We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Woodland Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 7 August 2008

We stayed at the Woodland for two nights. They have a variety of toom types, which you can see on their web site, at very reasonable prices.

We stayed in a unit with 2 double beds, ample storage space and a full kitchen, which was very well equiped.

The room was cool when we arrived, and we set the airconditioner to 75 degrees before we went to sleep. (I like it warmish.). We woke during the night to find that the room temperature was down to 60! We raised the thermostat to 80, but it didn't help , so we turned it off completely. When we awoke in the morning (covered with the extra blankets provided), the room temperature was 58, We went over to the office to tell the manager about the problem, and he said that he could fix it from there -- which he did.

The motel is on the outskirts of town on a quiet street. The room was quiet and clean, and the staff was extremely helpful.

  • Liked — Kitchen
  • Disliked — Airconditioning problem
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coffeemavenswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    55
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
73
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed at the Woodland Motel after spending a few nights camping in the mountains. So we really appreciated having a clean room. The shower was awesome - great water pressure and the beds were very comfortable. The AC was weird though. We had trouble cooling off our room and the instructions to do so were confusing and didn't seem to work very well. It was nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room.

The neighborhood in which it is set is a little creepy. It's surrounded by dirty old trailers and "homes" that look condemnend although it was obvious that people lived in them. Though the residents of Salida seem nice enough, this part of town was still a little grimy for me.

The owner was very pleasant and has a gift for gardening. The water feature and plants were lovely. Overall a nice place to stay but expensive for our taste at $95 a night.

Tex & family

  • Liked — Cleanliness/fridge/microwave/great shower/ pretty garden
  • Disliked — Location/price/air
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mcqueen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinth, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2008

We stay here every time we go to Salida . We have German Shepherds and always travel with 2 of our dogs. It is very hard to find hotels that are accommodating and to be as accommodating as the Woodlands is very rare. The Woodlands is VERY pet friendly. There is a nice place to walk behind the ball fields and a nice walk to down town. The neighbor needs a little help but the people are friendly. My family has been stayed at this hotel once a year for 10 years. The rooms have everything a person needs for a comfortable stay. We normal stay a week and get a room with a kitchen. Very reasonable priced. Management is always very accommodating. If you are going to Salida and you are traveling with you K-9 family member this is the place to stay.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank StargazerGSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Salida has the typical chain motels on one side of town, and then on the other side of town is the Woodland. It is locally owned and operated and we were greeted like friends. The room was quiet and fully equipped ~ and to start the day in the hot tub looking at the snow capped mountains was perfect.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2007

My wife and I stayed here while traveling to Denver. We took a two-room suite upstairs that was nice. The reports of this hotel being very pet-friendly are accurate; the man who checked us in seemed to be a real dog lover. If we ever have to stay in Salida again, this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mlpnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2007

The Woodland Motel is fantastic! It's inexpensive; the owner was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful; and it's very pet friendly (our dog was given a bed, food and water bowls, and treats). This is a great place for the budget traveler.

  • Liked — the friendly service and great value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RigbyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2007

I go up to Salida once or twice a year. After staying in several other motels there, I settled upon this one, and have stayed here 5 times by now. It's clean, quiet, and beautifully maintained. The location is convenient to downtown Salida (you can walk if you're energetic), and it's right off a spur highway that provides a shortcut to Buena Vista and points north. The people are friendly and accommodating, and they keep a close eye on things, which, as a woman traveling alone, I greatly appreciate. In its price range, I feel that this is far and away the best deal in town. My only criticism is that some of the parking spaces are tricky to get in and out of -- but the motel is tucked into a tight corner lot, and they've done their best with the space they have. (If the lot doesn't work for you, you can always park on the side street.)

Helpful?
3 Thank PLozar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Motel

Property: Woodland Motel
Address: 903 W 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-1664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salida
#3 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodland Motel in Salida, Colorado is the Only Motel in Salida that is Off Highway 50, the main truck route through town, and within Walking Distance of the Historical, Recreational, Culinary and Artistic Heart of Salida plus Trout Fishing in the Arkansas River. The Woodland Motel has been AAA Approved Two Diamonds for over 25 years without ever a single complaint. It was voted the Best Motel in 2010 and 2012 by the Best of Salida, received the Best Commercial Christmas Lighting Award for 2010 from the Mountain Mail and also received a Commercial Landscaping Award from the Salida Chamber of Commerce. The Woodland Motel has 18 Units including Singles, Doubles, Efficiencies and 1-2 bedroom Condos. All the Units have new 32" Flat Screen TVs. Nine have Full Kitchens with full-size appliances, kitchen table, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, all the cooking utensils and pots and pans you might need, everything right down to the salt and pepper. Three other Units have refrigerators and microwaves. Five of the Units have Living Rooms with a sofa-trundle bed that turns into two regular twin-size beds. All the rooms have Free Wi-Fi in addition to Hard Wired Hi-Speed Cable. The rooms have new capped bedspreads, pillow shams and matching valences. Walls have framed photographs depicting local scenes. There is an Outdoor Spa with jets that go up and down your back and a Gas Barbeque Grill. In every Unit there is a Guest Guide that the Staff has compiled that describes everything to do within two hours of Salida. It also lists all the retail stores and restaurants with their hours and specialties. The Staff is happy to recommend things to do and places to eat depending on the guests' interests. They are also ready and willing to help with other needs such as medical, mechanical and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Hotel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing