We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great pet friendly getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Saint Augustine Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great pet friendly getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The cleanest sweetest little gem on the beach. If you want to bring your four legged beings, they are very accommodating and offer very fair rate for bringing your best friends of various natures. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, the waffles are a great choice! The rooms are spacious, and have kitchenettes. We have stayed here a couple of times, and both times the rooms were perfect and better than expected. And, as far as i know, each room has a beach view… which i LOVE. The prices are very fair for the size room, cleanliness and service you receive. Definitely make this your choice destination. Vilano beach is totally adorable and super clean.

Room Tip: If you plan on cooking for yourself, make sure to ask for a hot plate before you arrive. They do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
It was so great to welcome you back to The Beach House! All rooms do have a beach view - the best in Vilano!! Pets are always welcome too - and as you know, Vilano is a pet-friendly beach. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for being such a very special part of our Beach House extended family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    81
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
136
232
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very pleasant overnight stay for family of four. Enjoyed the super comfy king size bed and excellent hot breakfast the next morning. Being right on the beach and right next to a beach ingress, we walked a shell strewn beach and played in the waves before checking out. My husband and I thought it a very romantic locale, and plan to take a trip just by ourselves next time. Thanks for making this an excellent start to our vacation week on Florida!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhenry557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
We're so glad you chose to start your Florida vacation with us here at The Beach House! We thank you for your very kind review - and it's great to hear you enjoyed the visit. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back - maybe for that romantic beachside getaway?? Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson, Tennessee
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The difference between this and other accomodations - simply put, the people. The staff takes great pride in their beach house and don't just go through the motions of customer service, but rather live it. Upon check in, we were personally walked to our room, shown how to operate the remote control (cable, not satellite thank goodness), offered dishes, silverware, etc and were made to feel that anything we needed would be provided. It's an older small motel that has been renovated and is in better condition than most newly opened motels. Only 3 stories (warning - no elevator). First floor beach view is hindered by the dunes, but you can see the ocean. It's close enough to hear the surf so turn off the air, use the screen door and enjoy the ceiling fan and cross breeze. It's located on Vilano beach (not Saint Augustine), but seemed closer to historical Saint Augustine. Awesome location. Just across the bridge from historical Saint Augustine, walking distance to marina, Publix and restaurants. Tile and laminate floors are very pet and sand friendly. I agree with other reviews about the cars on the beach being a distraction, but just a couple of hundred feet to the north, vehicles are not allowed on the beach. Of course for some, being able to take all their gear to the beach in a vehicle might be a big plus. Breakfast was far superior to what you get at a chain motel. Quiche (believe it or not) choices changed daily and no waffle iron to make your own as the staff made them fresh for you. Real scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns. danish and more are offered as well. Only stayed a couple of nights and would have stayed longer if the room had been available. Checking out, Paul who was also taking care of breakfast duties, dashed up the stairs to assist my wife and I in taking luggage down. Even the other guests were friendly. I guess the attitude bleeds over. No substandard rooms if you have pets. This is truly pet friendly. Oh yeah, the other best place to stay - Southern Oaks Inn (found out after checking in, it's the same family).

Room Tip: No elevator, but second or third floor necessary to see the sand of the beach due to dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Many thanks for your wonderful comments! It is truly important to all of our staff to do everything possible to extend VIP service to our guests. We want you to always feel welcome, comfortable, and at home with us here at The Beach House. We agree that the location is convenient, the views are amazing - and we want your experience to be the very best possible. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on June 30, 2014...wow! We should have booked a night or two longer, and plan on returning for a longer stay. We were on the 3rd floor, room 303, which was excellent! The view was incredible, and the room was spotless and comfortable. The only minus to this gem is the fact St. John's County allows cars on most beaches, including Vilano. But I won't take away from the hotel rating since this is not their fault. And if you are up early, or turn in late, you can still have beautiful views sans cars during those times. While we no longer have our angel pup with us, we do appreciate locations that are pet-friendly, which SABH is. Oh, and the staff is wonderful! Everyone is so friendly, and when we arrived we were walked up to our room...what a nice touch! Breakfast in the morning is a plus (although maybe a better presentation), and the waffles were excellent...be sure to ask for one! We will be back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Please do plan to return soon for a longer stay! We'll have the fresh waffles waiting for you - and maybe next time you will be able to try our new quiche or fresh baked muffins?! We're happy you found us - and we thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. We'll be looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAX FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent our honeymoon here and annually our anniversaries.
The upgrades to the rooms are excellent.
Very convenient to restaurants, shops, stores.
The staff is very accommodating and friendly!
Pet friendly is a plus .

Room Tip: the higher the floor (there are 3) the better the views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We thank you for choosing to make The Beach House your place for beach getaways and for celebrating such very special events. We will to our best not to ever let you down and to continue to improve so that you will always feel welcome and at home during your visits with us. Don't wait too long until your 4th stay... we'll be looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks so much for your wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conway, Arkansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights around the first of July and I can't say enough good things about this motel and its super friendly staff. The place is very clean and the breakfast has the homemade touch that you'll love. The only drawback was the beach that is covered with little crushed shells. We like the sand a lot better. 5 stars all around for this cool motel!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We certainly can't ask for more than 5 stars!! And we thank you so much for your comments and your recommendation. It's good to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Finally, a pet-friendly hotel that is exceptionally clean and comfortable!!! Breakfast was special every morning with a "homemade" touch. The walk to Publix as well as several dog-friendly restaurants made for a very convenient stay. The ocean view from our private balcony sealed the deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susann and Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
'Clean and comfortable' are words we love to hear! We appreciate your comments and will certainly share them with the staff. Vilano Beach is a quaint and quiet little spot and we hope that whenever you return to spend time here, you will be staying with us. Thank you and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
5.5 mi away
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
La Fiesta Ocean Inn & Suites
#1 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
1.9 mi away
St. George Inn
St. George Inn
#4 of 79 in St. Augustine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
Ascend Collection Castillo Real
#2 of 10 in Saint Augustine Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Property: The Saint Augustine Beach House
Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing