We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've stayed in worse places”
Review of 1st Interstate Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1st Interstate Inn
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Silverthorne
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I've stayed in worse places”
Reviewed 5 February 2009

In 2001 I stayed in a motel in Flagstaff that cost $14. This place was better. The hotel reception area (where breakfast - stale bagels and stale English muffins - is served) smelled like cat piss. The room was OK - not really dirty, but old and shabby. The mattress seemed to be new as claimed. Linens were clean. No bad odors in the room. Lots of cable TV channels. No internet. The walls are thin. This would be a good $30 hotel, but the price is more than double that because of its location. As far as I know, only the youth hostel in Breckenridge is a cheaper option in the area.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — old and shabby
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank W0rld_Wander_Lust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    1
    1
    31
See reviews for
9
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durango Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

Stayed here because it was close to the location of my meeting. Made the mistake of taking the room before inspecting it. Big mistake. All the other reviewers only barely suggest the awfulness of this hotel. Stinky, dirty, poorly maintained. Avoid at all cost.

  • Liked — Seeing it in the rearview mirror
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chilkoot_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Silverthorne hotels

Ft. Collins, CO
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels. Even the worst have, until now, been bearable. But the room that I got in Silverthorne, at the 1st Inn (1st Interstate Inn) was the most disgusting inhabitance that I can imagine. Even if I tried to picture a hotel room that was creepier or filthier, I couldn't do it. This room was old and tired. The batteries were missing from the TV remote. The ceiling in the bathroom was caving in, and had been supported by long pieces of wood tacked up against it; this quick fix was not working. I shiver thinking about that room now, a week later. It was dark, moldy, and disgusting. The walls were warped and discolored, the water smelled foul from the tap, and every surface in the room was sticky, stained, and sickly. I left almost immediately, not even bothering to check out or complain. I slept in my car. That should emphasize my disgust with this hovel called The 1st Inn. Don't let the moderately clean office fool you...this place is worse than the most disgusting third world gulag I can conjure in my nightmares. I would jump in front of a bus than step foot in this hotel again. Be warned.

  • Liked — Absolutely nothing about this hotel appealed to me. I wake, screaming, after having nightmares about their room.
  • Disliked — The indescribable, horrific filth.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Edgetheow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2008

My son & I were in colorado to ski over spring break. I saw a review for this hotel which said it was old but clean and neat. Since Iusually stat at budget motels requiring only clean and neat this sounded acceptable. As well I needed two beds and this was the only option for two beds. The room was below horrible. There was old stained walpaper on the walls with some of it torn and a piece had come off of the wall and was folded over on itself. There was a fork stuck in the sink drain. The carpet had burn marks and stains. The room smelled of urine. the pull out couch, our 2nd bed was stained and had a name and a smiley face burned into the arm fabric. this place was a nightmare. When I spoke with the owner about the wallpaper he said he had tried to fix it with super glue ad would use panel adhesive to get it to stay up. He did and it looked ike a 5 year old did it. About the smell, he told me that they allow dogs and maybe he should get the carpets cleaned. I seriously doubt he will do it. We got stuck there for 5 nights as there were no other rooms available in the area. I would never recommend this to anyone.

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ericgreve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silverthorne
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Silverthorne - Summit Co
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Silverthorne
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 13 in Silverthorne
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Ptarmigan Lodge
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Dillon
6.6 mi away
Alpine Slopes Lodge
Alpine Slopes Lodge
#3 of 6 in Keystone
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1st Interstate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1st Interstate Inn

Property: 1st Interstate Inn
Address: 361 Blue River Pkwy., Silverthorne, CO 80498
Region: United States > Colorado > Silverthorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Silverthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — 1st Interstate Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your 1st Interstate Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Inn Silverthorne Hotel Silverthorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing