We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, non-chain beach-front hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Sands Beach Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a ground floor pool side room and were able to park right next door to our patio. Never parked so close before! Literally two steps off the patio to our car:)It is an older hotel though. It's appeal is the beach not the rooms. But the beach is completely shallow 50 yards out- it was awesome! The beds were nice. Everything was soft, no scratchy towels. Small room, but huge tv that hooked up to our computer right away for our boys to watch movies we brought. Some mildew-ish smell, but to be expected in an older, beach-front hotel. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner. Microwave and fridge were in good condition. You do have to cross a two lane street to get to the beach, but it was no problem. There's a cool little bridge to walk over the dunes to get to the beach. Breakfast was not great but ok- dining room is itty bitty and full sun with no curtain. Old waffle maker, powdered eggs, sausage, potatoes, cereal, donuts and bagels. Can't forget to mention that there's a keurig in the room!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed three nights and had a great time! Great views, right across from the beach! The rooms were quaint with a decent size refrigerator for snacks! The staff were all nice! Overall, a great value! We will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sydney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Based in large part on TripAdvisor ratings we booked 3 nights at Ocean Sands Beach Resort. We liked the idea of a smaller (not chain) resort for vacation. The staff at the desk were great! The room was disappointing! The furniture was quite worn, there was some mildew in the tub, cigarette butts on top of the "thatch" roof below our balcony, and dried liquid on the wall by the wastebasket. We were not to be deterred! It was vacation and we were willing to overlook these issues because of the view and the staff. The highway noise couldn't even stop us! But when I took a shower and had 3 inches of water standing in the tub 2 hours later it was time to do something. The girl working the desk was pleasant and polite (obviously new) and attempted to help. Maintenance would not be in until the next morning so she called the manager who offered no solution, and finally stopped taking her calls. Without another place to stay we had had enough at this point and cancelled our room. The clerk was very understanding and explained this had been an issue with other rooms lately. Fortunately (at 10:00 pm) we located a wonderful room at a hotel a short distance away and salvaged our vacation. Due to the staff and the view we might try Ocean Sands again in the future but will only book one night to see if there have been improvements.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else! If you do stay here DO NOT get first floor as you will have no ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

It looked nothing like the pictures. The pictures are the same as the hotel however in the pictures the place looks clean. Once we walked in the room you had the stuffy, stinky hotel smell, and you can FEEL the bacteria in the air.

They promoted how beautiful the Jacuzzi suite is! OMFG the tub was gross, the toilet was gross, the stink had hair in it, the balcony had dead bugs stuck in cobb webs, The curtains had a bag with liquid it attached to it, and the bed..the bed looked as if I was sharing it from the pervious guest. sheets had brown stains on them, and the towels had yellow stain on them. Thank god I travel with my own towels and blankets.

Those reviews are not real!

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank justa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msample, General Manager at Ocean Sands Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

I am very sorry that you had such a poor experience at our hotel. I wish you had said something while you were here, but I cannot find any mention of a reported incident like you are describing in our log book. All of us work very hard to give each guest a great stay and we really want to represent our hotel accurately. These types of incidents and comments are actually very rare and most guests do find our hotel very clean, comfortable, and friendly.

We take our cleanliness very seriously and incidents such as what you have described are simply not permitted. The humidity in the air here at the beach in Florida, in the month of July especially, sometimes can be a problem. The bag of liquid you described was a 'Damp Rid" bag that collects humidity from the air and deposits the liquid in a bag and is placed on the curtain rod in an out of the way place. Our beds are changed between each guest with a completely fresh set and we do not use bedspreads or duvets because we want each guest to have a completely new bed with each stay. I also apologize for any stained linen and that should not have happened. There are procedures and checks in place to ensure this does not happen, but in your case it appears we failed.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We had a great visit at Ocean Sands!! The team who welcomed us, Lisa, Vanessa, Hardy, and all of the cleaning crew could not have been nicer! All of the reccomendations for restaurants in the local area were awesome- we love to eat!!! The beach was quiet and soothing- perfect for a vacation. The best part was the fact that our room was so clean- I'm very picky about that, and could find no fault with the cleanliness!!! Beds were very comfortable, too. All in all a good trip- we hope the Oreo ice cream bars were enjoyed by all!!

Room Tip: second floor is ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneSt415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our stay was pleasant and restful. The staff (Lisa, Vanessa and Hardy) were all accommodating and kind. The breakfast was plentiful but a little crowded. We just went back to our room...no big deal. The place has a perfect location for sun and beach fun. The pool met our needs and the sunset was beautiful from that area. I would love to see renovations to the place...it could be 5 star.

Room Tip: Fantastic location...right across the street...an easy walk. The view from our hotel room was very n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. Hardee, the desk clerk was very helpful, he met the on line price that was on Trip Advisor and made sure we had a view in The Atlantic Ocean. Breakfast was good and well stocked. The only problem was the traffic on the HWY was moving faster than the 40mph posted.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.9 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,445 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
Holiday Isle Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
1,130 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
The Ponce St. Augustine Hotel
#59 of 78 in St. Augustine
41 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sands Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Beach Inn

Address: 3465 Coastal Hwy, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-1723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: £65 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Sands Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Sands Beach Inn is the only ocean front hotel in St Augustine with a private beach and unobstructed views of both the sunrise over the Atlantic and sunset views over the scenic wetlands and inter-coastal waterway to the west. Our upscale, boutique style hotel has been recently renovated with new granite bathroom, carpeting, bedding, flat-screen TV's, K-Cup coffee makers, and much more. The upscale facilities and amenities combined with a perfect beach location and outstanding service all ensure you will have a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation when visiting the St Augustine and Historic Coast area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Sands Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sands Beach Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Sands Hotel
Ocean Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing