We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Sands Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is near Saint Augustine but away from the crowds. This hotel is a small and quiet place across the street from the beach. It has it's own walkway to the ocean. Best rooms are on the second floor facing the marsh, We saw beautiful sunsets. The rooms facing the ocean have to put up with the busy and fast moving street noise. The first floor rooms have no ocean view, Your room faces a tall dune. We had the king bed with the hot tub. The room was very clean. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They serve breakfast every morning until 10:00. The only negative is there is no elevator, but the hotel is only two stories tall. It does have a small pool. I recommend this hotel as a great vacation destination.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, get a room facing the marsh on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 60805Ginny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was very nice with large rooms it had the best price for the beach area. This place is family owned and the owners take care of the place very well. I will be staying here again when I am back down that way...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hatteras58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My vacation was centered upon being near St. Augustine in an affordable and clean place. This was met. My room, though small, was clean and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Having to cross a very busy road to get to the beach was an inconvenience and would not be easy access with young children. It was a good price, however, and quiet. My room faced the pool which was not on the highway side of the building so I cannot speak to those rooms. Different staff members helped with area information and the pool area was neat and the pool was clean. The bed was unusually comfortable and was made each day and bathroom cleaned with efficiency when we were out.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from A1A would be my personal recommendation, but keep in mind that I am an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well priced and very close to downtown St. Augustine. LOVED the Jacuzzi tub in our room! We were right across from the beach and had our own private access. I wish we didn't have to leave! Breakfast was great. Cereal, waffles, sausage, hashbrowns and so much more! Thanks to Lisa and the other wonderful staff members for a great stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klawinskik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband did a few days of research and decided on this hotel. Hotel staff was nice, hotel itself is old. Needs renovated badly. Our shower was very dirty and the view was the side of a hill. I knew going in that the beach was across the street, no biggy, HOWEVER room 111 faces a grassy bank/hill. Huge let down for $150/night. I mean, come on...for this price, can I at least overlook the pool or something?! We didn't see any bugs (was actually waiting on them to come out at night) and there was what appeared to be dog hair in the refrigerator. Perhaps our room wasn't even cleaned before our arrival-or cleaned by someone who needs a different job. There are much better places out there....don't be discouraged and let places like this give the whole area a bad name. After riding around the area, we decided that staying in St Augustine Beach would have been better for us. We left and stayed the rest of the time in Jacksonville Beach (30 minutes north of St Augustine) at the Hyatt for $99/night and it's gorgeous AND clean. I can do old hotels as long as they are clean. This one was not. Also, one last note-the pool is very small. Probably the smallest pool you've ever seen. For those who rated this 5 stars, I'd like to see what you're used to staying in!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Loves2flytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msample, General Manager at Ocean Sands Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. There are a huge number of guests that really do enjoy our hotel quite a bit. Our first floor standard rooms, like room 111, do not have a view and are next to a berm protecting the hotel, but many guests enjoy these rooms quite a bit. The rate over the weekend is $149 a night, but does come down quite a bit Sunday through Thursday. I believe we are very fairly priced as most of the hotels in our area charge well over $200 a night during weekends. We do have beautiful wetland and ocean view rooms available and I'm sorry you did not book one of those rooms for your visit.

While we are very diligent on pest control, your comment about "waiting for bugs to come out" was simply unfair and not true. Our pool is 16,000 gallons and is not large, but certainly not as small as you make it out to be and it is enjoyed all the time by our guests. Also, we do not heat the pool during the summer season as the daily temperatures usually are over 90 degrees and most guests want to cool down a little and the water is already over 80 degrees.

Thank you for your comments and I'm happy you were able to find a room at the Hyatt that you enjoyed, but the Hyatt is not near the beach and is a corporate hotel located on the river in Jacksonville. Our fantastic beachfront location, great staff, beautiful hotel, and location close to downtown St Augustine has made many family vacations very special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our whole family stayed here for a wedding and it was perfect. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly and made our entire stay just wonderful. The hotel is small and not big & fancy but perfect for a beach vacation. The rooms are a good size and it is very clean. Fantastic location being just across the street from a gorgeous beach. Pool is small but perfect for our needs. Would definitely recommend and stay again when visiting the area. Lisa, Vanessa & Melinda really made the experience and took time to be personally invested in our needs. Love them!!

Room Tip: All rooms were spacious and clean. If you're particular about a perfect view upgrade to a first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairem239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

the rooms were clean the staff was phenomenal! Lucy the cat was always there for us to cuddle with. Breakfast was always good. And we enjoyed that there was a private beach so we can actually relax and enjoy our time.lots of great local restaurants nearby if you don't want to go back into St Augustine. We will be back to visit soon. Excellent excellent excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaBrunson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.9 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,371 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,113 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western St. Augustine Beach Inn
Best Western St. Augustine Beach...
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
786 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Beach Inn

Address: 3465 Coastal Hwy, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Sands Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Sands Beach Inn is the only ocean front hotel in St Augustine with a private beach and unobstructed views of both the sunrise over the Atlantic and sunset views over the scenic wetlands and inter-coastal waterway to the west. Our upscale, boutique style hotel has been recently renovated with new granite bathroom, carpeting, bedding, flat-screen TV's, K-Cup coffee makers, and much more. The upscale facilities and amenities combined with a perfect beach location and outstanding service all ensure you will have a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation when visiting the St Augustine and Historic Coast area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sands Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing