We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Saint Augustine Beach House
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vilano Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Saw the reviews on Tripadvisor, chose this motel and was glad I did. It boasts an excellent view of the water, access to the beach, close proximity to some restaurants and bars, while remaining relatively quiet and peaceful. The staff was very friendly and the facilities clean. My wife and I enjoyed sitting out on our balcony and listening to the waves. If you're visiting St. Augustine, I recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Get one on the second floor and enjoy the beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your very kind comments - and for your recommendation! We also are very glad you chose to stay with us and we hope you will be coming back to see us again soon. Regards from all of us at The Beach House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Best views as all rooms are on and face the beach. Pet friendly was a plus!

For the price I expected regular daily service for towels, toilet paper etc. We had to ask for towel change out and tp. Had to ask for daily vacuuming (We got sandy)

Pillows were the grade of a 1 star hotel as were the thin towels.

The kitchenette was updated & very useful but bring your own plates, cutlery, paper towels, cups etc. Nothing is in the cupboards. It's got a nice little fridge, coffee maker, microwave.

The bathroom was small, very outdated, low water pressure and not well ventilated. Again like a 1 or 2 star motel.

Breakfast always included a homemade main dish-delicious!

There is no elevator so you must schlep up one or 2 flights to get the best rooms with full unobstructed ocean views.

A couple of cockatiels are tuneful greeters : )
Friendly staff.

We were 3 adults and one dog. It was a little tight.

Remember to close the shades at night. It was turtle hatching season and unfortunately the little hatchlings went towards the dunes and lights instead of out to sea.

***My cousin lives in town and reported there was a big spread in the local Newspaper. (Not that we tourists would know!) Use the boardwalks! The protected dunes also house ...
Diamond back rattlers!
They occupy dens with turtles and keep the rodent population down.

Don't let your dogs off leash or go into the protected dunes. (dogs have perished of rattlesnake bites)

ON this beach where you can also drive your car, it's a lovely, safe and scenic!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have more water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank violin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Thank you for your comments - we appreciate your input. We are sorry that you found housekeeping service not up to our usual standard. We will work harder to check more carefully that every guest room has received requested service. Please do let us know next time if your pillows or linens are not acceptable as we would certainly be anxious to get you a fresh set. On our welcome letter, we do explain that we don't keep the kitchenette stocked with dishes because we want to be sure our guests receive clean, sanitized sets. We are happy to deliver and stock the kitchen as needed. We'll hope to have you return for another visit and again, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It would be very easy to just say, "DITTO". I was pleasantly surprised to find that previous reviews were spot on. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and so convenient. Perfect for the beach as it is right next to the public access. We were concerned that the drive on traffic on the beach might cause a problem but it was blocked off immediately to the north. So if you want to be where the action is it is directly to the south. If you want a more quiet time on the beach it is directly to the north.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

We're proud to be able to consider you an 'admirer' and will do our best to make sure to never let you down! Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and please plan to return for another stay very soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The cleanest sweetest little gem on the beach. If you want to bring your four legged beings, they are very accommodating and offer very fair rate for bringing your best friends of various natures. The breakfast was absolutely delicious, the waffles are a great choice! The rooms are spacious, and have kitchenettes. We have stayed here a couple of times, and both times the rooms were perfect and better than expected. And, as far as i know, each room has a beach view… which i LOVE. The prices are very fair for the size room, cleanliness and service you receive. Definitely make this your choice destination. Vilano beach is totally adorable and super clean.

Room Tip: If you plan on cooking for yourself, make sure to ask for a hot plate before you arrive. They do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank obey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

It was so great to welcome you back to The Beach House! All rooms do have a beach view - the best in Vilano!! Pets are always welcome too - and as you know, Vilano is a pet-friendly beach. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for being such a very special part of our Beach House extended family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very pleasant overnight stay for family of four. Enjoyed the super comfy king size bed and excellent hot breakfast the next morning. Being right on the beach and right next to a beach ingress, we walked a shell strewn beach and played in the waves before checking out. My husband and I thought it a very romantic locale, and plan to take a trip just by ourselves next time. Thanks for making this an excellent start to our vacation week on Florida!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mhenry557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We're so glad you chose to start your Florida vacation with us here at The Beach House! We thank you for your very kind review - and it's great to hear you enjoyed the visit. We'll be looking forward to welcoming you back - maybe for that romantic beachside getaway?? Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The difference between this and other accomodations - simply put, the people. The staff takes great pride in their beach house and don't just go through the motions of customer service, but rather live it. Upon check in, we were personally walked to our room, shown how to operate the remote control (cable, not satellite thank goodness), offered dishes, silverware, etc and were made to feel that anything we needed would be provided. It's an older small motel that has been renovated and is in better condition than most newly opened motels. Only 3 stories (warning - no elevator). First floor beach view is hindered by the dunes, but you can see the ocean. It's close enough to hear the surf so turn off the air, use the screen door and enjoy the ceiling fan and cross breeze. It's located on Vilano beach (not Saint Augustine), but seemed closer to historical Saint Augustine. Awesome location. Just across the bridge from historical Saint Augustine, walking distance to marina, Publix and restaurants. Tile and laminate floors are very pet and sand friendly. I agree with other reviews about the cars on the beach being a distraction, but just a couple of hundred feet to the north, vehicles are not allowed on the beach. Of course for some, being able to take all their gear to the beach in a vehicle might be a big plus. Breakfast was far superior to what you get at a chain motel. Quiche (believe it or not) choices changed daily and no waffle iron to make your own as the staff made them fresh for you. Real scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, hashbrowns. danish and more are offered as well. Only stayed a couple of nights and would have stayed longer if the room had been available. Checking out, Paul who was also taking care of breakfast duties, dashed up the stairs to assist my wife and I in taking luggage down. Even the other guests were friendly. I guess the attitude bleeds over. No substandard rooms if you have pets. This is truly pet friendly. Oh yeah, the other best place to stay - Southern Oaks Inn (found out after checking in, it's the same family).

Room Tip: No elevator, but second or third floor necessary to see the sand of the beach due to dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Randy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Many thanks for your wonderful comments! It is truly important to all of our staff to do everything possible to extend VIP service to our guests. We want you to always feel welcome, comfortable, and at home with us here at The Beach House. We agree that the location is convenient, the views are amazing - and we want your experience to be the very best possible. We'll look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for one night on June 30, 2014...wow! We should have booked a night or two longer, and plan on returning for a longer stay. We were on the 3rd floor, room 303, which was excellent! The view was incredible, and the room was spotless and comfortable. The only minus to this gem is the fact St. John's County allows cars on most beaches, including Vilano. But I won't take away from the hotel rating since this is not their fault. And if you are up early, or turn in late, you can still have beautiful views sans cars during those times. While we no longer have our angel pup with us, we do appreciate locations that are pet-friendly, which SABH is. Oh, and the staff is wonderful! Everyone is so friendly, and when we arrived we were walked up to our room...what a nice touch! Breakfast in the morning is a plus (although maybe a better presentation), and the waffles were excellent...be sure to ask for one! We will be back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor room for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JaxGirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sabhadmin, Front Office Manager at The Saint Augustine Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Please do plan to return soon for a longer stay! We'll have the fresh waffles waiting for you - and maybe next time you will be able to try our new quiche or fresh baked muffins?! We're happy you found us - and we thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. We'll be looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Bayfront Marin House Historic Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Augustine - Vilano Beach
2.2 mi away
Casa Monica Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hilton St. Augustine Historic Bayfront
1.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St. Augustine Historic District
2 mi away
Southern Oaks Inn
Southern Oaks Inn
#10 of 79 in St. Augustine
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saint Augustine Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saint Augustine Beach House

Address: 10 Vilano Rd, Vilano Beach, St. Augustine, FL 32084-2964
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > St. Augustine > Vilano Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vilano Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Vilano Beach
Price Range: £154 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Saint Augustine Beach House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy incredible views of the Atlantic from your private oceanfront balcony. Spacious rooms offer king beds, kitchenettes, and complimentary Wi-Fi access. A full, hot breakfast is included with your stay. We are just 5 minutes from historic downtown Saint Augustine and within walking distance to several restaurants and shopping. Pets are welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Saint Augustine Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Saint Augustine Beach House Hotel Saint Augustine
Ocean Blue Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing