We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Little Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I'm a bit of a hotel snob, and Salida does not have much to choose from in the way of higher end hotels. Adding to that, summer prices are crazy high compared to similiar sized towns in Colorado (at least the weekend I was traveling). So I chose this hotel with some hesitation since I haven't stayed in a "motel" type place for years. This place was definitely a pleasant surprise.

Although it is a motel with outside entrances, the property is clean and so well kept. The rooms look brand new with lovely furnishings and decorative touches. There is no bathtub, but the shower worked fine for us. The fridge and microwave were nice to have, and as a business travel, the super high speed internet was awesome (faster than my home internet!).

My 8 year old loved the pool, and actually, so did I. It was really warm and so clean. It is nothing fancy, and relatively small, but the cleanliness and warmth make up for it. Any parents traveling with small children have likely suffered through freezing cold hotel pools because their kids want to swim - this was such a welcome change for that. When my son wanted to go back to the pool at the end of the day, I was happy to join him.

This is a really nice little property. Nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable and well priced compared to other properties in the area. Don't hesitate to stay here.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank law_girl_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi Law Girl
Thanx so much for your Nice review of Salida Inn. Staff and I really appreciate when guests notice our hard work. Our goal has always been pretty much what you said in your review - "This is a really nice little property. Nothing fancy, but clean, comfortable and well priced compared to other properties in the area. Don't hesitate to stay here."
We work hard a providing a clean comfortable room and after months of research on Mattresses and taking polls from guests as to the types of mattresses they like we settled on Firm Pillow Tops which has definitely increased the comfort levels of out guests. Our next goal is to increase the "fancy Factor' :). Just kidding.
Have a great day and come back and stay with us again, sometime.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stay in Salida often as my daughter lives here...I've stayed many places in Salida and was recommended to the Salida Inn from the motel next door. I wanted an outdoor pool! This will now be my new and constant go-to place to stay!!! Room was sparkling clean, newly updated, mattress was sooo comfortable and a lovely breakfast available in the lobby!!! Management was sooo friendly as well and when I asked for an extra pillow, she said....fluffy or flat??!! Who does that?? And she found me a lovely fluffy pillow.....such great service!!! Looking forward to the next visit and can't wait to try the cottages as well!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clearick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Clearick
Thanx for that really nice review. Being the new kids on the block so to speak, we try very hard every day to make our guests happy and feel at home. Thanx for noticing.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We decided to stay here because of the reviews. A last minute booking on a road trip and we were quite surprised. Check in was fast and friendly. Our room looked as if it were just redone, it was very comfortable...... did I mention very clean as well ! Also the hotel is pet friendly which is a plus for us. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank olive21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Olive
Thanx for that nice review. Yes, you are correct, all of our rooms were remodeled last year and all of the carpet and bedding this year. House Keeping will be delighted that you noticed their hard work especially. It is unusual these days to find house Keepers that actually go back through every room on their own, after they clean them to make sure they didn't miss anything the first time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here in the past when it was some other motel. It's been updated yet the price has stayed as one of the most reasonable in Salida. The owner and staff are so friendly! Outstanding customer service-something you don't find too often anymore. Rooms were very clean, good mattresses and linens.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet and an easy walk to the heated pool and hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Doreen

Thanx for your nice review. Staff and I at Salida Inn really appreciate it. We work hard to provide clean, comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. We all believe that our guests are our friends, so good customer service is easy. We just treat everyone like a new found friends.

Thanx again,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We decided to stay here based on positive reviews. We weren't disappointed. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds (we chose to stay in two different rooms during our stay). Though the fence around the pool and hot tub didn't look the greatest, both the pool and the hot tub were well maintained and wonderfully warm.

The newly renovated suite with a kitchenette and fireplace would be a great place to stay for those planning to stay for more than an overnight. Even the sleeper sofa was amazingly comfortable! The decor reminded us of trips to cabins in northern Minnesota.

We were very pleasantly surprised at the WiFi service. It was much faster than what we've experienced in top name hotels.

Take time to chat with the hotel owner. He's a lot of fun. He is also truly interested in any feedback about your stay as is evidenced by the improvements he's made during his ownership.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Beth,
Thanx so much for the nice review. it is greatly appreciated.
We at Salida Inn enjoyed have you and your family as well.
Come stay with us again sometime.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I've stayed at this hotel 3 times over the past 4 years, and though each stay has been good, the last stay I had a few weeks ago was by far the best. The rooms had been remodeled since the year before, and we really enjoyed the new mattresses! The reason I really wanted to write this review though is that the owner, Mike, really went out of his way to help us the morning we checked out. My boyfriend had left his flip flops by the pool the night before, and when I asked Mike if anyone had turned in flip flops, he said no, but he thought a couple staying in another room may have picked them up because he had seen them at the pool earlier that morning. He called their room, but they didn't answer. He said he would check with them when they came down to check out. We were pulling out of the parking lot a few minutes later, and Mike came over to our car to say that the couple had already come down to check out and they had the flip flops! My boyfriend got his flip flops back which was a huge relief because he didn't have any other shoes to wear home! We were very grateful Mike went out of his way to help us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank meljames21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hi Meljames
Thanx a bunch for that nice review. Staff and I really appreciate it when our guests notice our hard work. We try to treat all of our guests as we would close friends. The couple that I suspected had the flip flops had lost a $10,000 wedding ring and I was looking for it when I saw the flip flops. I called their room when I found the ring and when they came to get the ring, they mentioned they thought the FF were their friends. It was an interesting day for the Salida Inn Lost and Found :).
Thanx again for the review.
Hope to see you again,
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My friends were getting married mid-June in Salida so I booked a room for my boyfriend and I at the Salida Inn & Monarch Suites. Shortly before our arrival, two additional friends asked to room with us, and the owner did not hesitate to change our room accommodations. We called to cancel our reservation so that we could camp instead, and he gladly re-reserved the room for us the night before our scheduled arrival when we changed our minds. Although I'm sure I caused the owner much distress, there was no sign of it, for he was genuinely glad to see me when I arrived; quite the breath of fresh after all of the conflict with my friends. The newly renovated rooms were absolutely beautiful, undoubtedly clean, and the wifi was fast and consistent. Breakfast was the cold milk and cereal, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, bagels/toast and cream cheese that I have at home, and was greeted each morning by my name by the owner. I literally slept like I was floating on a cloud, and the water pressure was perfect. The room quality was that of a Holiday Inn and such, but the customer service was far and beyond. Being located right on the main drag, minutes away from downtown Salida and hot springs, the Salida Inn & Monarch Suites is easily the most convenient hotel in town. I am looking forward to staying here again in Winter and soaking in the hot tub after a long day snowboarding at Monarch!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JanelLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalidaInn, Owner at Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Lola,
Thanx a bunch for the really great review. We, at Salida Inn love when our guests are happy. We try to treat everyone as friends. As for reservation hassles, no problem at all, I was more than happy to accommodate you all. Oh, and I finally figured out the words to the song I kept singing to you.
It's L O L A, like Cherry Cola by the Kinks.
Come back and see us again soon. I'll be looking forward to it.
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
204 reviews
0.8 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Best Western Vista Inn
Best Western Vista Inn
#1 of 3 in Buena Vista
496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#7 of 16 in Salida
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salida Inn & Monarch Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salida Inn & Monarch Suites

Address: 7310 W US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-9341 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salida
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salida
Price Range: £62 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Salida Inn & Monarch Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites, named after the quaint, small town of Salida Colorado and the Large beautiful Monarch Mountain. This small family owned motel is right in the heart of Salida. It is ideally located less than 1 mille from the old historic down town area, less than 20 minutes from the majestic Monarch Mountain ski resort, and practically next to the headwaters area of the Arkansas River. Salida is one of the most scenic and attractive recreation areas in the U.S.! An out door enthusiasts paradise. From snow skiing in winter to white water rafting in summer to Mountain Climbing, Hiking, Mountain Biking, four wheeling off the beaten path in any one of the beautiful and majestic fourteeners that surround the town. This friendly little town is in the heart of the beautiful Rocky Mountains. A stay with us is a great start to a lovely vacation! We are proud to be different from other hotels and motels. Ask us about our luxurious Honeymoon Suite and our secluded, quiet backyard cabins some offering fully equipt kitchenettes!. We are committed to providing you the highest level of hospitality at a price you can afford!Come and see why our motto is "Creating New Friends, one guest at a time".Features include a free continental breakfast with more than a dozen heathy breakfast items, free wifi, suites with jacuzzi tubs, heated pool, outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Salida Inn & Monarch Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Salida
Travel Lodge Salida
Salida Travelodge
Salida Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing