We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful restoration”
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“beautiful restoration”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed two nights on a pleasure trip to Salida in January. The hotel was nearly empty. the service was great. the breakfast and coffee was excellent. It was very quiet. the furnishings were beautiful. The overall restoration was excellent. The Victorian decor was wonderful, and the bath, bed, and kitchen were all modern and very clean. This is a unique place and worth a visit to Salida. The hotel is downtown, near restaurants, bars, and entertainment. Street parking is limited to two hours, but the hotel has parking spaces in a lot across the street.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the third floor with great views of the mountains. There isn't an eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenevaCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    41
    5
    8
    0
See reviews for
51
198
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Co. USA
Level Contributor
252 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Nicely done redo of one of the first buildings in downtown Salida. You're right across from Riverside Park, fifty feet from the Arkansas River, able to walk around downtown without getting in your car. You've got flat panel TV's, nice appointments to detail, and I haven't mentioned a world class artist in Josh Been's Gallery right their in the lobby.
This place is a sure thing, Enjoy, Salida1048

Room Tip: Being downtown is so worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salida1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed in room 202 with our dog, Moe, for a ski weekend at Monarch, Feb 2013. Hotel staff were accommodating from start to finish, charging only a $20 pet fee for our entire stay, offering discount lift tickets, arranging breakfast for us at our desired time, greeting us coming and going all wkd. Great downtown location a stone's throw away from the Fritz, Amica's, Boathouse. Resident artist, Joshua Beene makes the place extra special. Ken and Vicki have painstakingly renewed this 1909 hotel back to it's original luster. Beautifully refinished woodwork; original staircase. Gorgeous! Sailda should be elated to have such a treasure in it's community.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed here 2 nights in September 2012. Perfect location along the river and across from the park. The rooms were spectacular! Very clean, beautiful, wonderful linens. Pretty bathroom. Loved every minute here. First place my spouse has ever insisted on photographing upon entry - before I "missed" it up with me and my stuff. Hope we go back sometime soon - wouldn't even consider staying anyplace else in Salida!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeekingPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights on a post-holiday getaway with friends and were delighted by every aspect. The building was extensively and exquisitely redone. The first clue to the excellence of the work was the fine new plaster (as it turned out, executed by craftsmen from Santa Fe). The decor and furnishings were of the same caliber -- not hotel standard but high-end residential. The staff were especially friendly and helpful. The location in the old downtown was within walking distance of many good-to-great restaurants and watering holes. One of Colorado's most enjoyable historic hotels. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salidapalacehotel, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
It was great to have a group of friends arriving from different directions convene at The Palace. It is indeed gratifying to know you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This amazingly restored property was originally built in 1909. The details are impeccable. I have never seen a more well-done restoration. My room was spacious and the bed was incredibly soft. The sheets were amazing. Eucalyptus I believe. This is a small boutique property and the owners are hands on and extremely accommodating. If you plan on visiting this part of Colorado, this is a must stay. You have all the charm of an old classic property beautifully restored with all of the latest comforts and amenities.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, please ask for a detailed explanation of the room that would best suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salidapalacehotel, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We continue to refine our efforts to excede expectations and provide a personalized memorable experience for our guests. Nearby restaurants and bars, local entertainment and abundant recreational opportunity; skiing, hiking, fishing, biking, and hot springs to name a few all contribute to make a visit to the only historic hotel in old town Salida special. Thank you for staying with us.
Fred and Vicki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I had not planned where to stop. Left Colorado Springs in the afternoon, with the intention of driving until nightfall. It was already dark when I hit Salida, CO. I followed the sign pointing towards the "Historic town centre", not expecting much.

I asked the waitress in the restaurant if there were any "oldy worldy" hotels nearby and she pointed me to the Palace, two doors up the road.

It is a beautifully renovated 3 story hotel. The rooms are little suites with their own kitchens and lounge areas.

My only regret is that I couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing