We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eatery - CLOSED

The Eatery
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Nice menu with daily specials. Open for breakfast ( really great) and lunch. Nice owner operated restaurant with full menu at reasonable prices. Comfortable seating at both booths and tables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thumper81201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nathrop, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“This is our breakfast spot in Salida”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This is where we go for breakfast in Salida rather than where "all the locals" go. We are local and this is where we go. It is nothing special but we like it. All the sayings on the walls are fun to read. The eggs are perfectly cooked the way I like them, pancakes are great, service is fine, coffee is excellent. We go here all the time. Patio Pancake place--once.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monica1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paonia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Top notch omelet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

This older restaurant is up for sale, so might not be there long. I ordered an omelet, it was terrific, quick to the table, and the wait staff were truly competent. I loved the not greasy hash browns. The coffee was a bit low test for my Starbucks taste, but not bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paoniakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Looks like a breakfast and lunch place. Had a simple but very delicious meal. My companion and I were very pleased with our selections and the service. Such a cute decor!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank moniangel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain, Co
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not great at all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Their omelets looked very tasty but my huevos rancheros wasn't much to write home about. It was a "tortilla topped with refried beans, two eggs, green chili sauce (not a piece of "green" anywhere to be seen or taste), onions and cheese". However, the "onions" consisted of eight tiny pieces of chopped fresh onion and a sprinkling of finely grated cheese. Served on a melamine/plastic plate which I didn't like as I could see scratches from past users which didn't look too sanitory to me. There was also a little salad of greens and tomato, but I don't like salad for breakfast. My meal was lukewarm and any "heat" from the chili was non-existent. If I didn't douse my meal in green Tabasco, it would have been beyond bland. The refried beans dominated the dish but my eggs were perfect. At $7 I thought it over-priced. Also, $2 a cup of coffee or tea (with free refills) was outrageously expensive I thought. Perhaps I should have chosen something else from the menu like a Hearty Breakfast (flat iron steak, or pork chop, or chicken fried steak and gravy, or even corned beef and hash!) or pancakes. The booth seats were very uncomfortable and I felt as though I was sitting on the floor so I moved to a table. I should have done my homework and checked things out beforehand.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing