We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Rock Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Rock Ranch
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We arrived in Salida late afternoon. We were charmed by the room, which was beautifully decorated. The breakfast was delicious, and the hospitality was great!! We made a good choice by choosing the Beddin' Down Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Beddin' Down B and B in Salida Colorado for 2 nights, we live about 200 miles away in Estes Park, Colorado and needed to get away for a couple of days. The b and b is a log cabin/house with lot's of room and land. About a 6 mile drive to the center of Salida, Colorado on a beautiful road surounded with mountan views.
The room we stayed in was wonderful with windows on 2 sides and 1 facing the east for great sunrise views and a private bath with a nice shower / tub and double sinks. The home is very tastfully furnished with extremely nice furnishings, art and decorations, makes you feel like you are in the real west.

The inn Keepers were off for a couple of days and their son Brian also an Inn Keeper was our host for our stay. Brian is well educated and extremely helpful, couretous, a great cook and a writer and was able to give us direction to places to visit. Brian prepared our breakfast each day and the meal's were very tasty, he could qualify as a chef at any good restraunt.

The B and B dog Jesse a german short hair retriever female was very good and entertaining, we don't have a dog anymore so it was a real treat to have her around. The b and b also has 3 horses and boards horses for visitors staying with horses. There are a dozen or so chickens on the property that provide fresh eggs each day for breakfast, what a special treat.

There is plenty of outdoor seating and nice furniture on the front and rear decks, a new deck and hot tub is in the front with 360 degree views, make sure to check it out at sunset. The house sit's back several hundred yard's from the road so noise is minimal, at night you can hear your heart beat it is so quiet.

We highly recommend this b and b as it is, clean, reasonable, quiet, down home feel and staffed with nice people.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank omurchada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsville, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

We travelled Colorado & New Mexico on a week-long trip and our stay at Beddin Down was the highlight of our trip. Dan & Shirley made us feel "right at home"; the snacks and breakfast were excellent and the rooms were fabulous. We can't wait to return for another visit with them.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

We recently stayed at BDBB&HH with another couple. Patti and Lance are good folks. They share their kitchen and living room with their guests. The room my wife and I stayed in only had one window, so I was too hot. The other rooms could take advantage of cross ventilation. Rooms are wonderfully decorated in western themes. The views are addictive, along with the peacefulness of the location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aspenglade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2008

With a family of 6 (2 adults and 4 kids) it is very difficult to find a hotel to accomodate all of us. We usually wind up renting two hotel rooms and paying a ton of money. But renting the 'hideout' room was the best thing for our group! With 3 comfortable queen beds, and a set of bunkbeds, we had plenty of room. Plus there is a small dining table for haning out and playing games. The bathroom is large. The only thing I didn't like was no windows. But it made for great sleeping!

I even called Patti the morning we were leaving on our trip, because I was upset we were paying so much for two hotel rooms, and I happened upon her website as we were leaving for our trip- "NO problem" she said- "come on over!"

The owners are awesome, very easy to hang with, or do your own thing. Great breakfast, great conversation.
My hubby and I rented the Pueblo Sunrise room a few years back, and that is an awesome room as well.
We will definitly come back!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rado_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2008

We got married at Beddin Down in Sept 2006 and booked the whole B&B for our wedding party for the weekend. Carolyn and Jerry sold the inn to Lance and Patti a couple of months before our wedding and we were a little nervous about the transition. Lance and Patti held up their end of the bargain to make our stay and our wedding great. The food was awesome, they accomodated visting animals in their outdoor boarding facility and managed to fit about 20 adults and kids into the rooms, hideout and loft. This is a great place in a great town!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank CO-BnB-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

As has been mentioned several times, Patti and Lance are wonderful people and very accomadating hosts. I stayed here two nights with my wife and our two teenage nieces in the "Hideout" room.

It's virtually impossible to find a decent room that sleeps more than two at a B&B - but the "Hideout" is the exception. It can sleep 8 people (3 queens and 1 set bunk beds) and is spacious and comfortable. The only very-slight negative about this room is its lack of windows (due to being in the basement). In addition to a great room - breakfast was tasty and filling each morning. Plus the large community dining table is a fun experience.

As a side note, while staying here consider a rafting trip with Dvorak rafters. I did research on local companies and they have the best safety record + their staff is ultra freindly and fun (and a bit hippy-ish...dude!)

Overall, Beddin' Down is your best bet in Salida - we will be back!

  • Liked — Patti & Lance - two of the kindest B&B owners I've ever met
  • Disliked — no windows in the "Hideout" room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donnyshawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
3.9 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
4.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.9 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
3.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Rock Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Rock Ranch

Property: High Rock Ranch
Address: 10401 County Road 160, Salida, CO 81201-9536 (Formerly Beddin' Down Bed, Breakfast and Horse Hotel)
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing