We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great wine!”

Vino Salida Wine Cellars
Ranked #7 of 48 things to do in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A small artisan winery in the heart of the Colorado Rocky Mountains producing handcrafted wines from Colorado grapes and honey. We work closely with viticulturists in Palisade, Colorado and ferment Merlot, Viognier, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon, and local honey. We offer wine tastings, casual winery tours, and sales in our tasting parlour, open year round, Open daily 12-8pm
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great wine!”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Love this little winery. Try the Tenderfoot Stomp and the Vino Rosso. Steve the winemaker is making up some great wines!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 10sdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    12
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tasting Experience”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

When we arrived Steve the Vintner was crushing viognier grapes (from western Colorado) and his very pleasant helper took me back and gave me a bunch of grapes to taste. What a treat to savor the surprisingly sweet grapes on their way to being fashioned into such tasty, dry wine! I sampled the 2009 and 2011 viognier and the mead wine (made from local honey). I bought the mead as a gift for folks back home in Texas. Vino Salida is located in a strip center but the inviting pastel facade leads you to a true wine-making facility.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cathy0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly quaint!”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Highly recommend....especially after white water rafting. Wine is really good here. Bought 2 bottles on the spot of their rare foot stomped, "tender foot stomp" merlot. Will go back on next visit to salida and buena vista

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MKEJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“Great Winery!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This place looks a little unusual from the outside but it is definitely worth checking out. You are greeted at the door by the owner who is excited to offer wine tastings and very passionate when he describes his wines. He offered my boyfriend and I a tour of his winery and even gave a sample from the barrel. I will definitely be coming to visit again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Local Winery”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

At Salida's 7,000 feet elevation and climate, grapes just don't grow well, so the owner Steve Flynn buys his grapes from vineyards in the western slope of Colorado and California. He makes all his wines and bottles them on premise. Tastings and tours at this small winery are currently free. His white wines are unusual, complex and highly drinkable, while his several reds consistently have a rich, woody and highly refined character. There are wines for virtually all palates. Stop in sometime to meet the friendly owner and taste some of his great wines. You won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank WillyTColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vino Salida Wine Cellars also viewed

 

Been to Vino Salida Wine Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing