We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only non smoking hotel in town”
Review of Browns Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Browns Canyon Inn
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is an ok spot. Its not exceptional, but it is comfortable and clean. What sets it apart in Salida is that it is the only non-smoking hotel in town! If that matters to you, make a statement. Vote with your wallet. By the way, if you stay here, be sure to drive thru historic Salida. It's charming.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed here recently and had an excellent experience overall. The staff were welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. The room was spotless and inviting. The continental breakfast was held in the lobby which is a treat to see as the decor is very creative and the food was fine. We normally do not seek out a Days Inn but based on reviews we read on the Trip Advisor website, we decided to reserve there. We were not disappointed. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweed27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

When we went ot check in, the owner, Mark could not find our reservation. I provided him with a confirmation #. He then told us our reservavation was for 6/9 which was the day I called to MAKE a reservation for 7/25. He insisted it was my error. Obvioulsy the gal who I spoke with via phone to make the reservation did not change the date...these things happen. The owner told me they had no rooms so too bad. It would have been nice to have an apology or an offer to help find another room for the night. He raised his voice contiuously insisting our reservation had been for 6 weeks prior. I told him I would be contacting the corporate offices to let them know how poorly the situation had been handled and as I was walking out the door he said," I never want to see your face again!"
Incredible! Needless to say, he doesn't need to woory about that! I cannot speak to the hotel itself as we obviously did not stay there, but the rudeness from the front desk was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank scwebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed here one night before going rafting on the Arkansas River. More hotel choices and better pricing staying in Salida verses Buena Vista. Excellent shower. Linens and pillows on par with any Four Season I've ever stayed at. Owner's a bit of a character but quite affable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perfectswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

We just returned from a motorcycle tour of colorado. We picked this hotel because of the price and were pleasantly suprised when we arrived. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were updated and spotless, and the grounds were beautifully landscaped. For dinner we sat out back and enjoyed pizza under the pergola. Overall this hotel felt like you were staying with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 04HOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We chose to stay at this Days Inn based on previous reviews. One of the best Day's Inn we have ever stayed in. The owners are a very friendly European couple, and they keep this propery in excellent condition and very clean. There is no pool, but not a problem...there is a fantastic hot spring fed aquatic center nearby. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddhacat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

The owner was friendly and obviously proud of his motel. Overall, the room was fine and the bed was comfortable. My only complaint is that there were no cups in the room; which I found odd. You could get some in the lobby, though.
Also, the hot tub looked nice but was right in the parking lot and not far from the highway. It would be more appealing if it were behind the property and more away from the parking area. I didn't partake in the breakfast so I have no comment on it.
Overall, I was satisfied with my stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.8 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Canyon Inn

Address: 407 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2703 (Formerly Days Inn Salida)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range: £67 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Browns Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Canyon Inn is an independent hotel with beautiful unique rustic feel. Right in the center of beautiful Salida, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Browns Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salida Hotel Salida
Salida Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing