We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amaaazzzzing week!”
Review of Lost Valley Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sedalia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lost Valley Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing,UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another amaaazzzzing week!”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

What another fantastic week at Lost Valley!..How incredibly lucky are we to go back a second time!..even with the snow,the ranch looked beautiful,the staff were amazing,always friendly,always smiling...I got to ride Baylor again-the most beautiful horse in the world.Everything about Lost Valley is magical,special,unforgettable.I would like to thank everyone for making us welcome.We will be back just as soon as we can.

Room Tip: They are all 5 star-you wont be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mumzeedebzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to return to the ranch for a second time. We know that it isn't a small venture to come to another country for a vacation, so with that in mind we are very grateful. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to Lost Valley Ranch and commitment to return again in the future. We will look forward to your emails and plans to return again. Your home in the Rockies and Baylor are here waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
102
20
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I vacationed here back in 2001. It was my first vacation ever and it was the most enjoyable, peaceful, relaxing, exciting time I have had! Great place to clear your head and realize what life is all about! I would love to come back and visit. Looks like a lot of development though. Food was fantastic, staff was great too! Met a lot of new friends there! My room was excellent - Loved the fireplace on those chilly nights. Great for sitting outdoors with a good book on the porch swing. The trail rides were Spectacular!! And of course the views were fantastic-definitely God's country!

Room Tip: Loved the quieter area with the porch swing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
It is always a pleasure for us to hear from a former guest of the ranch. Thank you for sharing with us and many others your experience at Lost Valley Ranch. We would love to have you back on the ranch in the near future for more relaxing, riding, good food and friends. There's a porch swing calling your name.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was one of the best lodging experiences we've ever had.
This was one of the best riding experiences we've ever had.
The owners and staff are the warmest we've ever experienced anywhere.
Private ownership with pride and sophistication make this unique amongst dude ranches.

We came to Lost Valley Ranch for a group event. From start to finish, we were greeted like well-loved family, fed gourmet food that addressed our dietary gluten-free, dairy-free restrictions, provided a lovely cozy cabin that was decorated with class and they even accommodated my bad back needs by knowing the gait and ride of each of their horses individually and providing me with one with a smoother gait. (I loved that horse; still think about him!)

The valley is beautiful and truly secluded. We had a great time dancing with everyone, including the staff who join in to get everybody going. This is a perfect every-age venue.

Would be great for a destination wedding, family reunion, annual alumni gathering :-) as well as individual families and couples. (Although secluded and up in the mountains, it is a more reasonable ride than most from either Denver or Colo Spgs airports).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverFrequentTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to share your Lost Valley Ranch experience with the Trip Advisor community. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you while here this spring. We are glad that you had such a great time. We look forward to another opportunity to have you back across our cattle guard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Everything about this ranch was first class, from the quality of the food all the way to the demeanor of the horses. Every employee at the ranch treated us like family from the minute we arrived. We grew so fond of the staff that we even stopped by the front office to give Caroline a hug goodbye.
This was the first time I had ever been to a Dude Ranch and had only been on a horse a handful of times. The riding groups were split up into different groups according to ability, which you determine yourself. The "Wranglers" did a fantastic job at ensuring everyone was safe and able to participate at an appropriate pace. The extremely secluded location of LVR made it more quiet and peaceful than I ever could have hoped for. Thanks to LVR, this will definitely not be my last Dude Ranch experience.
This ranch is such a great place togo and feel like part of a family that some of the people we met while riding or eating had previously worked there, and just about everyone was there for more than the first time.
We went in early OCT and there were probably 25 people. The weather was very nice, just cool enough for long sleeves but not really any need for a jacket after the sun came up. Also, we were concerned that the forest fire in 2003 that burned the surrounding countryside would have a negative impact of the beauty of this place. It did not what so ever. If anything it made it better because you have nothing hindering your view of the amazing landscape and distant mountains.
I absolutely love LVR and all of the staff who made this one of my favorite vacations ever. I can't wait to go back for round two!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 33064SFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your recent Lost Valley Ranch experience with the Trip Advisor community. It is so encouraging to hear that our staff, food, riding and location all made an impression on your experience here. We always enjoy seeing people enjoy a dude ranch vacation for the first time and be surprised by the impact that it is. We appreciate your willingness to give us a chance to serve you and we anticipate with excitement your return to the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This was our first time to Lost Valley Ranch and we already can't wait to go back. I'm not sure I can mention all of the wonderful amenities and memories that we experienced while we were there but I will do my best.

Everyone at the ranch is truly happy and friendly, it shows in the service, smiles and laughter that is abundant! Caroline was so helpful before we even arrived with answering questions and helping us get a special event planned. We arrived to a warm greeting and personalized attention. After giving us all the information we could ask, we were off to our cabins. The cabins have everything that you could need and are spacious and very clean. We were in the Diamond Lil cabin and our friends were in Pecos Bill, both were 1 bedroom cabins. Great location on the property! The beds were super comfortable with a big fluffy comforter!

The food is excellent. Each meal has two different options or half & half of each....if you don't like those options, they will customize something for you. There is fresh bread at every dinner and dessert with lunch and dinner. Each meal is homemade, balanced, healthy, delishious and you never left hungry. We were quite impressed with the quality of food. The dining room staff will make sure you have everything you need and more! They were always attentive to your dining needs and work together to make an amazing team.

The riding experience.... WOW! The wranglers really help you learn and ride to the level that you want. Don't feel pressure about being a beginner or the most advanced, they really cater to your skill level. Charlie, Joel, Paul and Coulter took us on rides different days and worked with us at different times. They know how to make the rides fun and breath taking. The views along the trails are just beautiful, don't be afraid to stop to get a photo!

A few notes: The hot tub really helps soak the sore muscles (the one by the pool is quite large). The trader post has sodas (they don't have them in the dining room). There is a mini fridge in your room, make sure to bring your own alcoholic beverages for your cabin (they do not serve or sell any). There is wifi in the lobby but that is the only place (leave your laptop and phone at home- enjoy your vacation!). Get bike shorts to wear under your jeans (helps if you plan to ride everyday). Bring a small backpack with a water bottle if you plan to go on a hike - Southern Comfort trail has breath taking views. Very safe and relaxing location, all the faces will be familiar by the second day.

Lost Valley Ranch is a hidden gem. I would recommend this ranch to couples, friends, families, just about anyone that wants to real vacation that will get you away from the everyday and bring you closer with those with you! We can't wait to go back, you should definitely book with them!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Just-a-travelin-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We sincerely appreciate that you took time to share your bucket list adventure at Lost Valley Ranch. You really covered it. We are happy to hear that our staff, cabins, food and riding program met your expectations and provided a memorable experience for you. It's also appreciated that you included some suggestions for future guests. We do hope that you are able to return again in the near future. Thank you for choosing Lost Valley in marking this off your bucket list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Countryside, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

...More awesome than we know! I stumbled on to LVR website in 2012 (I know now that God directed me to this wonderful place) not knowing what I was getting myself into.....Let me tell you, I found a new FAMILY,PEACE, and SERENITY! I was able to leave all the chaos from home behind me. The experience I have had the last 2 years at LVR is indescribable......you have to experience it to understand that there are no words to describe the feelings you get from LVR..........Love ya all at LVR and already missing everyone....staff and guests........see ya all next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geralyn_Brescia-DeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It's absolutely amazing to hear what you experienced while at the ranch these last two years...peace, family and serenity. We do believe that our guests become like family during their time here and we are so happy that you were able to get that feeling also from other staff and guests. We are very excited that you are planning your return in 2014. Your family is awaiting your return. Oooo-aaaah!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We returned to Lost Valley Ranch this past June. The kids ask constantly when we are returning. The kids program is superb. They are under the care of extremely caring, watchful, capable and FUN leaders who make every day an adventure in the Rockies on horseback. And it's not just horses. The kids tube down Goose Creek, visit an amazing water hole with a natural slide and rocks to jump off of, play games, visit the pool, roast s'mores at the pond...I could continue! I was NEVER worried about the safety or happiness of my kids.
For the adults, you can be as active or as lazy as you like. There are wonderful hikes, fishing trips, skeet shooting and of course, horseback rides. My dad and I went on the 7-mile hike through the forest which was probably the longest hike offered. It was a great time to get to know some of the other guests on a deeper level.
If you are on the fence about booking this vacation, call and talk to Caroline, Tony or any other of the amazing folks that call Lost Valley Ranch home. You will NOT regret this vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli5_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony W, General Manager at Lost Valley Ranch, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your summer vacation at our ranch. It was a pleasure to have you back and serve your family through our kids program as well as on hikes and in other activities here. We do believe that we hire amazing staff and that is reflected in your family's experience with the kids program. There are numerous opportunities for the adults to be a kid but to also rest and reflect if they would like. We do hope that your family returns to your home in the Rockies very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedalia
20.1 mi away
Woodland Park Country Lodge
Woodland Park Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodland Park
208 reviews
18.9 mi away
Pikes Peak Paradise Bed and Breakfast
24.4 mi away
The Outlook Lodge
The Outlook Lodge
#1 of 2 in Green Mountain Falls
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
Eagle Fire Lodge & Cabins
#3 of 6 in Woodland Park
113 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lost Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Valley Ranch

Property: Lost Valley Ranch
Address: 29555 Goose Creek Rd, Sedalia, CO 80135-9000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Sedalia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedalia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Valley Ranch, Colorado's premier dude ranch, provides an unforgettable guest ranch experience for your Colorado family vacation. Recognized as the only Colorado ranch to receive AAA's Four Diamond rating for 40 consecutive years, it is no wonder Lost Valley Ranch guests keep coming back time and time again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lost Valley Ranch Hotel Sedalia
Lost Valley Hotel
Lost Valley Ranch Colorado/Sedalia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing