rifle
3.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Silt - Rifle
15.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Parachute
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Lodge

Property: Gateway Lodge
Address: 520 Railroad Ave, Rifle, CO 81650-3548 (Formerly Winchester Motel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Rifle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Rifle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gateway Lodge located in the heart of Rifle's historic Downtown area features clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates. Close to shopping, restaurants, cocktail lounges, and a convenience store across the street. Gateway Lodge puts you at the hub of area attractions. Plus you'll enjoy the quality rooms and great service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Gateway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing