We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location and An Outstanding Restored Hotel”
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We visited several late 1800's early 1900's hotels in Colorado during the past two weeks....our third floor suite at the Palace was outstanding and compares with other properties in Durango, Ouray, Glenwood Springs and even Aspen.......highly recommend it when you are in the area.....recently restored, very clean and comfortable.......and a super convenient location.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwb7552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed here on a whim on our first night in Salida with preteen and teen grandkids. We got a two bedroom suite on the third floor, and were charmed from the very first. We spent the first half-hour just exploring and admiring the attention to detail, the unique furniture, the careful melding of old and new -- clawfoot tub with excellent modern plumbing, sweet china dishes, ipod docks on the clocks, plush clean carpets, the softest bed linens I've felt since being in England, and the attention to all things green. When a nearly 16 year old boy says "I love this place," you know it's got lots going for it, because they have radar for "coolness" of all sorts. The beds were so comfortable we all actually rested deeply. We kept saying the place felt more like a home than a hotel. Staying here kicked off our trip in such a cozy, comfy way. Yes, it was pricey, but we camped along the river for free for the rest of the trip, so the Palace was our one splurge. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Room 305, double suite . . .This was great for a couple with kids. 2 bedrooms, kitchen, and living r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed here solely based on the reviews. I must say it didn't live up to our expectations. We checked in and a younger kid was working the counter and he wasn't very welcoming. He did however offer to carry our bags which considering there are no elevators that should be a give in.

Our room was ok. No toiletries, nothing extra. We get more amenities at the Holiday Inn. The "Continental Breakfast" was worthless. We got a muffin and small juice. Because we didn't know what was included we didn't have time to eat anything else which was much needed. The muffin was very tiny. There was no extra coffee on our floor so we had to keep going downstairs to get extra. The AC was too loud even on low. Our beds were very comfy and we did have a good night sleep.

We tried to love this hotel but is was more of a disappointment!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Workaholic90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salidapalacehotel, Owner at Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate comments, positive or negative, because there's "always room for improvement"
With night time temps in the lower 50's in the summer, we find most folks do not even run their AC at night, especially the suites on the NW side of the building as yours was. Nevertheless, we will see what can be done to make that unit quieter.
At check in guests fill out a "Complimentary Continental Breakfast" form which details the items the Palace offers and guests prefer, quantity and time of " room service" delivery . We take this extra step to provide exactly what our guests want and to avoid unnecessary waste.
Shampoo and conditioners are all natural and provided in large bottles made from 100% recycled materials. Our soaps are hand crafted in Colorado. Palace policy is to not use the little bottles of soaps, etc. typical of most hotels, as they generally are destined for the landfill. We do everything we can to provide an exceptional and memorable experience while treading as lightly as possible on the planet.
We offer locally roasted organic Honduran coffee which is fresh ground daily, and provide enough for twelve cups in each suite. Additional coffee is stocked on the buffet tables on each floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Lovely completely refurbished Victorian hotel in a charming town. Great location next to the Arkansas River. Tasty breakfast but would recommend the Dawn Cafe for coffee. Very clean. Fluffy bed and pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I'm so glad we stayed here even though we arrived late and left early on our way to Crested Butte. This hotel was WAY better than the best place I could find in CB. Room was beautiful, bed extremely comfortable w/ nice sheets, sparkling white towels, a kitchen, flat screen, mountain view, you name it. Tasty breakfast delivered to the door at the crack of dawn as requested. Key left for our late arrival just as promised. The hotel was very quiet, again, unlike where we stayed in CB.

I'll be recommending this to my friends coming through Salida later this year. The price was only about $30 more than the hotels we passed out on Hwy 50 that looked VERY basic.

Room Tip: Anyone who isn't elderly or injured shouldn't have a problem with the nice carpeted staircas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank litespeedchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Palace Hotel downtown Salida! We were happy they had a room left as we made reservations late! First time to stay here. Everything was sparkling clean. Comfortable bed. Very friendly staff. We had opted out of the continental breakfast, but changed our mind and I was even able to order breakfast at 10:30 the night before. Homemade muffins and yogurt parfait were excellent, along with fresh orange juice and half and half. The only thing we didn't know was where the coffee was and by that time my husband had walked to one of our favorite coffee spots downtown and brought coffee back to the room. Coffee is stored in pretty jars on the buffet down the hall!

Room Tip: First time to stay - lots of windows with views of the river and the mountains in the end unit on 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

One of the best places we have ever stayed. The small touches everywhere added up to a fabulous ambiance. It is obvious the love that was poured into this restoration. They maintained the building's history and yet allowed for modern conveniences. The rooms are immaculate and the beds, pillows and sheets all high quality and extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly and we loved the downtown location. Find shopping, dining, recreational tubing or fishing all at your feet. We will be back! A+

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#3 of 16 in Salida
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range: £90 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing