We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop for relaxing moment”

Benson's Tavern & Beer Garden
Ranked #29 of 59 Restaurants in Salida
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Arvada, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great stop for relaxing moment”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stopped in for a drink and enjoyed the friendly chatting of locals. Great little bar with very good and friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherlyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    36
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good music and food”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We were drawn in by a blues duo playing in the garden. It was a nice day to sit out enjoying a leisurely lunch. Music was just right. Food was gone. We had salad and sandwich, buy no beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank craigce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great outside dining”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We happened upon the restaurant while walking in downtown Salida. The inside dinning is more bar like but they have a great outside patio to dine on. It was private and shading and provided a great place to eat our great food. The portions were very big and the service was exceptional. There was no need to ask for anything as the server/bartender either brought more of what he saw we needed or asked if we needed more.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babcock
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

What happened to Bensons? We were drawn in by the outdoor seating, and our past experiences, but wow! Very poor service and mediocre food are not worth the nice outdoor seating. They were out of a few key items we were told after ordering. The waitress and bartender forgot to bring items we ordered, and when we did get most of our order...it wasn't very good. The menu is short and unimaginative, and the service is apathetic. Big bummer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sebsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average food.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The food was just okay, nothing spectacular. I ordered the burger and agree with another review I read, it was a bit over cooked and lacked flavor. The service was very friendly but a bit slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Benson's Tavern & Beer Garden also viewed

 

Been to Benson's Tavern & Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing