We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf experience! Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 9 July 2012

From the genuine hospitality to the incredible lodging and views, the Mountain Goat Lodge is an excellent choice for overnight or extended stay. Our visit was saturated with memorable moments with the innkeeper, the animals and the land. Gina's perfect coffee and breakfast was a dreamy start to a fun filled and educational day. We learned more about goats and the care involved in one afternoon than reading a dozen books would provide. And who knew making cheese could be so easy and enjoyable?
The view from our room was breath taking and the weather allowed for us to open the doors and windows and take in all the surroundings. Comfortable sheets, nice mattress, clean room with satellite TV and a respect for your privacy added up to a great place to stay. With the additional amenities of the hot tub, gorgeous deck, proximity to so many interesting things and of course, THE GOATS, this lodge is top shelf all the way. A social environment with lots of choices, I recommend this as a top shelf experience all around!

Room Tip: If you are looking for the best view, The Princeton provides the most extensive panorama in the lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our stay at Mountain Goat Lodge included a cheese making class that resulted in a molded chevre and a cheddar that is presently aging in our wine cellar. We ate the chevre with sun dried tomato spread on a picnic the next night. Our stay also included a comfortable bed and a tasty breakfast which included fresh ingredients from the chickens and goats who lived behind the lodge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

A friend and I stayed for two nights and had a fantastic time. Our hosts were gracious, knowledgable and very friendly. The breakfast both days was delicious. The rooms and entire B&B are tastefully decorated and clean.

It was fun to learn about the goats and actually milk one. The fresh goat milk was delicious too.

We hiked and visited hot springs and a nearby ghost town. We also enjoyed shopping in te eclectic artistic town of Salida. There are plenty of things to enjoy in the area.

Thank you Gina and D'Arcy!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanneKDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Mountain Goat Lodge is a relatively new facility that was designed and built as a B & B. If you don't like animals you won't like the Mountain Goat lodge. We didn't bring any of our own although most of the other guests did. Their animals were never a problem and the dogs, goats, chickens, and the llama that live at Mountain Goat Lodge were a delight. So were the other guests! Sharing a large table with the guests and hostess while eating the fabulous food was delightfully pleasant. Gina was so very accommodating about the breakfast menu I would not have been surprised to have seen her fix a breakfast to satisfy any special dietary desires or needs. We explored the small town of Salida, took a trip to the ghost town of St. Elmo, and explored the terrain of Mountain Goat Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mazewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

If this place was good enough for Nick Nolte its good enough for anyone. We had an awesome time. Don't know what radofans was talking about. Room was very clean. No I didnt check our ceiling fan for dust, that is weird. All I know is no dust fell on me when turned on so we were happy. Food rocked_!_! With the help of ms Gina's recipes ms Antoinette rocked out breakfast and ms Sadie is a killer baker in training. There is a button on the front desk that alerts the staff if you need them. Must take the cheese class. So much fun I giggled the whole time. The goats were goats. They made us laugh with their antics. Did I mention breakfast was awesome! On our last day a special one was made for us because we had to leave early. We would come back in a heart beat and will miss the friends we made during our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

As we drove from Albuquerque to Salida the terrain just got more and more beautiful, until we reached our destination of Mountain Goat Lodge. It was our first vacation with our new pet dog, Oscar. Seeing all of the people and other dogs was exciting, and we were made to feel like family right away. The rooms were amazingly clean and cute. It was fun seeing an authentic working farm, along with the goat milking experience. I wasn't able to take the cheese making class, however it recieved rave reviews from others in the house who did. The town of Salida was friendly, and our overall trip was marvelous. Lots of hiking and other nearby sights, including the BoatHouse where you can watch the kayak's and rafts coming down the Arkansas river, were lots of fun. There is a beautiful riverside walk which we were able to take our Oscar on, an antique store, also dog friendly, and a fair trade art store, dog friendly, as well. And we stopped by a dog treat store where the owner came out to great us and visit us, and give us a few tips on things we could do to train our new dog into a gentleman, so to speak. A plus, is that the goat farm was right next door to a miniature horse ranch, so it was also fun to see the miniature horses as we drove to town. I feel like I could go on and on. Beautiful lodge, great decks to sit out on in the evenings, beautiful views, amazing stars, friendly beyond beyond. Also...lots of chickens...a llama (so cute)...great conversation, beautiful old piano, a beautiful, inpromtu afternoon piano concert, owner Gina was great, Antoinette, breakfast cook, so friendly and sweet. Highly reccomend!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose a room away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nannette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

While the views are lovely and the animals are fun, the rest leaves something to be desired.

The room was far from clean, with a dust covered ceiling fan, dirty toilet and limescaled shower head. The walls are thin and you can hear what goes on in other rooms. It was especially loud in the mornings, with boisterous conversations in the great room at 7am.

The breakfast was disappointing. The food was sub-par, in fact, it was so disappointing that we decided to eat cliff bars from our bag rather than force ourselves to eat the food. Further, the staff made passive-aggressive comments when choosing against eating the main dish. At one point, I made toast and owner remarked to her assistant "See, that's what happens when you put bread out" I have no idea what that meant, but it didn't make me feel like a welcome guest.

The owner might respond suggesting that one can make advance breakfast arrangements - but that's difficult to do when you never see her. Further, on the day we checked in, we mentioned hearing about how great the french toast was and how we hoped to try it. What's more, they seemed to run out of ingredients often. No flour, no soy milk..etc. While I am on that subject - how are whole, goat and soy good milk options? I drink skim, but even a 2% option would be appreciated.

The advertised happy hour and nighty cookies never happened, which was fairly disappointing.

Overall, the stay at Mountain Goat Lodge was a let down. We didn't feel like welcomed guests. If anything, we felt like an inconvenience.

We did enjoy the town of Salida. It is a pretty cool little place. I'd recommend checking out Moonlight pizza, for an awesome lunch special.

We would like to visit Salida again, but we won't be staying at the Mountain Goat lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
4  Thank RadoFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountaingoatlodge, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Our quiet hours are listed from 10pm-7am.The rooster crows,the goats make noise, dogs bark. Guests get up, take their dogs outside, come back in for coffee and make conversation. Most of our guests enjoy interacting with each other in the mornings, that's why they come to a B&B. We strive to serve locally sourced food, from the dairy products: homemade Greek-style goat yogurt, milk and cheese from our goats, eggs from our hens, to the bacon and sausages from our local ranchers. We are pleased to offer unlimited professionally made espresso drinks using coffee from our local roaster. The owner cannot always be in the kitchen at all times as she is busy milking dairy goats twice a day and running every aspect of the business. To that end, we employ a helpful and friendly assistant who works extremely hard to please all of the guests. We discontinued happy hour as it was difficult to gather all the guests together at one time in the afternoons so have instead opted to give each guest an $18 bottle of locally produced wine. Our rooms are very clean and we are extremely proud of the product and service we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
11.5 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
217 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: £99 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing