We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for what it is!”
Review of Browns Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Browns Canyon Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My girlfriend and I took a little post holiday getaway and we didn't want to spend a lot of money. After reading some reviews of some of the other places to stay, this Days Inn seemed to be what we wanted: the rate was $68 and allowed pets (extra $10.)

We were greeted by a nice little dog named Oscar who belongs to the owner. The service was nice and the owner was as friendly as his dog. He recommended Amicas for dinner and the Mt Princeton hot springs for entertainment as they were open late in this quiet little town.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank Sashasmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2008

on arrival we were instructed to park in the back and use the outside stairs- what a job to lug our "stuff" up those steep, outside stairs- didn't appear there was anyone else staying there, though there were a few vehicles outside the next morning-makes you nervous to think you might be the only ones there! decided it was easier to get in/out using the stairs from the lobby- breakfast was OK- the managers barely spoke to us- wondered if it was different people than the ones someone had described as friendly- the woman was on the phone when we checked in- the man was on the phone all during breakfast-both were speaking German which is OK- wish I'd remembered more of my German from college!
room was clean- because it's an older property there was a single sink outside the bathroom with no vanity area at all!
Plus side was price was good for what we got and there were pretty flowers near the entrance and by the outside hot tub- I was glad we were only there one night

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

After my research of the Buena Vista/Salida area, the Days Inn was our choice for two nights in early August. We were not disappointed. I had booked the hotel several months in advance through the Days Inn web site, and the rates were fantastic. This is not your typical Days Inn. It felt more like a Bed and Breakfast with caring and friendly owners (Mark and Anna). Mark was helpful with his knowledge of the area.

One can tell when walking into the lobby that there is an effort to make the customers happy. The lobby itself was welcoming with its wooden decor. The room was spotless and comfortable. The hotel was quiet at night that allowed for good sleeping. The complimentary internet was fast. The continental breakfast was efficient. The only thing lacking in our room was a refrigerator. No problem as we had a cooler with us. The hot tub area was nicely landscaped with flowers for a relaxing setting.

We picked Salida because it was a good location for rafting Brown's Canyon, St Elmo Ghost Town and Mt Princeton Hot Springs. There is also a neat waterfall (Agnes Vaille Falls) on the way to St Elmo that requires a half mile hike.

Not much seems to go on in Salida, very quiet town. We liked that there was a Wal-Mart down the road where we could load up on supplies/food for the rest of our trip. There are a few fast food restaurants close by (I noticed the Burger King next door and a Pizza Hut down the road).

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Room was clean, beds comfortable. We contacted the hotel directly and got an even better rate than on the internet. Very friendly people. Early check in was no problem. Lobby nicely decorated, breakfast with cereals. No 5 star hotel, but would most definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sonja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We too was skeptical about staying at a Days Inn, we travel often with our jobs and won't stay at Day's Inn normally, however, When I called to request a non-smoking/non pet room, I was told that we would be well pleased, and when we got to the motel, I ask to look at the room first, I was impressed. Everything was very clean, the staff and owners was very friendly and helpful to give us directions to places we wanted to go, and Mark & Anna (owners) reserved us a parking spot to park our bus. They also let us use the water spigot to wash the bus, I would stay there again in the future if my travels take me back to Colorado. The motel decor was very impressive, all the natural wood with the scenes on the walls.
Clark & Joyce

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scubietweety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2008

By excellent, I don't mean it was palatial but very clean, well run, maintained, friendly staff.
Best prices in town.
Plenty of places to eat within walking distance

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank breckandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Arrived on a Friday evening with another family. Stayed in rooms 207 and 212 (2-queen beds). Rooms were very clean and the owners, Mark and Anna, were very friendly. Very clean lobby. Nice quite property.
Continental breakfast was okay, but no more than we expected for the great AAA rate we received.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank bennetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.8 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#8 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Canyon Inn

Address: 407 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2703 (Formerly Days Inn Salida)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range: £68 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Browns Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Canyon Inn is an independent hotel with beautiful unique rustic feel. Right in the center of beautiful Salida, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Browns Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salida Hotel Salida
Salida Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing