We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness and cleanliness”
Review of Woodland Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Motel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliness and cleanliness”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

While my husband worked the Colorado Trail as a volunteer, I stayed at the Woodland Motel in Salida, CO for 8 nights/days. I was most pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness of not only the room which was great but also the grounds of the establishment were always kept in immaculate condition...the parking lot, patio areas, hot tub area, sidewalks. The motel is adorned with multiple flower containers which were attended to daily. The personnel were quite helpful and extremely involved in making my stay as comfortable as possible. My room had a mini-fridge, however, there are rooms available with complete kitchens. Washer and dryer are also available for one's usage. The motel is located about seven walking blocks from downtown and was extremely quiet at night. Yes, I will stay here again if we are ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdm0929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    55
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
74
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were part of a wedding party staying at the motel. I liked the location - easy walking distance to downtown. We got a kitchenette suite and it was nice and roomy. The bathroom was tiny, but spotless, as was everything else in the room. Word of warning though, another member of our party found bedbugs in their room. The staff was very gracious, immediately whipping into action to check ALL the rooms and they did issue a refund for that night and washed everything for them.

I did think the rooms were a bit overpriced for what you got, but I won't complain about the stellar service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rdobbins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sborbas, Owner at Woodland Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We have been in business for almost 35 years and have always prided ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms. One of our previous guests did bring some bedbugs into one of our rooms. We immediately did what was recommended: We washed all the bedding in very hot water. We thoroughly shop-vaced the whole room, every crack & crevice and disposed of the bag. We steamed all the baseboards, furniture, mattress, bed pedestal, head board, everywhere! We steam cleaned the carpet and mattress twice with our carpet cleaner that heats the water to 200 degrees. Then we had Canon Pest Control come, spray and inspect the room. This happened one month ago and we have inspected that room and others continuously ever since and have found no signs of bugs. Bedbug presence has nothing to do with cleanliness of an establishment but are easily transported in suitcases from place to place. They are an increasing problem nationwide and overseas. We will continue to always check all our room as this can occur overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend, and couldn't be more thrilled with the hotel and service! We came over to Salida to enjoy some boating on the Ark, and we were looking for an affordable place to stay with our two dogs. This is the place. It's an easy walk to downtown, it's so pet friendly (no pet fee - and for anyone who travels with dogs - you know how awesome this is!), it's clean, and everyone is friendly.

Anyone who thinks this hotel is overpriced obviously hasn't traveled (anywhere worthwhile) in the past ten years. If you're looking to go out and enjoy Salida and surrounding (gorgeous!) area and not break the bank, then I highly suggest this motel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Level Contributor
227 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Nice local place just blocks from downtown, easy walking. Clean and comfortable, although small. Hit tub was nice, but AC/heat system was antiquated and wasn't that comfortable. Price was good and they offer military rate, would stay again because I do like the small personal motels.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleKman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We spent one night in Salida on a roadtrip, and if not spending much time on the property I like to do a cheap, not-chain motel. The Woodland Motel had good reviews for being cute and clean, and that it was.

However, I'm appalled that it cost $106. The TINY room was the true definition of bare-bones. Queen bed, folding chair, dresser. The bathroom was so small that my boyfriend and I couldn't brush our teeth at the same time. The lone "toiletry" was a dispenser of industrial grade soap attached to the wall like at a gym. The towels appeared to be from a yard sale or whatever the owners had extra in their linen closet.

All this would have been fine if we paid $60, which is the standard rate for similar mom & pops in Colorado, even in tourist towns. You can't charge more than the Hampton Inn and deliver the above amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pool_Afficianado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I booked this because of the Tripadvisor reviews. It was pet friendly which was a plus and the owners love dogs and supply dog bowls, beds and treats. Otherwise it's your basic motel. The downtown area of Salida is super cute with lots of little boutiques and it would have been fun to stay within walking distance of that area. When I checked in, I was super tired after driving and I found a long hair on my pillow. I decided not to let it bother me but of course it wasn't pleasant. Otherwise the place seemed clean. A perk is that it's across the street from the Arkansas River and you can walk your dog along the river which is nice. Great views of the Rockies from Salida! Overall a decent pet-friendly motel. Not super impressed because I have found better deals in my travels and/or hotels with more character.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
215 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

A group of us met up in Salida to do some hiking - we had 4 rooms. We didn't want to stay in "tourist central" (i.e. Hwy 50).

Good: Easy access off Hwy 291. Quick drive / easy walk to downtown restaurants and shops. Not a soulless chain - had some quirky charm. Price is definitely right. Quiet (no real highway noise and couldn't hear the neighbors). Everything was clean. Check-in was easy and the staff were pleasant and helpful (including while making reservation, e-mailing confirmation, checking in, and making a dinner recommendation). The bed was comfortable (the mattress was firm - if you like super-soft, this may not work for you). Towels were soft and fluffy.

Not a factor: The room is kinda small, but there was plenty of room - bed, dresser, table. Unless you're planning to spend lots of time in the room (and why would you do that in Salida?), shouldn't be a problem at all.

So so: 3 "decorative" pillows, but only 2 small sleeping pillows - management might want to rethink that one (really don't understand the purpose of all of those extra, unusable pillows). 4 of us checked in at once (4 rooms) - everything was good until later that night we realized we hadn't gotten the WiFi code (and the office had closed). They provide bars of soap but no shampoo - although there is a liquid body cleanser dispenser in the shower - don't think it was shampoo - and took 4 or 5 doses to clean not-all-that-long hair.

Bad: After showering the shower head dripped. And dripped. And dripped some more. Jiggling the old-school shower faucet didn't help. Turning the shower head didn't help. Finally just tossed the bath mat in the shower so we couldn't hear the dripping. The bathroom is TINY (and the door opens into the bathroom). Seriously, this thing was maybe 3' x 8'. Really, there wasn't even enough room to towel-dry your back.

Summary: Can't give it an "Excellent" rating, but can definitely recommend that you stay here. Salida has a lot of charm and quirkiness - avoid the sterile chains!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
197 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Motel

Property: Woodland Motel
Address: 903 W 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-1664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salida
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salida
#3 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodland Motel in Salida, Colorado is the Only Motel in Salida that is Off Highway 50, the main truck route through town, and within Walking Distance of the Historical, Recreational, Culinary and Artistic Heart of Salida plus Trout Fishing in the Arkansas River. The Woodland Motel has been AAA Approved Two Diamonds for over 25 years without ever a single complaint. It was voted the Best Motel in 2010 and 2012 by the Best of Salida, received the Best Commercial Christmas Lighting Award for 2010 from the Mountain Mail and also received a Commercial Landscaping Award from the Salida Chamber of Commerce. The Woodland Motel has 18 Units including Singles, Doubles, Efficiencies and 1-2 bedroom Condos. All the Units have new 32" Flat Screen TVs. Nine have Full Kitchens with full-size appliances, kitchen table, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, all the cooking utensils and pots and pans you might need, everything right down to the salt and pepper. Three other Units have refrigerators and microwaves. Five of the Units have Living Rooms with a sofa-trundle bed that turns into two regular twin-size beds. All the rooms have Free Wi-Fi in addition to Hard Wired Hi-Speed Cable. The rooms have new capped bedspreads, pillow shams and matching valences. Walls have framed photographs depicting local scenes. There is an Outdoor Spa with jets that go up and down your back and a Gas Barbeque Grill. In every Unit there is a Guest Guide that the Staff has compiled that describes everything to do within two hours of Salida. It also lists all the retail stores and restaurants with their hours and specialties. The Staff is happy to recommend things to do and places to eat depending on the guests' interests. They are also ready and willing to help with other needs such as medical, mechanical and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Hotel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing