We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. It has a very charming appeal to it. Although our room was on the first floor we still had a nice view of the ocean. The lady who makes breakfast every morning always had something delicous to eat. If you don't like dogs I would not recommend staying here since they are allowed. However we are animal lovers so I don't feel it was an issue for us. Short walk to beach. This was a great stay!

Room Tip: I think any room is good since they all face ocean. First floor obviously not as expansive of a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay - and we thank you for taking time to share your comments about The Beach House. We keep adding recipes to our homemade breakfast menu - and we think breakfast is always better when enjoyed right on the beach!! Thank you again and we will look forward to seeing you again very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised! We are from Jacksonville and needed a pet friendly hotel close by and to find one oceanfront was perfect! It is an older hotel, but it is small, which means greater customer service and more of a beach feel. The rooms were like suites. Sink, good sized refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, etc. If you need plates, utensils, etc. you can get them through the front desk. They were spotlessly clean. Even the sheets smelled fresh and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. A hot breakfast is included. The made to order waffles were delicious. 2nd floor room had a great ocean view. I can't think of anywhere else I would rather give my business to in the Vilano/St. Augustine area. Price was a little high, but you are going to find that at any oceanfront establishment in Florida during the summer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

It's the absolute best news we can hear - that you plan to be back to stay with us again! Thank you for your very kind comments which we will pass along to our housekeeping staff who work very hard to keep our rooms clean, fresh and welcoming. We will be looking forward to your return and again - from all of us, many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I recently had the occasion to stay at The Saint Augustine Beach House and my o my what a delight. We have stayed in numerous condos and private homes along the beach but this hotel is jewel on the beach.

We were met by the innkeeper who took us directly to our room and what a surprise as we walked into an immaculate beachfront room. A crispy white King Sized bed was the first thing that you were drawn to which was located next to the door which opened onto a private balcony. It was as though you could reach out and touch the ocean.

The room contained a mini kitchen, pull out sleeper sofa and full bath. It was wonderful. Each morning a full breakfast was served from 7-10:30, oceanfront in
the dining area. The staff treats everyone as though they are part of the family and work hard to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.

I highly recommend The Saint Augustine Beach House to anyone looking for a great place to stay without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on each floor are breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shookup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

It made our day to hear you found The Beach House a 'jewel on the beach'! What a wonderful comment - we do try to make our guests all feel like family and VIP visitors every time they stay with us. We will look forward to welcoming you back and thank you so much for your very sweet testimonial!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We just finished our 3 day stay and it was great! We were on the 3rd floor and our view of the beach and ocean was terrific! Only minutes away from the sights in St. Augustine and one of the days we were there the shuttle for the trolley came and picked us up and dropped us back off right at the hotel. No worries about parking, directions etc. It is a pet friendly hotel but we never had a problem with noise. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast area has the usual assortment of breads, cereal etc. They also had scrambled eggs and sausage but in addition to that one day we had homemade breakfast burritos (very tasty) and another day fresh muffins from the oven (yummo). My husbands personal favorite was the biscuits,sausage and gravy. It is also within walking distance to a grocery store and a few restaurants. Great stay! Great location! Great choice!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank travelgirlie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We must agree the location is ideal - the beach at your doorstep and the historic district just a few minutes drive. We're also happy that you enjoyed the breakfast - Janie's homemade muffins are always a hit and we're creating new recipes every day. Please hurry back - we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This lovely hotel is, as the name suggests, based right on the beach at St Augustine. It has a great rustic charm and the staff were both friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and welcoming, with a spotless white bed cover and spectacular views over the ocean. A partial kitchen is also provided, which was a bonus, although crockery and cutlery had to be requested, which was a bit of a pain. We had great breakfasts, with freshly made quiche on our first day, with beautiful muffins, and a special chili flan on the second day, with special Fathers Day muffins!
We were a little concerned about the hotel being pet friendly, but, apart from being woken at 7:00 by a dog barking on the first day, it was no problem. The birds by the reception provided some good amusement.

Room Tip: All rooms have a beach view. The higher you go the better the view. Our room was 201 which was along...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thanks so much for your very kind review. We appreciate your comments and will continue to do our best to make sure you always feel welcome here at The Beach House. Next time you visit, let us know when you make your reservation that you would like the kitchenette stocked, and we will have everything ready on arrival. We just want to be sure all kitchen dishes and silverware are absolutely clean and sanitized for our guests' use! We'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is place was great. Very comfortable and a reasonable value for the rate. Just be aware that you can drive on a small part of the beach right there, so you might have to walk a while if you don't want the eyesore of cars parked in the sand. Everything was in great condition except the fold out sofa-bed. My kids were uncomfortable, so if you have 4 people, be sure to get 2 double beds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GtarGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review - we appreciate your comments and are also happy you found us! We are glad you enjoyed your visit, but were sorry to learn there were concerns with the comfort of the sofa-bed - we'll look at ways to make some improvement there and will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel was the best part of the whole visit. I wish I had never left the room to visit St; Augustine.
There are a couple of great restaurants, a Publix across the street and the Bar & Restaurant at the marina overlooking the Intracoastal Waterway was, Peaches, was the best view in the area for watching sunsets. I can't rate the pool because I didn't go in it ... but it was beautiful.
Dr. Seltzer

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
898 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: £153 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing