We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mountain Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Lodge(Salida)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Salida)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Hotel(Salida)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
144
71
20
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
144
71
20
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownergreat place to staysmall fridgestay there againgreat bedcoffee makerclean towelsspring breakchecking outfull kitchenpleasant staywe've stayedcabindogchainpetjar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We usually make 4 to 6 trips a year to Salida. We have two dogs that make the trip with us. We have stayed at a couple of other places and then we found Mountain Motel. It is the only place we stay now. The dogs are welcome, the beds are awesome, the rooms clean, and the staff is friendly . What more could one look for when they get a motel? Can't wait until we go again. Warning!!! Make your reservation early as they book up fast.

Room Tip: Make reservations early. Have stayed in 4 different rooms, all were great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 19Rosie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

In July we stayed two nights in Cabin #3 after reading reviews. We had our large Lab with us and it was obvious that owner Ira enjoys dogs. We felt very comfortable and welcome, which isn't always the case with a 100 lb. dog. Our cabin was very clean and well cared for, with a quirky western character (all nicely decorated by Ira). He gets my vote for most creative use of space . . . everything you'd need in a small space. We decided to stay in Salida while checking out Mt Princeton for a large reunion, so didn't really explore the town. However, Ira steered us to a good restaurant. We'll be back to enjoy Salida and when we do we'll stay at the Mountain Motel. I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the motel rooms, but would definitely stay in one of the cabins again.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barb_P224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The staff is very friendly. The rooms were nice and clean, and the beds were comfortable. You are able to do your own laundry there for free. They supplied laundry detergent and bleach. They also had snacks and drinks in a refrigerator that you paid for on the honor system. This is a great place to stay and the rooms are not expensive at all.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank TravelingSoul13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The beds are great, the rooms are clean and the decor is Very nice.. even in the cabins, close to food, and gas. and down town for fun shopping, playing and eating.. We love to stay there because it is in the middle of everything .. we use Salida to do day trips, we can go all the way to Silverthorn to Aspen.. to many of the great passes, and hidden Lakes, Gunnison and Montrose are a day trip during the Summer.. Salida and Mountain Motel is safe to leave your stuff and be gone all day..the grounds are pretty and private.. you will be glad you stayed there...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EdCharlaFrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great place to stay. Hopefully the revival of road-side motels continues, so much character and just down-to-earth and laid-back. Ira is a very friendly host as well and will take care of your needs.

Try it out! You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews