We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
CO
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, great place”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Lots of cute friendly animals, a friendly inn-owner, great food and coffee, a great place to stay. Look fwd to returning!!!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bikesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    49
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
192
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2011

If ever near Salida Co. and need lodging I would def. recommend this lodge. The breakfast was really good,the goats were entertaining and the lodge itself was very nice. Gina is the best,she went beyond the call of duty to insure we had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri21227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

From the moment Gina greeted us at the front door we fellt completely at home. She is a warm and gracious hostess and such an interesting person to get to know. In addition to being the Innkeeper she is also a hobby farmer who cares for goats(yes she does milk them) chickens, 3 very well behaved dogs and a llama. She is assisted by her husband Darci who always seemed to know when she needed help and made sure that coffee was ready for me, a very early riser. The house is beautiful One is drawn in by the warmth and beauty of the living area that opens up completely to the upper floor. The stone fireplace is flanked by a wall of windows that brings in the phenomenal mountain views. On the first morning, I woke to the smell of coffee brewing at 6AM and descended into the living area. I felt as if I were in my own home. It was peaceful and quiet and did I mention stunningly beautiful. Breakfast was very hearty both days and catered to every taste. Fruit yogurt,granola, eggs,(from the family chicks) pastry, french toast,,,whatever you wish for, it is available. Gina made special vegan french toast for a guest who asked for it.
The afternoon brought wine (local) and homemade cheese (homemade from the goats)and again wonderful company. We even had the chance to milk a goat before we left. The room was quiet, the bed just right. I would recommend the Mountain Goat for either a romantic getaway or a special treat for children who will love the animals. Just perfection. We will return again and again to our new home in Salida. Both Gina and Darci are lovely to visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLovers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Lovely place, great view from Princeton room. Room large with good bed. Hot tub on deck w/ mountain view! Relaxed atmosphere in well kept large newer lodge. Gina's (owner) pet goats, chickens, dog and llama were wonderful. Fresh eggs and homemade goat cheese and milk for lattes every morning. Very generous and healthy breakfasts served with warmth and care.
Casual, comfortable and very welcoming atmosphere close to Salida, mountains, hot springs. We plan to return.
Some evenings we were serenaded by piano playing on her grand piano. Comfy leather furniture in Great Room and Library. Highly recommend this retreat!

Room Tip: Reserve early as it fills up in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roseabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the M/G B&B. It is hard to beat beautiful scenery, delicious breakfast and the best night sleep I've had in months. Gina really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and played some pretty music for us, too.
The bed was so comfortable that, when we got home, we bought a mattress like the one we had in our room.
Thanks, Gina, for a real nice visit. We'll be back.
Jon and Elizabeth W. from Colorado Springs, Co.

Room Tip: They are all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gp0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

My husband and I had paid to stay at the Mountain Goat Lodge for 3 nights. We could manage only one. The owner's 3 large dogs barked incessantly throughout the night (the next morning the owner proudly said that they are very good guard dogs, and bark at coyotes. Er, Colorado is a.k.a. Coyote Country...), and the bed was small and terribly uncomfortable due to a saggy mattress. We had virtually no sleep all night. In addition, the bedroom's walls are thin, and the owner is extremely talkative and has a very loud voice, so one constantly hears her talking, even behind closed doors. Although we had decided quite late on the second day that we simply could not spend another night, let alone 2, there, and did not expect to receive a refund, it would have been polite of the owner to offer a partial refund if anyone else had booked into our room subsequent to our departure. Although the area surrounding the property is lovely, this B&B is not for someone who needs or wants peace and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelsanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
As new owners (eff. June 2010) we continually strive to improve the overall guest experience so we appreciate and value all feedback.
It is unfortunate that these nice guests left without giving us a chance to make things right. In this case we HAD NO IDEA anything was awry! While here, they stayed in their large suite most of the time, so of course we respected their privacy. If they don’t say a word about the noise, the bed, or anything else – how can we improve the situation?
We make it clear when guests book with us that we are a pet friendly lodge and we have goats, dogs, chickens, etc. on the property. This particular night we did not have any guest dogs but my 3 dogs slept all night on the floor next to my bed. Of course some occasional barking is heard as people come and go, but to state “Incessantly throughout the night” is an exaggeration.
Yes the walls are a bit thin, and we have quiet hours that respect that fact. We plan to upgrade with heavier doors and thicker carpeting and to replace the queen bed with a new king sized bed. Our cancellation policy states that a refund will be given if we are able to rebook the room. Since this was Easter weekend, the room did not get rebooked as people make plans well in advance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge during the week - and we were fortunate to be the only guests - we got spoiled! The house is wonderfully relaxing. Wish we could have stayed for a week.

Note: if you have a dog - you're in luck. They allow dogs and are very accommodating. We don't own a dog, but the owner showed us how our dog would be welcomed if we had one.

The common area is beautiful. And there's an upstairs library with plenty of interesting books and movies. If you would like to plan a few days to stay you can take lessons on making cheese from goats' milk.

If you're a coffee lover, which we're not - but we got to see what's available - come with your coffee appetite. Lots to enjoy. Also, you're lucky if you have a big breakfast appetite because you get a lot of good food for breakfast.

Room Tip: We were in the Princeton rm. Suites look nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
102 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
24.9 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
5.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing