We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location!”
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 July 2012

My husband and I took my daughter and her boyfriend to Salida for a couple nights to relax and unwind. We had heard that the Palace was open so we made our reservations online and were excited to experience this historic hotel. We asked for a late check in and everything went smoothly when we arrived. We were in room 205 which is a two bedroom suite. It was clean, spacious and perfect for our needs except for one thing. I thought it was unusual to have a two bedroom suite that only had seating for three in the living area. It didn't stop us from enjoying the space or the closeness to the river, shops and restaurants. The continental breakfast was served in the main hallway and consisted of yogurt parfaits, muffins and various types of juice. Since each room has a fully stocked kitchen in it, coffee grounds were also provided to use in the coffee maker in each room. We enjoyed our stay here immensely and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 205 is a two bedroom suite with a dining table w/four chairs, seating for three and a full kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

My sisters from Ca. & Tx as well as 4 friends rented 3 rooms for my special birthday party at the nearby historic SteamPlant on the Arkansas Rivier. Each room was stunning. The renovation is so beautiful with each room having its own personality. The bed I had was sooooo comfortable. The special treat was the pastries, yogurt & granola in the am. Couse the best part is the location right by the river. I will stay again!!!

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayle_D_1233562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Thie renovation of The Palace is perfect! The owners thought of all the details from organic shampoos to recycle containers, luxury bedding and a wonderful continental breakfast. A definite high point of all our travels!

Room Tip: Overlooking the park was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our first stay in Salida and at the Palace Hotel. We loved it. The hotel was renovated and has been open for three months post-renovation. Our suite was tastefully decorated with antiques or antique look-alikes. It had a small sitting room, a kitchenette (with stove!), a small bathroom, and a bedroom with a walk-in closet. The bed was very comfortable. As I love small spaces, I thought this was great. The staff is very friendly. There are a lot of nice touches, like the yummy coffee in a jar with the hotel logo on it by the coffee maker, the TV hidden inside a china hutch/media cabinet (I don't like how the TV is the focal point in most hotel rooms!), the journal on the table where you can record your thoughts about your stay, the thoughtful breakfast offerings on the buffet in the hallway (yogurt parfaits, apples, baked goods, OJ, and milk), and the staff's efforts to be green. They don't use those little travel-sized toiletries. They do have full-sized shampoo and conditioner you can request, but if you are a lotion addict like I am, you'd better bring your own--they don't have any. A great place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights around the 4th of July and couldn't be happier with the choice.

The room we had 302 overlooked the park with floor to ceiling windows and European / western charm. Super comfy bed, sitting room, kitchen, walk in closet, 10' ceiling... Wow

You need to see it to understand.

The owner and staff were extrely nice and we wish we could have stayed longer but our next cycling trip to CO will be based around Salida and the Palace hotel. They have secure bike storage in te back of hotel normally due to the $ of our bikes we would not stay in a hotel that didn't allow them in the rooms but one look at the rooms and you'll understand why. Without sounding staged " This place is amazing "

I think their website is up as this is newly renovated so we had no idea what a gem this would turn out to be.

Thank you and see you again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bullawhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Awesome Hotel, and great people running it! The rooms have obviously been restored by people who took the time to do it right, all the way through. I'll stay here from now on, when I'm in Salida. No compaints at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeroyMFJenkins101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at the Palace on the 1st night of our honeymoon and returned at the end for another night b/c it was sooo beautiful. The owners ,Vickie and Fred's, attention to detail is amazing .We stayed in the Aurora Suite and it was stunning. The bedding was super luxurious and the yogurt parfaits were yummy. We cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mads412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#3 of 16 in Salida
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range: £91 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing