We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Woodland Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodland Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

Our family stayed in the suite (#28). It was very accommodating for me, my husband and our two older teenagers. We enjoyed the convenience of the full kitchen. Management was very nice, and we were very comfortable. We would stay there again. Great bang for your buck!

  • Liked — Our family was able to stay together--and the full kitchen.
  • Disliked — The outdated beds/bedding
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mckval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    55
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
38
73
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

We attend a conference in Salida every year and this is the place we all try to book our rooms. The management is friendly, the rooms are clean, and they try to accommodate requests whenever possible. The rooms with the kitchens have full stoves and refrigerators, not just a hotplate or mini-fridge. Because they are pet friendly, you might be concerned about cleanliness but even though I have a lot of allergies, not once did I have a problem with the rooms. They do not have a pool but they do offer discount coupons for the hotsprings pool in town. They do have a nice hottub for relaxing though.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spacewombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

When my car broke down in Salida and needed to be repaired overnight the hotel gave me a "stranded traveller" discount. Had dog bowls and bed for my doggy. 2 blocks from the Arkansas River, 6 blocks from Bongo Billy's great food and coffee, and from downtown Salida and the nice park and river walk. Rooms are ok. Clean and basic. Some have kitchens. Locally owned. Great price since they are not on the hotel highway strip. I'd stay again.

  • Liked — Location, pet friendly, price
  • Disliked — close to road
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-Traveling-Dames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2006

I stayed in in this hotel to my deepest regrets. It looked decent from the outside but thats about it. The owner was short with me regarding questions. After I had rented a room, the water heater began to malfunction and made a very very loud hissing sound during my entire stay. I called the owner/manager and I had to ask twice and stearnly for him to solve the problem. Needless to say, the problem never got solved, I couldnt sleep at all, and they refused to even discount my stay. Moreover, the hotel resides directly next to a bad neighborhood where the residents throw thier beer cans and other items. Its not a safe walk to downtown at night either. YOur much better off going to the main strip of hotels for service, price and safety.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2005

I stayed at the Woodland in late May, 2005 for 2 nights with my better half. This is a small independent hotel that is off the beaten path. We had stayed here before, and liked it very much. Some rooms have kitchens, some don't, so you have a lot of flexibility. The hotel was very clean and will maintained. The only gripe I have is the cramped bathrooms, especially the showers. They are pre-fab shower stalls, so don't drop the soap or you will have difficulty retreiving it. The hotel is EXTREMELY pet friendly, if this is important to you. There is no restaurant or complementary breakfast, and there is no restaurant that is within walking distance. However, it is very convenient to downtown where there are many good eating establishments. You are also fairly close to the Safeway if you prefer to go that way. The owner and his wife will most likely check you in. They have a large rag doll cat that roams the premises and is very friendly. We haven't stayed anywhere else in Salida, but we were very satisfied with the Woodland Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docdiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2004

We stayed at the Woodland Motel in August 2004 and found it to be the MOST pet-friendly motel ever. They have a jar of doggie biscuits on the check-in counter and provide clean dog beds upon arrival. The price was very reasonable (esp for Colorado) and the management is impeccable. Large, clean, thougtfully appointed room (we took the suite, #28, which is enormous). I'm afraid most travellers through Salida won't find this place, as it's on old Route 291 (?) through town, not on Hwy 50, the larger thoroughfare. FIND IT!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.5 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
1.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Motel

Property: Woodland Motel
Address: 903 W 1st St, Salida, CO 81201-1664
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Salida
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salida
#3 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Woodland Motel in Salida, Colorado is the Only Motel in Salida that is Off Highway 50, the main truck route through town, and within Walking Distance of the Historical, Recreational, Culinary and Artistic Heart of Salida plus Trout Fishing in the Arkansas River. The Woodland Motel has been AAA Approved Two Diamonds for over 25 years without ever a single complaint. It was voted the Best Motel in 2010 and 2012 by the Best of Salida, received the Best Commercial Christmas Lighting Award for 2010 from the Mountain Mail and also received a Commercial Landscaping Award from the Salida Chamber of Commerce. The Woodland Motel has 18 Units including Singles, Doubles, Efficiencies and 1-2 bedroom Condos. All the Units have new 32" Flat Screen TVs. Nine have Full Kitchens with full-size appliances, kitchen table, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, all the cooking utensils and pots and pans you might need, everything right down to the salt and pepper. Three other Units have refrigerators and microwaves. Five of the Units have Living Rooms with a sofa-trundle bed that turns into two regular twin-size beds. All the rooms have Free Wi-Fi in addition to Hard Wired Hi-Speed Cable. The rooms have new capped bedspreads, pillow shams and matching valences. Walls have framed photographs depicting local scenes. There is an Outdoor Spa with jets that go up and down your back and a Gas Barbeque Grill. In every Unit there is a Guest Guide that the Staff has compiled that describes everything to do within two hours of Salida. It also lists all the retail stores and restaurants with their hours and specialties. The Staff is happy to recommend things to do and places to eat depending on the guests' interests. They are also ready and willing to help with other needs such as medical, mechanical and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Hotel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing