We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling with the Troops!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay! Staff was friendly and went above and beyond .Great beds, very clean, comfortable and affordable. Our 4 year old grand daughter reports "the Pool is warm and splashy!" We will stay again. Hope you will too! A crowd from Centennial CO

Room Tip: We had the cabin with 2 bedrooms and 3 Queen Size beds which slept 6 comfortably. Quiet amazing quie...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi BC

Just want to say thanx for your nice review and especially for mentioning the pool. I remember your Grand daughter say the pool was warm and splashy. I thought that was really cute. I actually had a local contractor offer to enclose the pool for me, but when I went an looked at some of the other pools in town that are enclosed I realized I would much rather keep my outdoor pool with its beautiful surroundings and mountain views heated than have to look at steel and wood walls and roof while swimming.
Anyway, thanx again
Come back and see us sometime.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

5 days at this inn. Room is very spacious, well furnished, and nicely renovated with a very comfortable bed. Multiple channels of HBO a nice perk. WiFi worked fantastically. Convenient to everything in the Arkansas Headwaters/ Monarch Pass area. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. I highly recommend the Salida inn & Monarch Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Mornin TJ

Isn't that the way they say good morning in the lone star state. Anyway, thanx much for that nice review. We here at Salida Inn appreciate all of our reviews, as they help us to know if we are doing things right. I notice you are a Senior Reviewer, so coming from you, I guess means that what we are doing it right. We just believe in treating all our guests like friends.
Come and see us again sometime.

Thanx Again
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is an older motel on Route 50, but set back from the road and noise is minimal. It is nicely landscaped (like you rarely see today) and rooms are updated with new beds, furniture, TVs, microwaves, refrigerators, and individual room heating and air conditioning.

The pool in the back is clean and warm. Service is friendly and helpful. A great inexpensive base from which to take advantage of everything the area has to offer -- great restaurants and shops, hiking, biking, and kayaking.

Room Tip: Get a room on top (second) floor -- you'll have a nice view out back of the landscaped pool area...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devideviq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hi Devinevin

Thanx for the really nice review, it is greatly appreciated by all the staff here at Salida Inn. We do our best to make all our guests feel like they are part of our family. Hope you have an opportunity to come and visit us again.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed at the Salida inn & Monarch suites over the 4th of July weekend. The staff, the rooms were perfect! Stayed in one of the cabins that had just been remodeled,clean, fresh, and Totally enjoyed the new linens. The pool and hot tub was the perfect end of a long day of ridding atv's. Can't wait to come back next year and see the progress on the new breakfast center. If you are coming to Salida, give them a try it won't disappoint!!.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the cabins
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi nikki g

Thanx a bunch for that really nice review. It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us.
Till next time, have a great summer.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My 17 year old daughter and I decided last minute to start our drive from Durango to Denver to fly home the following day & figured we would find a room along the way. There are NO real towns or hotels for miles & miles & we were so lucky to land in the town of Salida on Friday evening at 9:30 p.m. We stopped at quite a few hotels looking for the best price & they all wanted a min of $120/night which seemed steep for this small town & most did not have pools, free breakfast, etc.to justify the room prices. We swung back to this hotel because the owner was not your typical gum cracking clerk behind a desk. He was extremely proud of his renovations and could not say enough about the new mattresses and bedding. Plus, he has one of the few outdoor pools in this city which my daughter insisted on. We took a suite with two beds and I had one of the best night's sleep of the week. The room was clean, roomy, had a fridge and microwave and a small sitting area. Was it luxurious? Not really but we wanted clean, spacious, and a good sleep. The wifi worked well & the tv had a perfect picture. In the am, we stopped down at the office for our free breakfast.....they offer bagels, toast, fruit, cereal, yogurt, muffins, coffee.....not sure what everyone else expects, but for us, it was perfect. Yes, the lobby is small with only three tables but it led to great conversations with the owner and other guests who provided great recommendations about sites we should see as we continued towards Denver; good advice that we ended up taking. This is not your run of the mill Holiday Inn or Super 8; it has that personal touch which is something we value over anything. After breakfast, my daughter and I were exhausted and stopped back in our room to relax and lost track of time. Nobody bothered us about checking out and when we handed our key to the owner 45 minutes after the fact, he simply thanked us for staying. We had been staying in a Wyndham resort in Durango for the prior 8 nights and when my daughter compared the beds between our "luxury" resort and this hotel, this hotel won when it came to sleep comfort all the way! Kudos on the new mattresses and bedding; we sunk into the beds and never wanted to come out! My daughter and I both recommend this place! Other reviewers knocked the price but he is consistent with all the other hotels in the area and they don't have the small outdoor pool (which matters to some people) or any breakfast offerings. If we pass that way again, we will stop here again for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HerCheerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Cheer Mom
WOW, that was a nice review, Thanx so very much. What do you mean "Not Luxurious" :(.
Just kidding :). When we remodeled, we were shooting for Homey, Clean and Comfy. I guess we succeeded. You can thank previous guests for the mattresses. From September to December last year, I polled 370 Guests as to the type of mattress they preferred and nearly 88% chose "Firm Pillow Top. Then to play safe, I purchased 4 New Mattresses, a Firm Pillow Top, A Medium Firm Pillow Top, A Euro Top and a Plush (Soft) top and asked every guest who had each type what they thought about their individual mattress and again the over-all winner was the Firm Pillow Top, so in March, I ordered all brand new Firm Pillow Tops and since then, we have been getting great reviews on the bedding.
So, thanx for pointing that out in your review.

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel really tajes great pains to make you feel at home and tries to accommodate you. Thank you for such a lovely stay AGAIN! The new beds are lovely ... Can't wait to see the other changes made next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Natasha
Thanx so much for you nice review. It is always a please having nice people visit with un and we all loo forward to your next visit.

Thanx again

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We've stayed in Salida many times because we enjoy the nearby hotsprings. We like to try out different places to stay until we find the very best value. We found it at the Salida Inn and Monarch Suites. This place had brand new rooms which we were upgraded into for no cost due to the availability of the room. The entire property was very clean and well maintained. Mike was friendly and helpful and the prices were very reasonable, I mean seriously, when was the last time you spent less than $80.00 on a place you weren't afraid of in some way or another. We will be staying here in the future, we're glad to have found this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wkndwarriors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Well, Hello Wkndwarriors

Thanx so much for the really nice review. It is greatly appreciated. We try our best to make our guests happy both before they arrive by keeping everything up to date and after they arrive by meeting their needs.
I am fairly certain I know which guest you are and if I am right, you and your family have been here multiple times over the last few months. When guests continually stay with us, I figure they deserve the best we have, so if an upgraded room is available, we will gladly give it to them.

Thanx again
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.8 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
362 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salida Inn & Monarch Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salida Inn & Monarch Suites

Address: 7310 W US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-9341 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salida
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Price Range: £62 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salida Inn & Monarch Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, named after the quaint, small town of Salida Colorado and the Large beautiful Monarch Mountain. This small family owned motel is right in the heart of Salida. It is ideally located less than 1 mille from the old historic down town area, less than 20 minutes from the majestic Monarch Mountain ski resort, and practically next to the headwaters area of the Arkansas River. Salida is one of the most scenic and attractive recreation areas in the U.S.! An out door enthusiasts paradise. From snow skiing in winter to white water rafting in summer to Mountain Climbing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, four wheeling off the beaten path in any one of the beautiful and majestic fourteeners that surround the town. This friendly little town is in the heart of the beautiful Rocky Mountains. A stay with us is a great start to a lovely vacation! We are proud to be different from other hotels and motels. Ask us about our luxurious Honeymoon Suite and our secluded, quiet backyard cabins some offering fully equipt kitchenettes!. We are committed to providing you the highest level of hospitality at a price you can afford!Come and see why our motto is "Creating New Friends, one guest at a time".Features include a free continental breakfast with more than a dozen heathy breakfast items, free wifi, suites with jacuzzi tubs, heated pool, outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Salida Inn & Monarch Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Salida
Travel Lodge Salida
Salida Travelodge
Salida Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing