We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sleep with roaches stay here...”
Review of Magic Beach Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magic Beach Motel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Lakeland, Florida
17
Reviewed 31 May 2006

I agree with one of the other trip advisors. This is a halfway house for some. We had roaches in our room that was 3 inches long. The refrigerator was full of mold and the air conditioner that was almost falling out of the wall did not work.

I leaned on the sink in the bathroom and it almost fell over. The window in the bathroom would not close and was half way out of the wall. I guess that is were the roaches were coming in at, as the grass behind the room was almost reaching the window seal.

The individuals that ran the place were very nice, but the hotel needs to be demolished or condemned. Also, it is called a resort now, not motel anymore.

Don't stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Vilano Beach Motel (or "Magic Beach Motel") for one night last spring. I feel their website and brochures are a little misleading. The motel is more of a residential property—a last resort for people who are down on their luck. It was grim and kind of sleazy. During our stay, we made eye contact with several people and smiled to be polite, but they scowled and looked away. Specific complaints about the motel include:

* Two large dead cockroaches were lying on the floor when we entered the room. The carpet was filthy and matted.
* There was such a strong floral/disinfectant smell, it was hard to breath. It stayed on our clothes and hair.
* The bed didn't have a headboard. Instead, it was pushed against an open closet where part of the door was off its hinges. The bed was there to hold it up.
* The bathroom was very, very dirty, with toothpaste smeared on the shower curtain liner (no curtain) and hair in the tub. There was an overall grime in low-traffic areas like under the wall-mounted sink and around the base of the toilet. Also, there was no electrical outlet.

I know there are some positive reviews here, too, but I feel like the motel must have changed since then. Maybe it was a simple beach motel in the past. Now it's rundown and shabby.

Please know that the Vilano Beach Motel is not a place for tourists. It's a halfway house for suspect people and poor families, which is unfortunate. Be wary.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank rathergreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
11
Reviewed 22 August 2005

Our stay at the Vilano Beach Motel was wonderful. This little place has so much history and character. Each room has a unique mural which I found to be very charming. While other hotels in Vilano Beach charge 120.00+ a night, their rates were much more affordable. The staff was very friendly and caring to the guests. We will stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Tifton, Georgia
13
Reviewed 11 July 2005

I have stayed at this motel last month as well as last summer. The motel was very clean and the staff were very friendly to me and my dog. Anything you needed they would provide. I plan to visit again next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2005

Don't let the web site fool you. This could be a good little family type motel, but it is not. Although clean, it doesn't have enough upkeep. It advertises kitchenettes, but there is no equipment in them. No brooms, mops, etc. were provided so that cleaning could be done and there is no daily or weekly maid service. Air conditioning is poor and after several complaints a new unit was installed.

14  Thank hack552312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mieszkaliśmy w części parterowej motelu i było OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paweł G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remy J, Guest Relations Manager at Magic Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelers1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#9 of 78 in St. Augustine
1,405 reviews
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#3 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
864 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine Beach
Hilton Garden Inn St. Augustine ...
#5 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
831 reviews
7.1 mi away
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
Smart Stay Inn of St. Augustine
#38 of 78 in St. Augustine
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Beach Motel

Address: 50 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: £68 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magic Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a retro experience like no other, with all the modern conveniences.Each cozy room has been completely renovated and updated. Here in beautiful Vilano Beach, we think EVERY DAY should feel like a Vacation. Just a few short steps from the Atlantic Ocean, there is plenty to do, or nothing to do. Located just five minutes from St Augustine historic downtown, Vilano Beach is known for beautiful family friendly beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Magic Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilano Beach Hotel Saint Augustine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing