We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the short drive”
Review of Gabriel's

Gabriel's
Reserve with OpenTable
Gabriel's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Sedalia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 85 and Hwy 67
Description: Gabriel's features elegant Northern Italian fine dining in the quaint town of Sedalia. Our restaurant is housed in the Victorian Manhart home which was built at the turn of the 1900's and converted into Gabriel's in 1985. Matthew and Jan, owners, have been serving the greater Denver area for over 20 years. Gabriel's specializes in three-course dining so you won't just get an entree. Your evening will begin with an appetizer, followed by soup or salad, then the entree of your choice. Our pricing ranges from $25 to $52 for all three courses. The extensive wine list offers a huge variety to compliment any dinner. We are conveniently located between Denver and Colorado Springs, just 20 minutes from the Tech Center and 30 from Denver. Gabriel's is perfect for all occasions; a romantic night out, a wedding, business function, holiday party and more. Indulge yourself and experience the ultimate in elegant fine dining.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the short drive”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Gabriel's is a few miles south of Highlands Ranch, CO in the small town of Sedalia. You wouldn't expect to find a fine restaurant in their location, but it has been there almost 30 years. I went on a Saturday night and they had a good crowd, so people know about it. One of their featured entrees is Colorado lamb. This is a treat because in Colorado you frequently don't get Colorado lamb. (It gets shipped east). For a less expensive meal they also have a bistro.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

... but the chair cushions are so worn down, all of us were squirming the entire time. The sauce was on the salty side- I'm glad I tasted it before adding my own. The service was wonderful.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedalia, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little out of the way but worth it.”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Most places in Colorado (unfortunately) are extremely casual. My husband and I stopped in for dinner one evening and noticed that most patrons were in suits/ties and dresses and we were in business casual. We stated to the host that we would leave because we weren't properly dressed and were graciously and genuinely assured that our attire was fine. We were seated at a lovely table and had a fabulous meal. Sedalia (proper) is very small and you wouldn't expect to find such a wonderfully delightful restaurant (slightly) off the beaten path here but it is definitely worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had heard about this place a couple of times and decided to try it on New Year's Eve, when they had a set, four-course menu, wine and 'dancing' for $99 pp. We were extremely disappointed. I travel a lot for work and this meal was exactly like the ones I get at mediocre hotel-catered group functions. Gelatinous, over-salted sauce did not rescue my stringy steak, which was accompanied by reconstituted mashed potatoes and limp sautéed zucchini. The ravioli appetizer slathered in cream tasted warmed over and doughy. The service was lukewarm at best--we refilled our own wine glasses from the bottle on the table and had to beg for water refills both in the dining room and at the bar. The staff was simply not very interested in being there. The dancing was 'a wedding planner's nightmare mix' straight off of someone's iPod and was punctuated by awkward silences between songs. They played 'Beat It' twice in 20 minutes to the 50+ crowd. Expensive prices, poor food quality and lackluster service means we won't try this place again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pruhlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice special occasion restaurant”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Must be off nights for the people on here who have given this restaurant bad reviews. We have been here 7-8 times over the last 5 years or so and have always had excellent service and wonderful food. It is not "run down" as others have stated.Its an old victorian house.You go there for that very atmosphere which is very charming. We have been there for early new years eve dinner, valentines day and birthdays and its always been great. The only issue ive ever had was awhile back the mashed potatoes were from a box which I never have understood as they are so simple to make. Still not enough to keep us away however.
Also wanted to add that I have lived in europe, I cook, and have eaten at Londons top restaurants. I guess everyone has different tastes ans expectations. I thin its worth a try if you havent eaten here before. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronnyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gabriel's also viewed

 

Been to Gabriel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing