We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word ......... "RUDE"”
Review of Browns Canyon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Browns Canyon Inn
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Salida
kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one word ......... "RUDE"”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Arrived approximately 5:30 to check-in. I had reserved the room prior to arrival using trip rewards points. I was informed there would be an additional $10 charge plus tax and fees (approx. $12) because we had one more person in our party than the room had been booked for. (OK. no problem.) so i paid the $12 or so and went back outside to park my pickup and atv trailer. Since we were going to be leaving in 15 minutes to eat, I parallel parked in the front using 3 of the east stalls. (there were no cars parked in front of the motel at this time). Before I could get out of my truck, one of the owners (think his name is Mark), came walking out the front door, shaking his head with both his hands up in the air. I thought this was tremendously rude. I asked him if there was something wrong, he instructed me in a rather harsh manner that I needed to park in the back. (OK. no problem. all you have to do is ask. no need to get irrate about it) So, he walked through the motel to the back of the property as I pulled around to park in the back. Once around back, I did not see him initially, as he was standing behind a fenced in area (guessing it contained a trash dumpster or something). By the time I spotted him, I was maybe 20 feet past him. He shook his head at me and threw both his hands up in the air AGAIN. I went ahead and backed into the space he wanted me to park in. There were no other cars in the back parking lot. I'm not sure why he was so angry. After parking, he asked if we were going to unhook the trailer for the night? I responed that I was going to leave it locked onto the hitch of my pickup, so that it couldn't be stolen as easily, because we had 2 expensive 4 wheelers on the trailer. He acted half mad about that too. Overall, I'm not sure what his problem was. Maybe he had a bad day, or maybe he is just a grumpy guy. Either way, I don't think it is appropriate to take it out on customers or berate anyone, just because you don't like where they park, etc......not to mention it is poor business practice. If I had not reserved the room using triprewards points (i.e. non-refundable & non-cancelable), I would have handed my key back to them and instructed them not to charge my card, and proceeded to drive to another motel that would appreciate my business. I definetly would NOT recommend staying at this motel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank strawboss760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    102
    43
    16
    14
See reviews for
124
111
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

On a cross country trip. Stayed for 1 night wish it could have been longer. I've stayed at Days Inn before and was a little concerned. They are usually a bit basic to shabby. Wow what a pleasant surprise. Arriving late we were greeted by one of the owners Anna who checked us in fast and got us to our room right away. Okay so the room was a little small but very nice . Not your standard hotel room . There were murals and faux finishes done by the owners and it was nicely appointed. Quietest room ever in a motel that turned out to be packed with guests. Nice toiletries and good linens. Had free but typical breakfast in cutely decorated lobby and nice chat with other owner Bill? don't remember his name. The grounds were nicely landscaped with lots of plants and statues and there was a hot tub in back in a nice private area. The Days Inn people should send the owners of other motels here to see how to do it right.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highwaybound40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münster
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We recently stayed in this beautiful, family-owned Days Inn in Salida, Co.
Due to the low price and the numerous awards, this hotel seemed to be very attractive. However, our expectations were significantly exceeded:
~ the rooms were recently updated and are immaculately clean,
~ there are very comfortable beds,
~ and the outdoor facility is in very good condition.

To sum it up: we had a great night in this lovely hotel for an unbeatable price.

P.s.: Try Quincy's -- the steaks are really delicious!
Greetings to Mark & the German Dog 'Oscar'

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US-worldtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is an ok spot. Its not exceptional, but it is comfortable and clean. What sets it apart in Salida is that it is the only non-smoking hotel in town! If that matters to you, make a statement. Vote with your wallet. By the way, if you stay here, be sure to drive thru historic Salida. It's charming.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlottesville, va.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed here recently and had an excellent experience overall. The staff were welcoming and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable. The room was spotless and inviting. The continental breakfast was held in the lobby which is a treat to see as the decor is very creative and the food was fine. We normally do not seek out a Days Inn but based on reviews we read on the Trip Advisor website, we decided to reserve there. We were not disappointed. We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweed27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2009

When we went ot check in, the owner, Mark could not find our reservation. I provided him with a confirmation #. He then told us our reservavation was for 6/9 which was the day I called to MAKE a reservation for 7/25. He insisted it was my error. Obvioulsy the gal who I spoke with via phone to make the reservation did not change the date...these things happen. The owner told me they had no rooms so too bad. It would have been nice to have an apology or an offer to help find another room for the night. He raised his voice contiuously insisting our reservation had been for 6 weeks prior. I told him I would be contacting the corporate offices to let them know how poorly the situation had been handled and as I was walking out the door he said," I never want to see your face again!"
Incredible! Needless to say, he doesn't need to woory about that! I cannot speak to the hotel itself as we obviously did not stay there, but the rudeness from the front desk was unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scwebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Stayed here one night before going rafting on the Arkansas River. More hotel choices and better pricing staying in Salida verses Buena Vista. Excellent shower. Linens and pillows on par with any Four Season I've ever stayed at. Owner's a bit of a character but quite affable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perfectswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.8 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
198 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
0.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Canyon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Canyon Inn

Property: Browns Canyon Inn
Address: 407 E Rainbow Blvd, Salida, CO 81201-2703 (Formerly Days Inn Salida)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Browns Canyon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Browns Canyon Inn is an independent hotel with beautiful unique rustic feel. Right in the center of beautiful Salida, CO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Browns Canyon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Salida Hotel Salida
Salida Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing