We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location. IRA and Belle were wonderful host/hostess. Got great recommendations for things to do and places to eat! Would stay there again. Salida is a neat small town and perfect for outdoor enthusiasts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the upper corner room - quiet and plenty of space. Very relaxed atmosphere. N/A No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed several days in the charming town of Salida, Colorado. Using Trip Advisor I picked this motel. I'm not sure if I misread reviews but it was not what I expected. Ira checked us in and he is friendly and accommodating. We asked for a cottage and had mixed feelings when we entered. It was clean, neat and had some good ammienties. It is very "old Colorado" as two natives see it. Nothing fancy but comfortable. The bed and couch bed were extremely comfortable. We had a small kitchen and it was well stocked. Nice pots and pans, microwave, two burner stove and sink. There was a can of coffee with filters although we did not use it. The bathroom is quite small but works. Be aware that there was no shampoo or conditioner but there was a hairdryer (thank goodness!). It's very convenient as it's right on Highway 50. I did hear some traffic during the night but not bad. We had the air conditioner going so that helped. I would stay here again but feel that someone booking needs to be aware of what it is.

Room Tip: Just be sure that you bring your shampoo and expect a charming truly "Colorado cabin" expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colohightravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved it. The Mountain Motel is a charming and rustic place which wreaks of Salida. It is fun, current but old, friendly and respectful, great for all sorts of mountain interests.
It is easy to find and convenient to downtown Salida as well as mountain activities.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargyandCorgis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Worked out perfectly to stay at the Mountain Motel on our way through town. Not sure what happened on some of the other reviews but Ira is harmless and very sweet. Great place to stop and take a load of for the evening.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alicia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a dog-friendly, basic motel - clean, nice stretch of grass for our dog to run on. He enjoyed playing with Belle, the owner's dog. Only problem was that our dog was awakened at 2 am by guests, who were arriving at that time. Great place to stay while passing through Salida

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank NanoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We made an advance reservation at the Mountain Motel (based upon a trip advisor review) for a one night stay. Following a late arrival at the Colorado Springs airport while en route to Ouray (our flights were delayed and changed and we did not arrive at Colorado Springs until after 8 PM), we were concerned about what to expect in Salida. Based upon a phone call, Ira left Cottage 3 (our reserved cottage) open for us and the key on the table inside. All worked well.

A small, but a very comfortable and clean cottage. Sitting area with flat screen TV. Parking right outside our door. Comfortable Queen bed. Kitchenette. Bathroom with shower.

The Patio Pancake Place for breakfast was just a couple blocks down the road - yummy.

If passing through Salida again and need of lodging, I would happily stay at the Mountain Motel again.

Room Tip: Historic downtown less than a mile away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Tiny cabin! Bathroom was so small there should be a warning sign (no fatties allowed). Had to jiggle toilet handle to get water to stop running. Small hand soap, no other toiletries. Not sure What the yellow-brown splashes were on the wall...Bed clean and comfy. Kitchen faucet also had to be 'coaxed' to shut off. Got a special price off Trip Advisor - $65/night rather than $84. Asked owner about the special--he told my husband 'it's $65.12 and if he didn't like it we could go somewhere else.' Did Not get that warm fuzzy feeling! The owner was worried about finding his dog who had just run off--we offered to come back, give him time to go search. Would have even helped him--we are dog-lovers too. But he said 'no, might as well get us registered'--kinda grudgingly. We understood he was worried about his dog but why ruin our day? Coupled with the 'if you don't like it you can go somewhere else' attitude and we really felt UNwelcome! Would not return or recommend this place and am Really wondering how this place got to be #1 of all the hotels in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingbuffal0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
205 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
1.3 mi away
Silver Ridge Lodge
Silver Ridge Lodge
#5 of 16 in Salida
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Motel

Address: 1425 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-3203
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range: £60 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hitchin' Post Motel, formerly know as the Mountain Motel welcomed its first guests in 1947. In 1996, six more rooms were built to accommodate the tremendous influx of visitors to the motel. The Hitchin' Post Motel has been a family endeavor, being locally owned and operated since 1947... Over 55 years! In December 2011, the owners of The Mountain Motel felt that it was time to showcase the charm and history of the motel by changing the name to The Hitchin' Post Motel representing the by-gone era of the 1940's, 50's and 60's. After transforming the office area into a lounge and reading room, the energetic owners set to work to begin outfitting the remaining nine rooms with an exhaustive inventory of Mountain Western Retro furniture, fixtures and room decor. Their vision to make the Hitchin'Post, Salida's FIRST "boutique mote;" and reinventing an American icon - the roadside motel is coming to life!Foremost in the minds of the staff at the Hitchin'Post Motel is to provide guests with a comfortable, cozy, distinctive and memorable stay. One-size DOES NOT fit all! Each room has been reimagined to bring in the owner's own style to make each room personable and "one-of-a-kind." Room decor is "Mountain Western Retro" - reminiscent of properties dating back to the 1940's, 1950's, and early 1960's. We consider our motel an ever evolving work of "motel art," where updates and decor are an on-going effort. We pride ourselves on being the only local motel to bring the "boutique motel" experience to guests visiting Salida.A locally owned motel, the Hitchin' Post Motel is noticeably different in look and feel from other hotel/motel chains - we love it when our guests are pleasantly "surprised" to find that the motel offers much more than a room to sleep.We invite YOU to share our "Mountain Western Retro" experience! Whether it be... Sharing a bowl of chili on a cold day with other guests, or sipping the special "Hitchin'Post Ice Tea on a hot day... Your stay at the Hitchin'Post Motel in Salida, Colorado will be a memory to share forever and keep you coming back, year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing