We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sticky floors?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sticky floors?”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Floor in room was sticky.. Socks stuck to floor as you would walk across carpet.. Would highly recommend a pair of slippers!! Also noticed over our stay the comforters/ blankets are not washed after each guest stay, only sheets.. Ewww...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choices4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    58
    43
    12
    19
See reviews for
89
80
40
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is obviously an older motel, but it has been updated throughout. It was very clean, more so than places we've stayed costing three times as much. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. No fridge or microwave, if they are a must for you. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor.........no one stomping overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my family were traveling through salida like we always do a few times every year, all hotels were out of vacancy and we saw gateway hotel so stopped there. It looked nice and the lady told my husband that she was going to give us a good deal since it midnight she said we would pay $70 and we payed $90, how is the tax $20 more, we took it because we were tired and had two small kids with us that we're exhausted. This was just the beggining of a horrible stay, it was so hot and the air condtioner would not turn on, someone next to us had a television on very loud all night. Needless to say the place smelled funny and the beds were very uncomfortable, probably the cheapest beds they could find. In the morning I went to turn in the keys and see if we could get accommodated for having a bad stay, and the lady told me that her manager said if we would have called the front desk they could have fixed it that when there are a lot of the air conditioners running the breakers blow.. Funny right?? How did they pass an electric inspection? Sounds very unsafe to me, then my husband told me that when the lady gave him the keys to the room she said not to put them by magnets cause it will mess them up and nobody will be at the front desk to help you..... Wow Gateway you really need to fix this place (don't be soooo cheap) and definitely restaff.. I will never stay here again, definitely worst stay anywhere!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MOMMYDEAREST23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beltsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our experience at the Gateway was wonderful. The room was large and there were many electrical outlets. Everything including the bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. The breakfast was a standard continental breakfast, although it did include fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs and a waffle maker and the room was large enough to accommodate all the guests jostling for food. There were also adequate breakfast tables in a very sunny, pleasant well-lit area. The check-in clerk was cheerful and helpful. The 2nd story was accessible only by stairs--a small bummer. Otherwise, I can't think of any way this place could be improved.

Regarding price--Salida relies very heavily on seasonal tourism. As in any tourist area, hotel prices fluctuate greatly. If you're in Salida on a special event weekend in the summer, you'll pay premium prices anywhere you stay, unless you're savvy about shopping Internet sales ahead of time and even then, you might not avoid the high prices. We booked our room 2 months ahead. Even though our stay was during a "very busy event weekend" according to the clerk, we paid half of the price that was being quoted to drop-ins. I am not shocked, nor do I begrudge the hotel the right to raise the price as the demand exceeds supply. This is our free market economy at work. Just plan your strategy wisely and know that if you pull into town on a summer weekend at 6 PM without a reservation, you'll probably be paying top dollar for an average room.

Room Tip: Book early. Some weekends in summer, the prices go up. If you can't carry your luggage up a fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The front desk staff was exceedingly friendly and managed to change my room from a king to two doubles with only a $5 increase in price at check-in. The room was average with a less than stellar bed, but about what I would expect of a hotel with this rating. AC worked well and everything was clean. Breakfast was a non-event with a very overworked desk clerk manning both checkouts and refills at the continental breakfast. For the price, I was satisfied with the accomodations. We did have a group of bikers firing up their bikes from 10 pm - 1 am after partying in some of the rooms below us, but that has no bearing on my review. Just a minor annoyance!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review. I'm happy we were able to accommodate your need for two beds, and that you found our facility clean. We are anticipating an upgrade to our beds within this year, and hope to see you again!
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The reservations staff, Tina and Teresa, did an outstanding job handling our group. Everything was ready for our late arrival after a long day of traveling. Rooms were clean and in excellent condition. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Guest Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Wes, thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure working with you and your group, we do what we can to accommodate. We look forward to seeing you again!
Tina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I only write reviews for exceptional stays. This one was exceptionally bad. We arrived late in the evening and this was the only place in Salida that had a vacancy. That should have been a tip off. We checked in and then went to eat. When we returned the room was very hot. We had turned the air conditioner on high before going to eat. In the bathroom the tub was not clean and the commode did not flush well; even paper would not go down. By this time it was too late to go on to another town. If everything had been working properly the room was a fifty-sixty dollar a night room. We paid one hundred forty-six for a very unpleasant night. The air condition never did cool the room. In an attempt to get fresh air we opened the window but had to leave the drapes closed for privacy. This made us nervous about security because we were on the ground floor. It was extremely hot, smelly and uncomfortable in our room so we left the window open even though it was a risky th I like a firm bed but the mattress was rock hard. I never fully dozed off all night between the heat and the hardness of the bed. By 4:00 in the morning I wished we had just left earlier, even if it had been late; after all we weren't able to sleep anyway. We got up and left about 4:30 a.m. When I spoke with the desk clerk about the situation she just shrugged and said there was nothing she could do but that she would report it to the manager. I asked if she would please contact the manager and she said all she could do was leave her number for the manager to call her back which would most likely take awhile. We never did hear from maintenance or the manager. Will not ever make the mistake of staying at Gateway Inn & Suites again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Abby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
1.3 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
1.4 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Property: Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-3202
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing