We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of River Run Inn

River Run Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Run Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Salida B&B and Inns
Boulder
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Ran upon this former B&B by happenstance. What a beautiful spot!
Owners are very accomodating. It does not serve breakfast but provides a kitchen to
Prepare light meals. Well worth it to avoid the hotels in town. Less than 5 minutes to some interesting restaurants and shopping. Would definitely stay again!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Truvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The proprietor cannot be relied upon to honor a reservation. She very precipitously cancelled my reservation, even though we'd had several conversations and e-mails AND she had taken my credit card information for the deposit.

It definitely leaves one wondering how they manage the rest of their business.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mhollisRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Nestled between mountain, river and sky, this gem is off the beaten path and well worth the trip. A beautiful garden greets you upon arrival but it's the river that calls you to enjoy a little slice of heaven. Tranquil and serene, it reminds you of the childhood days when time was plentiful. The house itself is gorgeous, impeccably decorated and unblemished. It seems almost impossible that someone could take such good care of everything. From the furnishings, to the well-chosen and carefully placed trinkets that give each room a unique personality, there is an overall casual elegance to the place. I have never before stayed anywhere so clean. But it's not so formal that you can't get comfortable and make yourself at home. There's a great first floor lounge and late night treats include tea and cake. But it's the breakfast that really does it. We had stuffed peach creme cheese french toast on the first day and a mouthwatering breakfast egg casserole the second. The breakfast companions and conversation were equally pleasant. If you make Salida your sightseeing base, you can visit some lovely nearby towns, enjoy hot springs, go horseback riding, river rafting or sample a host of other mountain activities. There's plenty of adventure to be had in this part of Colorado, but you'll never find another place like the River Run Inn. It's like going back in time to grandma's and knowing that she'll spoil you as if you were a kid again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SapphireBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2008

We looked at River Run for our wedding and although we went with a more casual place for our ceremony, we booked the whole B&B for our folks and other family to stay in for the weekend of the wedding. Sally and Brad are kind and generous hosts who make a great breakfast, and our parents and aunts/uncles all loved the home and felt very welcome. We had a good number of Colorado first-time visitors who now think we live in one fo the most hospitable states in the union and have (mostly) stopped bugging us to move back to Minnesota! :)

  • Liked — Neat building, clean and comfy rooms, great breakfast
  • Disliked — It was hard a little to navigate for our uncle with a cane
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CO-BnB-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2006

This is a lovely spot, provided you can negotiate a rather steep stairwell to the second floor or are willing to accept the one room on the ground floor. I don't think we've ever stayed in such a well maintained place- everything is spotless and cushy- it's amazing to see how well they have restored and decorated what was once the county "poorhouse."

Each room has a unique decor centered around a river. We had the Blue River Room, with an immaculate walk in shower, although some rooms have a tub as well. The innkeepers are gracious and friendly and provide a snack of cookies and hot or cold beverage each evening. The breakfasts are sumptuous, with juice, a fruit cup, eggs, meat and an extra baked treat like french toast or homemade muffins. The coffee is delicious and served in giant mugs.

It is about three miles from downtown Salida and Sally and Brad keep lots of menus for area restaurants and advice about activities handy, but it is also tempting to curl up in their great room and read or watch tv or a dvd. They hooked us up with ArkAnglers for a great float/trout fishing trip- and we had luck there, as well as on our own in the small stretch of private water out back. I wish the view across the River were more inviting ( some sort of ore factory I think) , but it's very quiet. The views in the other directions are great and we encountered many deer at sunset. All in all we really enjoyed our first trip to Colorado and would enthusiastically recommend the River Run.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lulutoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
2.3 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
2.7 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mountain Goat Lodge
Mountain Goat Lodge
#1 of 6 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
3.2 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Inn

Property: River Run Inn
Address: 8495 County Road 160, Salida, CO 81201-9533
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing