We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Salida,CO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Goat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The Mountain Goat Lodge was very warm and inviting. The owners were friendly and sure did serve up a wonderful breakfast. The rooms were spacious and clean. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone if they want a great place to stay if they are going to ski Monarch Mountain or go snowmobiling; they were only 30 minutes down the road.

Room Tip: Choose either the Mt Princeton room or the Sawatch rooms... Great view of the mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dcclacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for leaving such a nice review! Warm and inviting are what we aim for, so it's wonderful to know you felt this way. We hope you'll keep beautiful Salida in mind for your next getaway — we'd love to see you again.

Sincerely,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

It was great to find a B&B that welcomes dogs. There is even an outdoor fenced area where the dogs can be off leash. Just watch out out for the cacti! The accommodations were very comfortable, we found the outdoor entrance to our suite to be convenient, and the breakfasts were fabulous. It was a wonderful pastoral setting and so fun to meet the menagerie and watch the milking process and try our hands at it. The hot tub was very nice. Loved the robes! Thanks, Gina and company, for a great stay. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Oberhasli Suite was very comfortable, roomy, and the outside entrance was handy. It is also whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, Mary! It's great to hear the little touches like the robe and quality time with the goats made such an impact. We'd love to have your crew back any time! The hot tub is especially welcoming this time of year! Thank you for the review.

Sincerely,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Mountain Goat Lodge was the perfect setting for a relaxing retreat with my 93 year old mother. We had booked one room for three people. Upon arrival, at Gina's suggestion, we moved Mom into another room so that we would all be more comfortable. Gina was very accommodating and offered a very good rate to us for the second room. It was apparent from the beginning that she wanted her guests to have a great experience and to feel at home. The views from the lodge common area and from the rooms are beautiful and unspoiled, and Mom could "put her feet up" in the afternoon while enjoying the vista ( and so could we!). The breakfasts were fresh, plentiful and very good. We hope to return!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MouseRabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

I want to thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us such a wonderful review! It makes me so happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us. We know Salida affords spectacular views, but it takes a little extra TLC on our part to make a retreat truly special — so we're happy to do our part. If you have any suggestions for how we could make your next stay even better, we welcome all feedback! Thanks again, and we hope you'll visit us again.

Best,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I love this place... they made me feel right at home ...the food was wonderful and THE COFFEE..wow....I was catered to and it made me feel special...and it was so clean..and the goats and chickens so fun to watch...I can't wait to stay there again...Thanks Gina

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzQgandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

I'm so glad you had a memorable stay with us! We're super proud of our coffee, and love when folks have a blast with the animals, so your review makes me incredibly happy. We can't wait for your next visit.

Sincerely,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I relished our weekend, pet-worry free, relaxing time at Mountain Goat Lodge. Nearby hiking offers exercise with or without challlenge, Salida offers fun night-life, and Gina offers down-to-earth hospitatliy. Most unusual is a lodge full of dog-lovers that afforded our dogs a comfortable place to socialize. Gina and her son D'arcy answered all questions with aplomb. The breakfasts were delectible. Lovely views, hot-tubbing, and friendly animals added up to a perfect get-a-way for dog people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank deirdre g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We're so glad we can be a little dog-lover's oasis in the Colorado mountains, Deirdre. It makes us so happy to hear about a guest enjoying not only staying with us, but their time in town too. Salida really is great! If there's anything we can do to make your next visit even better, please let us know. We can't wait to see you again.

Best,

Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Mountain Goat Lodge twice, and have thoroughly enjoyed our visits. We have two four-legged friends that enjoyed watching the alpacas, goats and chickens that were on-site along with the many hikes around the property. Gina and D'arcy were wonderful hosts, and were very accommodating to our needs. We highly recommend this property to anyone who has dogs that they want to bring with them on their travels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAGirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina and Darcy M, Owner at Mountain Goat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We're firm believers here that the only thing that tops traveling is traveling with your dogs! It's great to hear that you agree, and that your four-legged friends also enjoyed their time with us. We appreciate your review, and we can't wait to see you all again!

Sincerely,
Gina M., Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We booked the Mt Goat Lodge for the first night of our honeymoon - so expectations were high! They were also fulfilled. The Lodge is a beautiful space, with a lovely common-area living room. It also has a fantastic hot tub out back with a whole hot tub patio area that was barely shown on the website - and was just a beautiful place to sit and look at the stars all evening. Our room was huge, very clean, and with lovely views of the mountains and goats. The goats (and dogs and alpacas) added a huge amount to our experience -- you should be an animal lover here, but we are, and as animal lovers, it was just wonderful to have so many happy and well cared for animals around. (But a warning: the goats were so cute and friendly that my husband fell in love with goats thanks to our stay there, so now we may be getting goats - this could happen to you).

Breakfast was wonderful - fresh goat yogurt and fruit, a baked egg dish, fresh breads and cakes. There's an expresso maker and they will make all sorts of coffee and non-coffee based drinks with it. And when no one is manning the kitchen, guests still have a tea and coffee area to enjoy on our own.

The location is slightly out of the town of Salida - but it's just a ten minute drive, and was simply not an issue. Meanwhile, the mountain views are lovely as a result of the location.

One of the nicest b and bs I've stayed in, especially in Colorado and most especially in the Salida area,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rachel k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
4.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
11.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
507 reviews
6 mi away
Tudor Rose Bed & Breakfast and Chalets
19.7 mi away
Surf Chateau
Surf Chateau
#1 of 8 in Buena Vista
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Goat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Goat Lodge

Address: 9582 US Highway 285, Salida, CO 81201-9555
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range: £103 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Goat Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Goat Lodge is a log cabin style lodge on 19 mountain-viewed acres. We're conveniently located just 8 miles west of Salida, 20 miles east of Monarch Ski Resort. All rooms have private baths, balconies, mountain views, mini-fridge, HDTV, HBO and DVD players. Free WI-FI, 24 hr available outdoor Hot Tub, full country breakfast served 8am-10am, free coffee, tea, and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. Suites have king beds, other rooms have king or queen beds. Special diets are accommodated. Pets have access to 1/2 acre off leash area, 50X30 outdoor kennel, treats and dog bed with 20.00 Pet fee. Hobby goat dairy on site allows access to milking demonstrations, cheese making classes, goat and chicken raising classes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Goat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing