We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Conroe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice!”
Reviewed 14 June 2008

We like the town of Salida. Stayed here in 2001 passing through. As we came into town and decided to stay, we were near the Gateway Inn. My husband said "look how well groomed and maintained the yard is, that means it is okay"! We paid $70'ish taxes and all. The check-in is very neatly decorated with the wilderness decor you would expect to see in Colorado. The lady who checked us in was very gracious. We got into our rooms and I was totally impressed. I enjoyed the very full gift bag, nice touch. It doesn't matter what hotel I'm in, first thing I do is pull the sheets back and our beds were very clean. Continental breakfast was the usual make yourself waffles, pastries, cereal, juices - right up our ally! Quick and filling. One of the staff memebers was constantly checking breakfast, cleaning, wiping, re-filling waffle batter. They were smart, they had the squirt butter for the waffles, a lot easier then trying to spread from a tub type butter. The area where the actual food is for breakfast is very small. Only one person at a time. Luckily when we got there, no one else was there or that would cause a longer wait. There is plenty of sitting space. This use to be a Econolodge. We were very impressed and will book again next time we are in the area. God Bless You, Sherrill Hooker and family

  • Liked — The price.
  • Disliked — We had to leave.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Thank you for the rave review. It is nice to see that people recognize all our hard work. We take pride in all aspects of our hotel, and look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    60
    43
    12
    20
See reviews for
90
83
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Was concerned after reading the review regarding the dirty sheets and lack of response from the staff-but enough positive reviews convinced me to book anyway. Found the room to be clean and welcoming with a neat gift bag on the bathroom counter. The free breakfast at the lobby was unremarkable-cold cereal, waffle batter that was sitting in unrefrigerated pre-measured cups for an unknown period of time- and a selection of prepackaged pastries. The only downside to my stay concerned my apparent interuption of a staff member to turn on the hot tub jets who obviously felt put-out by this simple request as I was unable to figure out the proper sequence of buttons to push on the console. I would definitely stay at this property again.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IMTrippin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
Nice to hear that you will stay with us again. On your advice, we have placed directions in the hot tub area that describe how to use the tub features. We wrote this to be as clear as possible, look for it next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 May 2006

Excellent experience at EconoLodge Salida! Very clean nice rooms. Accomodating staff. Half the price of other chain hotels in town!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 1 June 2010
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Gateway Inn. We strive to provide a good value for our visitors to Salida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2006

Spent two nights at the Salida Econolodge. For the second time in two years, it was great. Good breakfast food. Enough to ski all morning on. There were a couple of spring break schoolbusses, but the kids we all quiet. Either good supervision, or too tired after skiing to cause any trouble. The suite style room was clean, with kitchen facilities. The hot tub was always vacant, perhaps the kids were not allowed near the water hazard?

Great stay, and great ski conditions.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caloraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The skiing at Monarch in the spring is wonderful. Even when lots of other visitors are enjoying it at the same time. Most of our spring break groups are well behaved and quiet. Thanks for the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2005

Very clean room, with fridge, microwave, coffeemaker. Very good price. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
We agree, the honeymoom suite is very nice, and it is hard to show this in small online video. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smyrna, north carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2005

the honeymoon suite was a large room with lodgepole pine furniture.
there was a jacuzzi tub big enough for two. staff was great. the virtual
tour doesn't do the room justice!

Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
We are very proud of our honeymoon suite. A great room, even if you are not a newlywed, or maybe you just want to pretend that you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 February 2004

Affordable accomodations & Newest in town, offering so many extras like: All rooms wireless internet, 20 item breakfast buffet, Meeting/Banquet facilities, Efficiency Apt, Honeymoon Suite, Whrpl Tub Mini Suites and much more.....

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 25 May 2010
Thank you for visiting us in Salida. glad to hear that you enjoyed the Mexican food. Fiesta Mexicana is right out our front door. The staff enjoys the lunch specials there also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
83 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Property: Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-3202
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing