We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant and brew pub!”
Review of Currents

Currents
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Hamilton, Montana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and brew pub!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We both chose the capellini with mussells, shrimp & scallops in the lightest cream sauce that was just right! What a good choice. The dish (we ordered 2 half-orders) was more than ample...a whole order would have been perhaps too much. In any case, I would recommend their seaffod as the preparation was extremely well done. the brew to go with this choice was Karma...brewed in Boulder, CO. An all around great place to dine. Cheers!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MontanaWinddancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    130
    28
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leslie, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So-So”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Their sign says steak and seafood. There was only one choice for seafood and it was fish and chips. They had already run out of the seafood special which was salmon at 5:30. There were 2 steak choices. Service was ok to poor. The waiter kept asking us what we ordered. Write it down if you have a bad memory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

A place that draws plenty of locals as well as travelers, it combines a varied menu (with plenty of half portion options which I appreciate), good selection of beers and and a comfortable, welcoming feel.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wess19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“We Love Currents”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family are loyal Currents customers. First, we like the atmosphere in the restaurant and that is very important. Like the staff, too, and the service. The only reason I don't give them 5 stars is for downgrading quality. Great restaurants do not try to save money by using less quality ingredients. They might have to charge more for certain items if the food is top notch. The wonderful crab cakes now have less crab and more breading--many restaurants serve crab cakes like this, but why would Currents want to be one of them? They said they would have to charge $30 for two crab cakes if they continued to make them as before. The Green Chili was absolutely the best in town; but now it is too expensive to make? If you are willing to charge people $1.00 for a small slice of bread, which is mostly holes, then why worry about raising the price for Green Chili or Crab Cakes?

Tuesday night is Sushi night and the Sushi is great. I just hope that they don't decide to downgrade from Sushi-grade fish!

And those lovely specialty Pretzel Buns that are in all the pictures are gone because local bakers can't make them.

Many of the reviews mention the top notch ingredients, so please keep it that way!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valagay2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
220 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Quality ingredients on a small menu”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I like a small menu and Currents has that along with top notch engredients prepared simply. Mussels were very good, steak, which my girlfriend said we needed to order because of all the good looking cattle around, was tasty and the corn was some of the best. I will say our sides were not very warm. It was was steady and I think this is one of the more recommended spots in town. Worth a stop.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Currents also viewed

 

Been to Currents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing