We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet-worry free!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pet-worry free!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I relished our weekend, pet-worry free, relaxing time at Mountain Goat Lodge. Nearby hiking offers exercise with or without challlenge, Salida offers fun night-life, and Gina offers down-to-earth hospitatliy. Most unusual is a lodge full of dog-lovers that afforded our dogs a comfortable place to socialize. Gina and her son D'arcy answered all questions with aplomb. The breakfasts were delectible. Lovely views, hot-tubbing, and friendly animals added up to a perfect get-a-way for dog people.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank deirdre g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We're so glad we can be a little dog-lover's oasis in the Colorado mountains, Deirdre. It makes us so happy to hear about a guest enjoying not only staying with us, but their time in town too. Salida really is great! If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better, please let us know. We can't wait to see you again.

Best,

Gina M., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    47
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
187
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge twice, and have thoroughly enjoyed our visits. We have two four-legged friends that enjoyed watching the alpacas, goats and chickens that were on-site along with the many hikes around the property. Gina and D'arcy were wonderful hosts, and were very accommodating to our needs. We highly recommend this property to anyone who has dogs that they want to bring with them on their travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We're firm believers here that the only thing that tops traveling is traveling with your dogs! It's great to hear that you agree, and that your four-legged friends also enjoyed their time with us. We appreciate your review, and we can't wait to see you all again!

Sincerely,
Gina M., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked the Mt Goat Lodge for the first night of our honeymoon - so expectations were high! They were also fulfilled. The Lodge is a beautiful space, with a lovely common-area living room. It also has a fantastic hot tub out back with a whole hot tub patio area that was barely shown on the website - and was just a beautiful place to sit and look at the stars all evening. Our room was huge, very clean, and with lovely views of the mountains and goats. The goats (and dogs and alpacas) added a huge amount to our experience -- you should be an animal lover here, but we are, and as animal lovers, it was just wonderful to have so many happy and well cared for animals around. (But a warning: the goats were so cute and friendly that my husband fell in love with goats thanks to our stay there, so now we may be getting goats - this could happen to you).

Breakfast was wonderful - fresh goat yogurt and fruit, a baked egg dish, fresh breads and cakes. There's an expresso maker and they will make all sorts of coffee and non-coffee based drinks with it. And when no one is manning the kitchen, guests still have a tea and coffee area to enjoy on our own.

The location is slightly out of the town of Salida - but it's just a ten minute drive, and was simply not an issue. Meanwhile, the mountain views are lovely as a result of the location.

One of the nicest b and bs I've stayed in, especially in Colorado and most especially in the Salida area,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seguin, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge in late September. The whole experience was wonderful. Gina and D'arcy are great hosts and their property is absolutely beautiful. Loved spending every morning sipping one of their espressos sitting on the back deck looking at the mountain peaks. Great way to start any day. My wife took the cheese making class and really enjoyed it and walking the property with the goats following us was a real treat....

Our room was very comfortable and the large open living area was a nice place to hang out and talk with Gina and the other guests. In addition, the bed was perfect and we liked the sheets so much that we bought two sets to take home with us. This was our first time to visit but we plan on coming back up next summer when the Texas summer gets oppressively hot.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oberhasli Suite which was roomy and comfortable. This is the room that we will req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We agree that a morning espresso with mountains involved is hard to top. It was our pleasure, Mark! You and your wife were such fun to have stay with us, and we look forward to the summer. Hope those sheets are still treating you well and serving as a nice souvenir from your trip. Enjoy that mild Texas winter for us and we'll see you back here soon.

Sincerely,
Gina M., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

i chose this b&b for a fall getaway because it was dog-friendly--and that's an understatement. we had a lovely time gazing at the goats (and the stars from the hot tub), and our pup had lots of fun with house pup sookie and another visiting dog. breakfasts were delicious, the bed was comfortable--totally recommended for a relaxing trip to salida.

Room Tip: the oberhasli suite was great--very spacious and a wonderful view--but does experience a bit of kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank devonie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We (Sookie included) loved having you guys here. Thanks so much for leaving us such a nice review, we truly appreciate it. We hope you're planning another weekend getaway to Salida soon!

Best,
Gina M., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a great place to stay when traveling through Colorado. We enjoyed our breakfast, nice room and animal friends out back. It is located in an area with views all directions. The large open living room with valuted ceiling and fireplace is a great gathering space.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pfexpress2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review! We're glad you enjoyed the gathering space — it's so much fun when all of our guests come together and spend time in there — as well as the splendid views. We certainly hope you'll be back by soon.

Until then,
Gina M., Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the b & b for three nights and it was fabulous. Our room was superb and breakfasts were scrumptious. We took cheese making class which was so much fun. My granddaughter even got to milk a goat and feed the chickens. She wanted to move in! We can't wait to go back. We would only stay here. Our vacations are planned around it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
THANK YOU!!
I think we could maybe find some room in the barn for your granddaughter !!
Hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
4.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
83 reviews
12.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
5.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Property: Mountain Goat Lodge
Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing