We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Salida
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at the comfort inn from 6/27 thru 6/29. I did think it was a little on the expensive side but the other decent hotels seemed to be around the same price or higher. Our room was clean and the breakfast was a typical continental. They did try to spice things up by providing eggs and sausage. I didn't try the eggs, they looked a lil too runny for me. I'm giving this hotel 4 stars because we arrived in Salida pretty early, like around 11am and they let us check in early for free. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intherain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    72
    26
    4
    1
See reviews for
63
79
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

At $100 a night, you don't get much in towns like Salida. Here's what I got at the Comfort Inn:

My room was straight-up motel. Old tube TV, no fridge or micro and it faced the noisy highway. Some of the other reviews mention LCD TVs and a view of a horse corral, so perhaps I was just given one of the least desirable rooms.

The heat lamp in the bathroom was controlled by screwing / unscrewing the bulb. The mattress was the kind where your bedmate's every move means a bounce-house ride for you.

At 8:00 Sunday morning, I was awakened by a loud conversation outside my room. After ten minutes, I finally got up to find two housekeepers sitting on the floor outside my room taking an extended break and talking on their cell phones. They apologized, but it shouldn't have happened in the first place.

The complimentary breakfast is what we've all come to expect.

I've stayed in worse properties, to be sure, and judging from the many positive reviews here my guess is that I was given a substandard room. If you do stay here, I'd recommend insisting on an updated room that doesn't face the highway.

Room Tip: Insist on an updated room (flat-screen TV) that doesn't face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We only stayed one night here, but it had everything we needed for a comfortable stop. The front desk clerk was very friendly, the room was comfortable and quiet, and the free breakfast in the morning was pretty decent. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. Ours was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This place is clean, has extremely attentive staff, a HOT hot tub, fun pool, decent breakfast, good view of the mountains, and is close to Monarch.

Great place to stay, a little of the main part of downtown, but still close to restaurants and attractions. Neat part of the state.

Room Tip: The western rooms face beautiful mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

From the moment we arrived the friendly staff at the Comfort Inn went out of their way to make sure everything was perfect for us. We are early risers (4am - 5am) and the staff always offered to open the jacuzzi early or prepare some warm, cooked food for us long before official breakfast hours. Our room was very clean, quiet and comfortable. It was a real pleasure to stay here, and next time I'm in Salida I will definitely book a room with Comfort Inn again.

Room Tip: I don't have any actual room tips, but if you aren't happy with a room for any reason talk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The room was clean, easy in, easy out. Good handicapped accessible room. The staff was more than helpful when I had booked the room on Hotel-rates.com and then found out I could have the room at an almost $60 break in price for 2 nights. I wasn't too pleased with Hotel-rates.com and let them know why. These bookers are supposed to get you a better rate than what you can I thought. Anyway Comfort also had a continental breakfast that had lots of things from eggs, sausage, cereals, fruit and more with the morning news on the flat panel. The room coffee was drek but what motel room's isn't? Hint, hint. One of the better motels I've stayed. Next time I'll go directly to the Comfort website.

Room Tip: Go directly to the website if you're pre-booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travler33560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The staff at check in were friendly and very helpful. I reported a problem when I checked out and from the attitude of the desk clerk I am sure it was resolved quickly to avoid the next guest to have to deal with. Overall cleanliness was good. the room was large and comfortable. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellibean713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salida hotels
0.7 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Salida
0.1 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Salida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Western Colorado Lodge
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 315 E Rainbow Blvd - US 50, Salida, CO 81201-2701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Salida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Salida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Salida
#2 Family Hotel in Salida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Salida
Salida Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing