We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable and convenient”
Review of Woodland Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Cozy, comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife and I wanted to take a road trip with our two dogs during the end of the year holiday break. Wanting to avoid the highways, we chose Salida because it is located the perfect distance from Denver for a casual drive and an overnight stay. We also wanted to avoid the national chain hotels, and other local hotels indicated that pets were "OK". But when we saw that pets were "Welcome" at the Woodland Motel, we knew we had found our place. The service was very friendly and the room was large and accommodating. The water pressure and quality was great, too. We look forward to coming back to experience what Salida has to offer in the late Spring, and when we do, we will be booking at the Woodland Motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    57
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
75
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The staff was extremely friendly and wanted to cater to my every need. They were concientious of my budget. They offered my dogs a dog bed and dog bowls. They offered to walk my dogs if I left them in the room. They gave me a fridge, a bowl and spoon for my cereal and milk. They were quick to answer phone and be at desk for all my questions. Made me feel at home. The room was very very clean. Very nice flat screen new tv. Coffee in room. Nice hot tub. Very close to town.
Will defintely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Not the easiest place to find after a days motoring through Colorado. Although I had the address it was more by luck than judgement that we happened to drive along the relevant side road leading to the Woodland Motel. Liked the look of this cheerful somewhat chalet like wooden building complete with flower boxes along the terrace. We were made very welcome by the lady receptionist who showed us to our room, priced at the bottom end of the scale. A small but cosy double bed room at one end of the upper level. We liked it, quiet location and we slept well. It is close to the shopping centre and places to eat, however we found Salida itself quite disappointing. Despite its 'historic tag, we thought as a town it was all little uninteresting though there are places to visit in the surrounding area. To me the Woodland Motel represents good value if you are in the vicinity.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rnrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This motel is a great value for the price-conscious traveller. We had a very clean, comfortable room at half the price you would expect. The location is great: it is close to downtown Salida. I love that they offer a nice recycling center for guests & have free wi-fi. We actually prefer their practice of offering a lower price & foregoing a breakfast service: the rate is so reasonable that we can still easily afford a very nice breakfast at a restaurant the next morning. We would much rather do this than pay extra for a mediocre breakfast in a hotel lobby. We highly recommend this motel!

Room Tip: We like to stay on the 2nd floor. There are rooms close to the highway that you might want to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

I usually stay in the big chain hotels when I travel, but since I had never stayed in Salida before, I chose to stay at the Woodland Motel based upon their website and other reviews. It was most delightful! It was very clean and comfortable. It was located in an area close to downtown and near the Arkansas River. This motel is more personal than the big chains. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Look on their website where you can see each and every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JLGerardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We'd driven by Woodland several times in the past and ended up staying at a motel on "the strip". Nevermore! Friendly helpful staff, immaculate room, comfortable beds, well-stocked kitchenette and equally immaculate hot tub. Quiet neighborhood, close to the river, close to the real Salida and far away from "the strip". We'll definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desertpigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We found this motel on the internet and when I rang to reserve a room the lady I spoke to was very helpful. However we didn't really know what to expect but the condo we had was extremely clean and the kitchette was well equipped. The beds were comfy and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennilewes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.3 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
357 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
201 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#5 of 16 in Salida
237 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#3 of 16 in Salida
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Motel

Property: Woodland Motel
Address: 903 W 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-1664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salida
#3 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodland Motel in Salida, Colorado is the Only Motel in Salida that is Off Highway 50, the main truck route through town, and within Walking Distance of the Historical, Recreational, Culinary and Artistic Heart of Salida plus Trout Fishing in the Arkansas River. The Woodland Motel has been AAA Approved Two Diamonds for over 25 years without ever a single complaint. It was voted the Best Motel in 2010 and 2012 by the Best of Salida, received the Best Commercial Christmas Lighting Award for 2010 from the Mountain Mail and also received a Commercial Landscaping Award from the Salida Chamber of Commerce. The Woodland Motel has 18 Units including Singles, Doubles, Efficiencies and 1-2 bedroom Condos. All the Units have new 32" Flat Screen TVs. Nine have Full Kitchens with full-size appliances, kitchen table, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, all the cooking utensils and pots and pans you might need, everything right down to the salt and pepper. Three other Units have refrigerators and microwaves. Five of the Units have Living Rooms with a sofa-trundle bed that turns into two regular twin-size beds. All the rooms have Free Wi-Fi in addition to Hard Wired Hi-Speed Cable. The rooms have new capped bedspreads, pillow shams and matching valences. Walls have framed photographs depicting local scenes. There is an Outdoor Spa with jets that go up and down your back and a Gas Barbeque Grill. In every Unit there is a Guest Guide that the Staff has compiled that describes everything to do within two hours of Salida. It also lists all the retail stores and restaurants with their hours and specialties. The Staff is happy to recommend things to do and places to eat depending on the guests' interests. They are also ready and willing to help with other needs such as medical, mechanical and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Hotel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing