We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palace - Lovely spot”
Review of Palace Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Palace - Lovely spot”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Had a beautiful room overlooking the Arkansas river and park - room was perfectly restored and very comfortable. Loved the cute town - lots of galleries. Some great restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westiedogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    45
    7
    8
    0
See reviews for
54
225
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed for a night with my son, passing through. Its a really neat place. Nicely appointed, clean, comfortable. Its right in downtown close to all the restaurants, bars, river, etc. Definitely stay here if you can

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kdowell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Palace Hotel right downtown Salida was a pleasant and pleasurable experience. It was next and near everything so that we could walk everywhere . . . . dining, drinking, river, park, play hole, boating . . First concerned about noise within hotel and from outside, but that was not a problem at all. The hotel is beautifully detailed and (re)done with care and love. The delivery of the tasty continental breakfast is nice touch. Really liked our two bedroom, with living / dining room and kitchen.

Room Tip: As noted, liked having two separate bedrooms for our suite.
See more room tips
Green Features: They definitely care and are pro-active for the environment.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herf_Avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is full of history! It has been renovated and the rooms are terrific. Our room was a small suite. It was comfortable and clean. We had breakfast in our room and it was delicious!
You are in the heart of downtown historical Salida and can walk everywhere.
Loved staying here!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kivavala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

How can you abandon your spouse to fish the famous Arkansas River "Mothers Day" caddis fly hatch? Of course, you can't. But the two of you can have a night in a fabulous room overlooking the park only foot steps away from some great fishing in-town on the Arkansas River.
Fred, the hotelier, fishes 4 times a week if he can and will give you great advice on the entire river. But if you want to get out in the early morning by yourself, back for breakfast, out together in mid morning, back for a great lunch at the innumerable fine dining places in Salida, then out for the afternoon and evening hatch, you can do it all less than a block from your room. (No one comes all the way to Salida to fish in town. Ha. Their loss.)
Brenda and I had a ball. The wading is easy, the casting not too tough, the drifts easy, and the fish very actively feeding. This season (Spring 2014) they are large and healthy.
VIckie and Fred relocated to Salida from New Mexico, rescued this old hotel and converted it from an abandoned miners weekend blowout hotel of 33 rooms to a exceptional 21st Century boutique hotel with 12 (I think) huge rooms, kitchenettes, luxurious beds, tasteful furniture, exceptional WiFi, cable TV, and up-to-date flat screens. As a boutique hotel it depends on nearby (1/4 block or less) restaurants. The lack of an elevator in the three story hotel should not bother anyone who can fly fish for 3 hours by wading the Arkansas River.
The Palace Hotel in Salida absolutely solves the conundrum of merging spectacular fishing with fine lodging, dining and shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Park are great but we really didn't see the other rooms. Some may have mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loghouseJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

In a recent stay at the palace, I was hosted by wonderful owners Vickie and Fred who were both friendly and cordial. My room was immaculate and well appointed. There was a kitchenette, a living room and a very comfortable Queen size bed. As far as location goes, the hotel is perfectly located in town just steps to the river and wonderful restaurants. My son owns an art gallery just up the street so it was a pleasant walk to meet with him each morning. The town contains just about anything a tourista, like me, would need to be thoroughly entertained and spoiled. I would strongly encourage a single, family, or couple to consider the Palace, because that is exactly what it is.

Carl E. Ortman III

Room Tip: With a 15 room configuration, there is a room for everyone.
See more room tips
Green Features: I had a view of the river from my room and quiet enjoyment throughout my stay.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Just got back from a little overnight trip to Salida. My girlfriends and I stayed in one of the 2 bedroom suites. The beds and pillows are fabulous! Love the muffins and yogurt in the morning as well. We also loved that the hotel was within walking distance of all the great downtown shops and eateries. We had a wonderful trip!

Green Features: Organic local food and products are used, homemade muffins, local sheets, solar panels, restored building.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.0 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
16.4 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hotel

Property: Palace Hotel
Address: 204 N F St, Salida, CO 81201-2134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Historic Hotel Downtown Salida,The Palace Hotel is Salida, Colorado's, premier historic boutique hotel established in 1909. Uncompromised elegance and "Old West" charm create a bastion of comfort and class deep in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. Here, vintage chic meets the modern amenities, in 15 genuinely considered suites.Located in Historic Downtown Salida, Colorado alongside the banks of the Arkansas River, the newly renovated Palace Hotel offers boutique caliber lodging within footsteps of shopping, dining, biking and fly-fishing. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing