We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Dog People”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vilano Beach Garden Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I loved our stay here -- not luxury accommodations but very comfortable. A great place to stay with your dog(s). Our girls loved it here. The Manager even brought them their own box of dog biscuits. Very nice fenced dog yard. You are 2 blocks from the marina and 2 blocks from the ocean, Publix almost across the street, walking distance to several restaurants. Lots of dog people here. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room #7 as it was separate from the others -- ultimate quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrissypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We do welcome pets at The Garden Inn and give them plenty of space to roam on the grounds. We agree - the location is great just blocks from the beach and from the fishing pier - and an easy walk to the supermarket and restaurants!! Please do plan to return soon - we'll look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

The inn is an older strip motel. They seem to be working to upgrade it. The floors are all terazzo, no rugs. The bathroom is painfully small with no fan. It is a very short walk to the pet friendly beach, exactly 3 restaurants and a Chinese take-out, a Publix, and just a few miles ride to old St. Augustine. Some people may like this, I didnt: there is almost never anyone there. Literally no staff. The desk is manned by a very nice lady as long as there is an online reserved guest arriving, or a specific reason for her to be there. Otherwise the office is closed. She comes back at 8ish, but better grab her quick. No ice machine, no last minute towels, extra coffee or anything after she leaves. Breakfast is yogurt, pre-packaged sweet rolls, hard refrigerated bagels, oj in a carton. On the weekend rooms were pretty full. On the week night I wasn't sure if I was at the Bates Motel, or the Hotel California. Our car was the only one in the lot, and the front office was locked up tight with no one in sight. The building next door is abandoned. Kind of creepy. If I were not with my husband and dog, I would have packed up the car and left. We were ready to check out by 10:30 am, but never saw a soul. Office was still locked up from the night before. No breakfast (no real loss there). The draw was that our dog was welcome with open arms for a very reasonable $15 one-time fee. Were it not for that.... We would not have stayed there.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VPBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. The Garden Inn is definitely retro-Florida motor court style in a quiet beach community, which as you say, does not appeal to all tastes. A full renovation of the Inn and the furnishings is complete and the terrazzo floors are refinished original. We are trying to hold rates down, so staffing the 7-room Inn full time is difficult. However, we do have a sister hotel just 2 blocks away with staff who can quickly respond to requests and needs at the Inn. We are very sorry we did not adequately convey this information to you, as we would have happily delivered any needed items. Your comments will definitely help us as we work to continue to improve and we appreciate your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were looking for a great place for a weekend away with our 2 dogs. Having grown up on the gulf coast, we were happy to find an old style beach cottage inn. Our room was well appointed with a great king size bed, huge tv, and small appliances. It felt very much like a family home. Just a few blocks walk to the beach, grocery, dining and entertainment meant we never had to use the truck. They have a fenced area of nice grass for the dogs to play and relieve themselves off leash.

The staff is very nice and dog friendly.

Room Tip: The king suite is a separate cabin from the main building - extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thanks so much for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay - with your best friends! We try our best to make our guests... and their pets... feel welcome and at home, so we very much appreciate your comments. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had stayed at the vilano beach house and we had such an amazing experience that this newest addition by the same owners was worth a try. What a wonderful experience! Tucked just a block from the beach house is a beautifully renovated motor lodge. I think my wife and I were the only people staying there and I must say it was awesome! It is the same staff from the Vilano beach house and they always make you feel right at home. I would recommend either of the hotels to anyone looking to stay at the most peaceful place in Florida!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with friends, they have rooms sharing a small entryway. Otherwise, I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to the Garden Inn! It is a quaint, cozy little sample of the vintage Florida motor courts - and it is in a quiet area of this Vilano beachside neighborhood. We'll look forward to welcoming you back for more visits - to either of our hotels - and hope it won't be long until we see you again. Many thanks for your very kind recommendation - we truly appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Since finding the garden inn I have been back twice. The staff was extremely courteous and even took my dog out so I could go play golf. In walking distance to the beach, the pier and bars so driving is not an issue. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: For couples you can't go wrong with the king suites #7 is my favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We welcome pets - and we are happy to hosted many guests who bring their dogs (and cats and birds!) along for the vacation! Vilano Beach - and St. Augustine - are great places to enjoy with your pet. Thanks so much for your kind words and we hope we will be seeing you again very soon. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here because we travel with our 2 dogs and needed a dog friendly place to stay. This place exceeded all of our expectations in cleanliness, spaciousness, and value. We were greeted by Pamela upon check- in and met Jane the following morning. Both ladies were truly delightful and seemed to want to do whatever they could to accommodate us and make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Pamela invited us down to The Beach House, their sister property, and showed us a couple of the rooms at this location. All of the rooms are more like a suite and each room has a balcony overlooking the ocean. Great location for both properties and within walking distance to some good restaurants. I would definitely recommend staying at The Garden Inn or The Beach House. Pet fee is a very, very reasonable fee of $15. I am definitely going back!

Room Tip: My favorite room at The Garden Inn is #2. It is a king suite. Excellent rating on everything, howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseSwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

It's so great to hear you plan to return - and we're ready to welcome you to The Garden Inn or The Beach House. Both properties are pet friendly! Thanks for your kind comments and from all of us - best wishes and hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Love the hominess and the retro-feel!
Staff was VERY accomodating, friendly and attentive to every need. Sparkling clean.
Fair pricing! :)
The friendliness is genuine in this micro-village that is Vilano Beach!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
Thank JustME32084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at Vilano Beach Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2013

We're glad you enjoyed the 'retro' feel of the Garden Inn! The renovations were completed with a goal of keeping the vintage Florida 'motor court' feel but updating the furnishings and finishes. We hope you'll be back - thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
1.7 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,488 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
6.9 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#22 of 79 in St. Augustine
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vilano Beach Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilano Beach Garden Inn

Address: 155 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2979
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Price Range: £85 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vilano Beach Garden Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in vintage Florida style in our cozy, pet-friendly Inn. Rooms offer comfortable, brand new king or queen beds, a mini-fridge and microwave. Our landscaped gardens feature native Florida plants and plenty of space to enjoy the sunshine. Walk to Vilano Beach, the floating dock and fishing pier, supermarket and restaurants. You are just a five minute drive from all the sites and attractions of historic Saint Augustine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Vilano Beach Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing