We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service in Salida is hit and miss, as you can tell from the reviews.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Inn & Suites Salida
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed in Salida on three different occasions this summer, all sub par. In this instance we get back to our room after dinner at 930 pm and got ready to jump into bed after a long day of traveling. But the sheets were damp. :( They put them on the bed before they were completely dry? We weighed the likely hood that house keeping was still on the property and could expeditiously bring us dry sheets. And opted to help ourselves. I grabbed a sleeping bag out of the car and slept on top of the bed in it. My partner wrapped up in the comforter (it was cool looking; blood red with black lace accents). In my opinion if you run a hotel it would be a high priority to provide the customers with an adequate bed. Other than that it was fine. The woman at the front desk was friendly and nice. Even remembered to apologize when we checked out and I notified her of our issue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracyloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We received outstanding service from Tina at the front desk during our stay last weekend. The room was clean and had a mini-fridge and microwave. We didn't turn on the TV, so I can't say about that. Though it's not plush, I'd recommend this room for comfort. The continental breakfast was more than adequate with lots to choose from. We didn't try the restaurant next door, so I can't say one way or another about it. This room was plenty enough for our two nights stay, and I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Karen, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I'm glad you were pleased with your stay. It was truly pleasure having you here, and I look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My sister & I stayed here for a night to visit the town. It was clean, quiet and the interior of the room was pleasant. We were pleased for the price. The beds & pillows were comfortable. The refrigerator & microwave in room came in handy and everything worked properly. The air conditioner was blowing right over first bed of 2/bed room, but easily remedied with chair & extra pillows. Friendly staff. We didn't eat there, but the continental breakfast looked sufficient! We would stay here again.!

Brand new hot tub outside in it's on building.

Room Tip: You can't always tell by the exterior, this room was superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Norma, thank you for the great review! We appreciate your comments, and are very pleased that you found our hotel a value for your stay.
Hope to see you and your sister again,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were ready to stop for the night and it was Saturday - seemed like everything in town was booked and way too expensive. The folks here were very nice and the rooms were clean. They just bought and installed a new fancy hot tub. It was great after driving most of the day. The rooms are average, but clean. They have free breakfast and it's pretty standard. It seems they have meeting rooms, but didn't look at them. The clientele was just your average traveler - tended to be mid-to-lower income, but even the ones we met were nice. It's not fancy, but I'm only concerned whether or not it's clean, safe and not-so-expensive. It was a nice surprise. I understand the town is cute, but I didn't have time to explore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back away from the highway - I don't have problems with highway noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel78746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for submitting such a nice review. We take pride in our hotel, and I believe we have some of the best housekeepers in town! I'm glad you enjoyed the new hot tub, it makes a long day of travel a bit more bearable.
Hope to see you again,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked early and got a better rate than those who stopped in that night (typical). The front desk staff is VERY accomodating (put us in a non-pet room even though we had a small dog with us). We had requested a pet room, but they were all sold out before we managed to check in, so she did the right thing and found us a room. Breakfast is decent, (could use some sausage or bacon), but I understand it's just "continental" -great waffles! Nice flat-screen TV in room , lots of pillows on the bed, beds pretty comfortable. Our A/C didn't seem to want to be cold, but that was okay because it was fairly cool out this time of year. Weird thing was the bathroom smelled like someone smoking the first night, even though it was non-smoking room. Seemed to clear up on subsequent nights. Would stay here again, especially for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the highway can be a bit noisy, luckily there isn't that much traffic. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasbabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatewayInnSalida, Public Relations Manager at Gateway Inn & Suites Salida, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We work hard to accommodate all our guests, and I'm glad our front desk clerk was able to do so for you and your pet.
Hope to see you again,
Tina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Floor in room was sticky.. Socks stuck to floor as you would walk across carpet.. Would highly recommend a pair of slippers!! Also noticed over our stay the comforters/ blankets are not washed after each guest stay, only sheets.. Ewww...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choices4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is obviously an older motel, but it has been updated throughout. It was very clean, more so than places we've stayed costing three times as much. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. No fridge or microwave, if they are a must for you. We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor.........no one stomping overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salida
1.4 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 16 in Salida
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
16.7 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn & Suites Salida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn & Suites Salida

Address: 1310 East US Highway 50, Salida, CO 81201-3202
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Price Range: £59 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn & Suites Salida 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Gateway Inn & Suites Salida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Salida
Gateway Motel Salida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing