We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best in the central Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Simple Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simple Lodge
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simply the best in the central Rockies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

This place makes me feel like home. The host would provide information on everything you are interested in doing. The location is convenient to all Salida has to offer, A short drive to the Monarch Crest gets you to the Continental Divide Trail and the Colorado Trail. Arkansas River can be heard fro m1 small block away, where the city park is. 4th of July Air Force Music Band provide the top notch entertainment in town. You can't get all this with $25 a night, anywhere east or west of the Continental Divide.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
17
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I didn't mind having to walk through the bunkhouse with sleeping guests to get to the bathroom at night. I didn't mind the communal bathroom, because both showers had a curtained changing area so it was reasonably private, and in the morning when I showered no one was there anyway. We enjoyed meeting the guys staying there between their mountain hikes. The only huge negative was the high polyester content of the "sheets," and the fact that the fitted sheet came off during the night, so I ended up sleeping on the plastic covered mattress, and the bare mattress where the plastic cover had ripped.

Room Tip: This is a great value for singles. For a couple, we spent nearly as much as an economy hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dfranklin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Loved it! Felt like one night wasn't enough--terrific in-town location, adorable funky decor and very friendly hostess. We had the private suite but would definitely recommend the bunks and family rooms...communal kitchen/dining area very neat, clean and accessible, as are the communal bathrooms/showers. We loved walking around downtown, which is only a block away, and hope to return during festivals in the town park, which is just around the corner, or for skiing at Monarch. We'd never rented a room in Salida before and are very happy to have made this 'find'--esp. for the price!

Room Tip: Private suite has own bath and private kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cdjd2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Slept better in a coed dorm room at the hostel (with earplugs) than in a king corner hotel room in Denver the night in between. Advise from John on where to eat (The Fritz), which trail to climb Mt Elbert (made it to the summit) this time of year were truly helpful. Kimberly's suggestion of a shorter hike another day, Rainbow Trail, was also right on the money. Being a block from the river and riverside events made it possible to walk everywhere. This was so much better than a motel on the main drag into Salida that a friend found a few years ago (where owners asked us not to use the shower but didn't want to lower their price from $90). Speaking of showers, Phyllis in the double suite, said I could use her shower when others were occupied. That looked like one nice room and kitchen for $80. Way nicer than the hwy hotel room. Posters around town led me past a good concert in the bandshell by the river to a film and talk about the Cristo and Jeanne-Claude Gates and a proposed river covering by them for the Arkansas River that goes through town. Oh, and for $5 more you can bring your well-behaved dog. That was the reason my friend picked the other motel. Big mistake.

Room Tip: Go for double suite with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We loved staying at the Simple Lodge. John made us feel very welcome and informed us of many favorite eats and drinks around town. It is within walking distance to pretty much everything and is very well maintained. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone considering staying in Salida.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmy1327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Simple does it with style. So many Colorado high-country, non-chain hotels, motels or the feel like you stepped into a 1950's throwback - and not in the good quaint way. SImple feels like staying the night with your favorite Uncle and Aunt, the ones that know how to have fun and want you to come along for the ride.
The location is great for walking the city center or playing in the park or relaxing by the Arkansas. Heck, if you are a boater, you could pull out at the park and be home. And it makes for an easy jump up the pass to Ski at Monarch.
I am not a huge fan of Hostel living, but that is where SImple changes the game. I don't feel like I am sharing space with strangers when I am there. IIt feels like a gathering of friends I haven't met yet.

Room Tip: Plan ahead & get a private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granby, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

Whenever I come to Colorado there is no other place Id rather stay. I have stayed at a few hostels and have to say they all are sub par compared to the simple lodge and hostel. It is ran by the most courteous people I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. On top of having great rates the atmosphere can not be topped. This is the best place to stay in Colorado... period.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areguzanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.9 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.8 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple Lodge

Property: Simple Lodge
Address: 224 E 1st St., Salida, CO 81201
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only lodging located in historic downtown Salida. Walk to everything or use a bike for free. We have bunk beds, private queen rooms, and a private suite with kitchen. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing