We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Rustically Decorated”
Review of Browns Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Browns Canyon Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Kansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Clean and Rustically Decorated”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This had to be one of the cleanest hotels I've ever staying in. The decor is very rustic and the walls in our room had hand painted roses on them. Sweet little patio by the hot tub that has a beautiful little garden. It is evident that the owner cares very much about his property and tries very hard to meet the needs of his guests. He even made homemade belgian waffles for all of us one morning. I would have given an excellent rating but I found the walls to be a little thin and the water temperature hard to regulate. Also, on a personal level, I found the bird in the lobby a little unsettling, but I'm terrified of birds, so that's my issue, not the hotels, but feel like it's worth mentioning for others out there like me. Overall a pleasant stay for a fair price.

Room Tip: The walls are a little thin, so a room upstairs might be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunflowergiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    101
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
123
111
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

At $120 a night, they should have reliable hot water. When I notified the desk that we had none, they said there were just a lot of people using it. A/C didn't work well either. Breakfast is poor. Towels very skimpy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Got a fabulous rate using Orbitz.com, the hotel is very clean the staff is incredibly friendly the location cannot be beat. Their continental and breakfast was a little sorry but you can overlook that.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2014

very nice, comfortable, interesting decor, friendly/helpful staff; bed was very beautiful and cushy (but I like firm so not as good of 'sleep quality' for me)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very well run, clean, economical.
Complimentary breakfast included hard boiled eggs, a nice touch of protein.
The singing canary in the lobby was fun.
The outside grounds are very nicely kept.
Was there in early May but they should be beautiful in the summer.

Room Tip: If you get one on the east end you're right by the garden hot tub and your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our room was extremely clean and nice, the beds were so comfy! The staff here is wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. We did not take advantage of the breakfast, although the coffee was excellent. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmrchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.8 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Canyon Inn

Property: Browns Canyon Inn
Address: 407 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2703 (Formerly Days Inn Salida)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Browns Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Canyon Inn is an independent hotel with beautiful unique rustic feel. Right in the center of beautiful Salida, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Browns Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salida Hotel Salida
Salida Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing