We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Many Impovements” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salida Inn & Monarch Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
“So Many Impovements”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel has made so many changes. They are constantly upgrading to make it a better experience every time. We stayed her last year when the new owner had just purchased it. Stayed here again over the weeked......what a difference a year makes. So many upgrades. The staff is extremely helpful, always willing to do whatever they can to make what ever issue you have right. Thanks Mike, for another great stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Suzi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Suzi,

Thanx for pointing all of that information out. It makes us feel good when our guests (strike that), when our new friends notice how hard we are working. We are not as far along in our improvements as we would like to be though because I made the hotel available to FEMA during the recent flooding problems they had near Boulder. We had a lot of displaced families here for a while. Now hopefully things are getting back to normal for them and we are getting back into our improvements.
Like I have said in the past, we aren't perfect, no hotel is, but if any guest has an issue of any kind during their stay with us and tell us what it is, we will do whatever is necessary to make it right.

Thanx again for the nice review and we all look forward to seeing you guys again.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    93
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
139
150
27
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here a few times and I always recommend all of my friends and family to stay here. It is unbeatable for such a great rate. Customer service is terrific. Flat screen TVs, WIFI that works very well which is important to me. Other places I have stayed WIFI can be shotty at best. Not here though!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Ryan,

Thanx much for that nice review. I guess we are a little like Avis Rent a car. We're not #1 (yet) so we try harder. Thanx for mentioning our new WiFi. As you know, we spent thousands upgrading the WiFi this past summer installing Commercial Hotspots all over the hotel property and running all new commercial grade wiring to all of the Hotspots. Now, you can get a good connection from anywhere on the property including the private courtyard behind the hotel. Many of the other hotels and motels in town still use residential routers that aren't meant to send signals 300 feet away. Like I said, were trying harder.

Thanx again,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Salida Inn and Monarch Suites over the Christmas holidays and had a great time. We were in the two bedroom suite and absolutely loved the separate rooms, each with their own flat screen TVs and temperature controls. The bathroom was spotless and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was great for starting the day with cereal, bread, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt, orange juice and milk. The desk people were absolutely the best, helping us with the room and selling us Monarch Mountain lift tickets so we did not need to wait in line once we got to the resort. We will definitely stay at the Salida Inn and Monarch Suites again!!

Room Tip: The suites are very large and not much more money. For a family they cannot be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Crawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Chris,
Thanx so much for your very nice review. You were a great guest as well and thanx for taking me up on my special discount offer for Tweeting a Christmas greeting to an active duty serviceman/woman.
We here at Salida Inn aren't perfect yet, but were working on it and will bend over backwards to make sure all of your needs are met. I love it when nice people notice the efforts.

Thanx again and come back and see us again.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

For the price, this was a decent place to stay. However, the cleanliness left something to be desired. Grunge behind the sink faucet nearly made me gag while looking down, brushing my teeth. The shower could have stood a good cleaning with a mold/mildew cleaner in the corners. As to the decor, it was like stepping back into the 80's. The drapes were hanging haphazardly and the bed was sitting on the floor (literally, the box springs were on the floor with the mattress on top).

I chose this hotel primarily due to the good reviews on Tripadvisor, but I think next time I'll spring for the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca_R_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Rebecca,

I am a little shocked and AMAZED by your observations. The grunge behind the sink faucet for example happens to be Caulk that is used to keep water from running under it and it is white caulk on a white sink, so, that one confuses me.
The mold mildew in the corners of the shower (actually it's a Jacuzzi Tub) is actually a nick in the fiberglass of the tub itself. We touch it up, a guest or two later it's back. We touch it up again, and it comes back again.
On the subject of drapes. You were advised when you checked in that we are having new draperies made, they were delayed and we hung the old drapes back up..
Finally, the most amazing observation about the box spring on the floor. Recognizing as you do, decor from the 80's, you didn't know that this bed is a Platform Bed. THERE IS NO BOX SPRING.
The bed is designed that way. The mattress sits on the PLATFORM. :)
Like I tell every single guest who has ever stayed here. If you have any problems, or need anything at all, please let us know. You were here for 3 days. You said nothing to me about any problems or concerns. Had you said anything at all about anything, I would have gladly changed your room, but if you don't tell me what the problem is, I can't do anything about it.
Most guests love that room and more important, guests who know what a platform bed is, rave about it. I am sorry that you don't feel like you will stay here again. That really saddens me if only because you'll never get to see what true hospitality is like. You see, true hospitality is a two way communication between you the guest and me the hotelier. It is me, trying too fill your needs, but I can't do that if I don't know what those need are. You think you will be happier at the HI Express. Try getting personal attention there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winfield, Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel and enjoyed it quite a bit. We stayed in the two queen suite w/ jacuzzi. Hotel staff was amazing to work with and super helpful. Easy to find location, right off of highway 50. During the cold nights after a hard run on Monarch we were able to enjoy their hot tub and great outdoor views. Definitely look forward to staying here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank micahdesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Micah,
Thanx for the nice review. Staff and I love making our guests stay pleasant and appreciate it greatly when nice people notice.
Hope to accommodate you again sometime.

Thanx again,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I hope putting a review online doesn't mean this place will be booked any time I want to return! The rooms were very nice, especially for the price. The owner was always available - I mean, really, when does this guy sleep? When our suite had a plumbing issue, he gave us another room to sleep in and charged us nothing for that night. The problem was fixed the next afternoon when we returned from skiing. The outdoor hot tub was an extra amenity that we enjoyed, along with the large towels and robes provided by the hotel.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Amy G,

Thanx so much for your very nice review. Staff and I really appreciate it. Like our motto says, Creating new friends, one guest at a time, I would have given your family the owners quarters if I didn't have another room for you. It turns out, a guest before you apparently put something made out of styrofoam down the toilet because about 100 feet from the room. the styrofoam apparently mixed with the sewer gases and created a hard plastic mass which we were finally able to clear.
Sorry you had to be inconvenienced at all and I look forward to having you and your great family back again, Maybe next time your kids will let me sit in on a game of Uno too.
Thanx again,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chernobyl, Ukraine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The rooms were okay, a bit dirty, although I could tell the staff worked hard. They were Croatian, and Croatia is my favorite country, so they talked to me on how it was like, I also learned some new words, such as "Bok" which means Hello and goodbye.

Good place, although A bit rundown, if tired, I would stay there. We got our car towed from a city called Victor, which is an interesting small town. Shower was hot, and we had a nice stay, accept for the smoke and the somewhat dirty cafeteria.
OK.

Room Tip: Go to the second floor, non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigeer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike E, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Tigeer, Bok

I wish you had told me about the dirty room 4 months ago when you were here. I could have had another talk with those "hard Working Croatians" as you put it who just happen to be the same girls who cleaned your room. But, heck you did learn a new Croatian word or two. I am especially surprised by your comment about "a bit run down". With New siding, all new exterior paint, freshly painted rooms, new furniture, new flat screen TV, gee, I wonder what we missed.

Anyway, Bok,
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
0.8 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
15.4 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Salida
Super 8 Salida
#4 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salida Inn & Monarch Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salida Inn & Monarch Suites

Property: Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
Address: 7310 W. US Hwy. 50, Salida, CO 81201 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salida
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Salida Inn & Monarch Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, named after the quaint, small town of Salida Colorado and the Large beautiful Monarch Mountain. This small family owned motel is right in the heart of Salida. It is ideally located less than 1 mille from the old historic down town area, less than 20 minutes from the majestic Monarch Mountain ski resort, and practically next to the headwaters area of the Arkansas River. Salida is one of the most scenic and attractive recreation areas in the U.S.! An out door enthusiasts paradise. From snow skiing in winter to white water rafting in summer to Mountain Climbing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, four wheeling off the beaten path in any one of the beautiful and majestic fourteeners that surround the town. This friendly little town is in the heart of the beautiful Rocky Mountains. A stay with us is a great start to a lovely vacation! We are proud to be different from other hotels and motels. Ask us about our luxurious Honeymoon Suite and our secluded, quiet backyard cabins some offering fully equipt kitchenettes!. We are committed to providing you the highest level of hospitality at a price you can afford!Come and see why our motto is "Creating New Friends, one guest at a time".Features include a free continental breakfast with more than a dozen heathy breakfast items, free wifi, suites with jacuzzi tubs, heated pool, outdoor hottubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Salida Inn & Monarch Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Salida
Travel Lodge Salida
Salida Travel Lodge
Salida Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing