We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of North Fork Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shawnee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Fork Ranch
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
New York City
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect family vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our family of four (including a 10 year old and 7 year old) booked a relatively last minute vacation at the ranch for the five days that were available. It was perfect. Lodging (in Stonehenge), every meal and the wonderful staff who cooked, served and joined us (one better than the next, and I wish I had bought the cookbook while there), horseback riding and wonderful wranglers, fishing, white water rafting, the pool, my massage and the perfect weather which included rain and sun and warm days and cool nights...the whole thing went beyond our expectations. And everyone (other guests) we met there was also a pleasure to be around. The ride to brunch with a softball game high upon a mountain was certainly a highlite. It became abundantly clear why families return year after year; Karen and Dean are real gems!

Room Tip: I heard that they are all good! Karen really helped us to understand our family and suggested the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losvegas14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
16
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just coming back from an amazing week at North Fork with my husband and three kids (twins 8 and oldest 11). I had done extensive research online (Top 50 luxury dude ranches and tripadvisor) but honestly wasn't exactly sure what to expect. While we were only there for a week, I feel like I have been away for a month and my kids already want to rebook next year. Karen and Dean and all the amazing young staff members they hire made this a truly memorable and special week. The Ranch is the perfect size - not too big and not too small and the Mays have perfected the experience. The attention to detail is amazing and we had a week full of horseback riding, ziplining, whitewater rafting, skeet shooting, 22 shooting, dancing and eating truly unbelievable food. It will be tough going back to reality next week!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Four generations of our family (ages 3 to 87) gathered at North Fork Ranch for a week in July, 2013. We flew in from all parts of the country/world to share the experience and be together. The Ranch, the accommodations, the food (and the family style dining), the staff, the owners, the activities (rafting the Arkansas River, riding horses every day to beautiful mountain locations, fly fishing the Platte River in front of the lodge, fishing the pond, skeet shooting, line dancing, above the tree-line hikes, fireside songs and stories, sitting in a rocking chair on the porch reading a good book and listening to the roar of the river, etc. far exceeded our expectations. My two grandchildren fell in love with Tallis, the young woman who was charged with watching the little ones....she made sure that they enjoyed daily pony rides on Cinnamon, fed the goats, chickens, and rabbits, played games and enjoyed other activities, so the parents and other adults could take advantage of all that the ranch offered. The owners, Karen and Dean, all of the young wranglers, the kitchen staff, the guest services staff, and the housekeeping staff all contributed to making this a fabulous family experience.....we made memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: Older family members might like to stay in one of the rooms in the lodge - closer to dining and gath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My daughter and I stayed at North Fork Ranch last week and had an exceptional experience. The ranch is beautiful- set in a valley with a river running through the property. The food was fantastic and the staff could not have been more kind and attentive. We rode horses, shot skeet, and fished. I recommend this ranch highly for anyone interested in an authentic dude ranch experience with all the comforts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Dude ranch great for families of all ages. The owners and staff really help customize your vacation experience to your riding level, interests, and food preferences/needs. I felt very safe with children (ours age 9 & 12) and our limited riding experience. Best service and food I have ever had at an all inclusive resort, the whole experience was amazing and all the extras they arrange (rafting, trap shooting, fly fishing, dance, etc) lived up to the very high service standards they set. Our whole vacation was magical: Best Family Vacation Ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgbublitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

To say that this incredibly special property in one of the most gorgeous settings ever imagined is IMMACULATE is an understatement. From the guest buildings to the horse corrals to the benches thoughtfully dotted along the carefully trimmed creekside banks of a screamingly fishy section of the north fork of the south Platte river, North Fork Ranch is Pristine. The attention to detail everywhere is evidence of the overwhelming desire of the ever-available owners, Dean and Karen, and all their staff, that their guests have fun and be happy. And this guests visibly do, because all that effort, hospitality, attention to detail and forethought makes for an overwhelmingly comfortable place to relax, wind up in a fun activity or wind down surrounded by the tranquil beauty of nature.

Happy horses make for happy cowboys and cowgirls, so the horses at this dude ranch are content and obviously kindly-well-cared-for. A good variety of quality horses and mules ensures adequate cavvy for whatever skill of rider should want to saddle up. And a variety of loafing paddocks and pastures interspersed among the guest cabins means lots of good fenceline opportunities throughout the day to stroke a muzzle and whisper equine secrets over a handful of sweet green grass.

As the Romans used to say, the army marches on its stomach, and you will be delighted with the food selection, quality and fresh ingredients, mmm-inspiring recipes as well as friendly and attentive service to ensure that you had enough to eat and at least one sweet indulgence afterwards. Plenty of other reviews have had plenty to say about how good the food is here and photos of plates are in the gallery, so suffice to say, the food is still afternoon-nap-inducingly good.

And as for the world class fly fishing at this Orvis-endorsed fishing lodge, please see the recent photos and start strengthening your biceps now in preparation to lift these hefty and healthy beauties. The many efforts of Jeff Poole and the entire property staff to maintain a healthy stream including adequate creekside buffer filtering runoff from the pastures, attention to river water flow and cultivating species diversity all translate to a highly sustainable aquatic environment for bagging multiple wowserly piscine monstrosities. The benches are a good place to rest from the adrenaline rush of landing a fish that’s practically longer than the net. Guides can be arranged through many a fly shop, although we have a triumphant and unapologetic bias towards the humble yet deeply knowledgeable Jay Alipit via Front Range Anglers of Boulder (http://frontrangeanglers.com/book-guided-fly-fishing-trip ). The female angler in our party especially genuinely valued Jay’s collaborative, accessible approach to coaching for a positive and encouraging experience of this artful sport. And of course there’s the confidence that comes from fishing with a godlike figure and captain of numerous national fly fishing championship teams along for the guide. You may want to pack a few cough drops, however, to help recover from screaming with joy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Workafrolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Family week (6 adults) was one of the best vacation weeks I have ever experienced. A wonderderful "special birthday" celebration for me. Low key, but continuosly engaged if desired; active, but plenty of choices for quiet times. Fishing, zip lining, horses, hiking, white water rafting . . .
Food was delicious and always available. Hosts and staff were magnificent.
This was all in the Rocky Mountains which presented beautiful scenery in all directions.

Room Tip: Consult with hosts for varied options depending on number of party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shawnee
25.0 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#5 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Grant Motel
The Grant Motel
#1 of 1 in Grant
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
14.3 mi away
Brook Forest Inn and Spa
Brook Forest Inn and Spa
#8 of 9 in Evergreen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Georgetown Mountain Inn
Georgetown Mountain Inn
#3 of 6 in Georgetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
19.6 mi away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
20.9 mi away
The Cabins at Country Road
The Cabins at Country Road
#2 of 9 in Evergreen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Fork Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Fork Ranch

Property: North Fork Ranch
Address: 55395 Highway 285, P.O. Box B, Shawnee, CO 80475
Region: United States > Colorado > Shawnee
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shawnee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — North Fork Ranch 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to life at North Fork Ranch a premier guest ranch and fishing lodge. Established in 1985, this family oriented ranch rests on a half mile of private river, the North Fork of the South Platte. One hour from Denver, in the majestic Rocky Mountains, you'll find horseback riding, whitewater rafting, world class fly fishing, campfire, intimate accommodations, dining with a gourmet flare and activities for all ages! **Colorado's Newest, Orvis Endorsed Fishing Lodge** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Fork Ranch Colorado/Shawnee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing