We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B by far!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B & B by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

What a lovely B & B in a beautiful part of CO. The whole atmosphere at the Mountain Goat Lodge is warm. The rooms are spacious, the breakfasts outstanding, and the owners very welcoming. A great place to stay! We look forward to visiting again. Thank you Gina and D'Arcy!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrotter_lk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
183
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge for a Spring Break ski trip. We were beyond pleased with the place. It fit our needs with our two young children. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts! Gina was kind and helpful--a fantastic hostess! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateHebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

The lodge is incredibly beautiful, comfortable and spacious. A great place for families due to the amount of space and well-stocked recreation room where our young son found some great toys to play with. Add to it that Gina was a most hospitable host--we couldn't have made a better choice for accommodations. We hope to return some day and take advantage of some of the summertime activities in and around Salida.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxibim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basehor, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

Two thumbs up! My husband, 14 year old granddaughter and I stayed at the lodge four nights during a ski trip to Monarch. This was our first stay at a B&B. The lodge is beautiful with wonderful mountain views, comfortable beds, very clean rooms, hot tub and good wireless internet service. Gina, the innkeeper, is an excellent host. The huge breakfasts and lattes were delicious! A happy hour featuring local wine is an added bonus. We enjoyed visiting with Gina, other guests and their dogs. There is plenty of space to spend time alone, too. The goats, llama and dogs are charming and entertaining. A highlight of our trip was watching the birth of two adorable baby goats. My granddaughter loved the goats. We also played card games and listened to the piano in the commons area.
Our dog, Mudd, was killed by a hit and run driver our first night at the lodge. We were overwhelmed with grief and surprised with the outpouring of sympathy from Gina and her neighbors. They helped us bury Mudd, and Gina arranged for a memorial sign in his honor.
It was a difficult week, but we enjoyed our stay. We are planning a return trip. I would recommend staying more than one night.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyvBasehor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

There were no disappointments at Mountain Goat Lodge. First, before you even get there, you are awed by the stunning mountain scenery, which is framed by many of the windows of the rooms and common areas. We stayed in one of the two suites, but I had a chance to look at all the rooms, and they are all lovely, clean, well-decorated and comfortable. It was a pleasure talking to Gina and the other guests, but we had plenty of alone time, too - no pressure to be anywhere or do anything. We brought two dogs with us, and they were warmly welcomed. We've never stayed at a place that allowed dogs where the rooms were so clean and pleasant - usually we end up in some filthy hole because of the dogs, who are actually sweet and well-behaved (not that we're biased...). If you're worried about dog hair (or worse) in your room - don't! Gina does a great job of cleaning and you'll never know that there might have been a furry creature in there previously. Now, the goats - what fun! Except for the time when I accidentally let two of them in the front door (sorry Gina - I've never herded goats before and didn't know what to grab!), we had a great time watching and petting them. There were 5 babies cavorting around, sucking on our thumbs, and generally being silly. We had a great couple of days there - it's close enough to Salida that you can slip into town and take advantage of the great restaurants and shopping, too.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjtcm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chamblee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Gina and D’Arcy are excellent hosts and the bed and breakfast is just beautiful.
Not a spot of dirt could be found.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bozena34829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillon, Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

We just had an awesome 2 nights at the Lodge. We were looking to get away from Summit County for a couple of days to enjoy the slopes of Monarch so really were just looking for a a nice place to stay and we were more than impressed with the hospitality, welcome, food and accommodation provided by Gina and Darcy. They were excellent hosts and the food was fantastic. Our dog came with us and he had a great time in the outdoor kennel and making friends with the goats and Gina's dogs. Even the dog came home relaxed!! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sage0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.2 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing