We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small facility with all you need, normally. My husband is...”
Review of Browns Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Browns Canyon Inn
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Reviewed 20 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Browns Canyon Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

My family stayed here on a trip through the area & it was fine. We booked through the Days Inn website & had no issues. Check in was fast & friendly. Location was good, quiet even though we were on a main highway. Kids enjoyed the clean hot tub after our white water rafting trip. The free breakfast had alot of options, a definite added value to the already fair price. Room was very clean, beds comfortable. Days Inn's can be scary, but this one is a definite keeper!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripmonkey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mitchel E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A family member staying in another room had a problem with the shower in their room. The knob controlling the water in the shower was not working properly and you could not control the water temperature. When the owner was notified and had verified there was an issue, instead of a polite "I'm sorry for your inconvenience", they get "apparently, I have to teach 'Americans' how to use a shower". After the family member left, with everyone else having breakfast in the small lobby (including myself), the owner starts to belittle and bad mouth this person as if there was no legitimate complaint. Extremely unprofessional attitude.

Aside from this unfortunate event, the rooms were clean; The breakfast offering is extremely meager; The AC units are pretty old and loud; Location of this hotel (all all hotels along Hwy 50 in Salida) are terrible in relation to downtown Salida.

All in all, the value for the price is what you would expect. BUT BUYER BEWARE! The owner is unprofessional in how he deals with confrontation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snydly_Whiplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Don't stay in room 204 - the shower is not functional. When I was checking out I told the owner that my shower didn't work. He immediately gestured for me to shake his hand (and I didn't) I invited him up to show him the shower (he seemed so shocked when I said it wasn't working). He turned it on and then acted very surprised when he realized that the faucets were stripped. He offered to go get his screwdriver and I told him not to bother. (I was already dressed and ready to go). He had nothing else to say. My sister (who initially paid for both rooms that we had reserved) was checking out and I asked the owner if he was going to give us a discount. He looked at my sister and said "Americans don't know how to use showers." He was extremey rude. I will never stay here again. He could have apologized but chose to be extremely rude instead. He is cranky and clearly not liking his job.
As other people have written in these reviews, the free breakfast is an absolute joke. They do put out one waffle at a time and not much else. So cheap! Do yourself a favor and stay at the Comfort in up the street, it is quite nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 8080vaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was surprised at how nice this Days Inn was. It was decorated so cute with the lodge theme and the room was spotless and had been completely updated. We will definitely stay here again on our way thru Salida.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.8 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Canyon Inn

Address: 407 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2703 (Formerly Days Inn Salida)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range: £66 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Browns Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Canyon Inn is an independent hotel with beautiful unique rustic feel. Right in the center of beautiful Salida, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Browns Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salida Hotel Salida
Salida Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing